Advice needed: PSU died and took the 980Ti with it

Mar 31, 2010
73
1
71
#1
Pretty bummed out. My PSU and GPU died on Sunday. Spent forever trying to fix the problem. Tried every troubleshooting guide Google could find. GPU reseating, BIOS options concerning integrated graphics and initial primary display, CMOS resetting, swapping out cords and checking connections etc. Even used a multimeter on the PSU. The card and PSU are just dead.

So I ended up replacing the PSU with a Corsair RM750x from Best Buy. Also installed an old, dusty GTX 560 and the computer is running again. Motherboard appears unscathed.

The EVGA G2 PSU looks like it has a 10 year warranty, so I should be fine there.

But the GPU is the problem. I have no idea what to do. I emailed Gigabyte support to ask if they could repair it. Also figured I'd ask Anandtech for advice. Are there computer stores that can actually repair a fried GPU? Fat chance, right? Should I take the loss and just start looking for a new card? Maybe a 1060/1070 for 1080p gaming. Thanks for any advice.


https://pcpartpicker.com/user/Dreadbelch/saved/
Everything Purchased Nov. 2015:

CPU: i7 6700k @4.2 GHz /w NH-D15 cooler
Mobo: Gigabyte Z170 Gaming 7
GPU: Gigabyte 980Ti Windforce 3x 6GB
Memory: G.Skill Trident Z 16GB DDR4-3000
PSU: EVGA SuperNova G2 750W 80+ Gold
Storage: Samsung 850 Evo 500GB & Muskin Reactor 1TB
Case: Fractal Design R5
Monitors: 2 X Asus VG248QE 1920x1080p 144Hz
 
Last edited:

IntelUser2000

Elite Member
Oct 14, 2003
6,209
324
126
#2
Gigabyte might not repair it for you. Most of the time its better for them to replace it entirely.

If you have a repair shop, I'd take it and see what their quotes are, since a 980 Ti is still quite nice. Quite rare to find such shops though.

What happens when you have the faulty GPU installed and try to start the system?
 
Mar 31, 2010
73
1
71
#3
When I hit the power button on the case, I hear a couple of clicks from the PSU and then silence. Nothing spins up.

To hear those clicks again, I have to turn the PSU switch off and then on again and hit the power button on the case once more.

When I swapped it out for the old 560 card, everything worked immediately.

I must have tried reseating the 980Ti about a dozen times. Because a few months ago, the card needed to be reseated before the computer would boot.
 
Last edited:
Mar 31, 2010
73
1
71
#4
Went ahead and got a Gigabyte 1070 G1 (link) because I have the self control of a child.

I'll see if I can't get the 980 fixed and then set it aside. Maybe give it to someone in the family. It ran so hot and gobbled so many watts that I'm kinda glad to move on from it. Was nice to have during the winter.
 
Last edited:

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
18,000
1,809
136
#5
Went ahead and got a Gigabyte 1070 G1 (link) because I have the self control of a child.

I'll see if I can't get the 980 fixed and then set it aside. Maybe give it to someone in the family. It ran so hot and gobbled so many watts that I'm kinda glad to move on from it. Was nice to have during the winter.
I don't get this. You could have gotten a 2060 for less than that, or a 1070 for ~$200 on ebay,
 

killster1

Diamond Member
Mar 15, 2007
4,457
116
91
#6
still time to change your order. i purchased a used triforce 200$ 1070 for my boy and hes loving it
 
Mar 31, 2010
73
1
71
#7
Alright, I canceled my order. Even if it ships, I can send it back. Not a big deal.

Can either of you provide a link to the video card you're talking about? I want to spend around $400 or so. Thanks.
 
Last edited:

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
18,000
1,809
136
#8
For less than $400, here is what I would get , a 2060 " ( newegg) https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814487425

Its $17 less than what you linked, faster and uses less power.

Or for $210 (buy it now) with almost 400 100% positive ratings,, there is this 1070 https://www.ebay.com/itm/ZOTAC-GeForce-GTX-1070-8GB-Used-w-Box/254149208900?epid=691332204&hash=item3b2c792b44:g:uZMAAOSw14hcfDz4&LH_BIN=1

And lots more 1070's at just over $200, but if your budget is $400, that 2060 is the one to get. Faster than a 1070ti , and way less.
 
Last edited:
Mar 31, 2010
73
1
71
#9
Thanks for taking the time, Mark. I'm gonna pull the trigger on the 2060.
 

IntelUser2000

Elite Member
Oct 14, 2003
6,209
324
126
#10
When I hit the power button on the case, I hear a couple of clicks from the PSU and then silence. Nothing spins up.
That sounds like there's a short on the graphics card. The power supply does that to protect itself and the rest of the computer.

The card must have been fried with the other PSU. It either has to be fixed, or is for the recycler.
 
Aug 25, 2001
44,095
704
126
#11
Off-hand, it sounds like something's shorted on the 980ti, probably in the power section.

Was it overclocked when it died?

If the GPU itself died, due to overtemp/overvoltage/etc., BGA re-work requires a lab, a near-clean-room environment, and some pretty pricey equipment to fix. (I've seen BGA re-work videos.)

Just bite the bullet, and get a new GPU, and if the mfg is willing to fix/RMA it, then do that, then re-sell it.
 
Mar 31, 2010
73
1
71
#12
No, the 980ti was running stock.

Yesterday, I noticed the dust filter underneath the PSU was still spotless after I cleaned it last month. Which indicates the PSU's fan has likely been dead for a while. -Redacted- me, that was an expensive lesson. I set up task scheduler reminders so I can remember to check the new PSU every couple months.

I'll look into BGA. Would be nice to salvage the 980.

The 2060 that Mark recommended ^ should arrive next week.



No profanity in tech.


esquared
Anandtech Forum Director
 
Last edited by a moderator:

UsandThem

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
May 4, 2000
10,905
599
136
#13
It sounds like you installed your PSU face down, and didn't disable the "can stop" feature. When you do that, the best rises and beats up your PSU, and that could be a factor in it dying.

The PSU manufacturers recommend installing the PSU face up if you have the fans stop when not under heavy loads. If installing face down, disable that feature by using the switch/button on the unit.
 
Mar 31, 2010
73
1
71
#14
I'll reinstall the PSU fan side up. Thanks for pointing that out.

I'm not sure where this "can stop" feature is. The only button on my Corsair PSU is the I/O power switch, as far as I can tell.

The dead EVGA G2 PSU had an "ECO" on/off switch.

Here's the PSU I have: Corsair RM750x. Maybe I'm just not seeing it.
 
Last edited:

UsandThem

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
May 4, 2000
10,905
599
136
#15
I'll reinstall the PSU right side up. Thanks for pointing that out.

I'm not sure what you mean by the "can stop" feature. The only button on my PSU is the I/O power switch, as far as I can tell.

The dead EVGA G2 PSU had an ECO on/off switch.

Here's the PSU I have: Corsair RM750x. Maybe I'm just not seeing it.
I meant to type out "fan stop", but was on mobile and probably missed the auto-correct on it.

But yeah, the EVGA G2 calls it "Eco", but it's just the same feature as any other company who offers a manual way to make the fan spin all the time (Seasonic, etc.). However, Corsair doesn't give users the option to disable the "fan stop" feature on their units, so you'll just need to install that one with the fan facing up, so the heat can rise and be pulled out by your case fans.
 
Jun 16, 2005
28
3
71
#16
Went ahead and got a Gigabyte 1070 G1 (link) because I have the self control of a child.

I'll see if I can't get the 980 fixed and then set it aside. Maybe give it to someone in the family. It ran so hot and gobbled so many watts that I'm kinda glad to move on from it. Was nice to have during the winter.


I almost choked when I saw this post. I'm glad they got to you!
 

Similar threads



ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS