Advice needed for updating BIOS for Abit AB9 QuadGT

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by Zerhyn, Dec 24, 2012.

  1. Zerhyn

    Zerhyn Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    I decided to upgrade my dad's computer hard drive. We built the computer about 5 years ago and it is starting to get sluggish. So I bought him an Intel 330 240 SSD.

    Before attempting to install Windows 8 Pro, I am curious if I should update the BIOS. It appears there have been many updates. (He's using Vista, and I think he'll be fine with Windows 8 after I install Classic Start Menu).

    Abit's driver downloads are dead. This site appears to have all of them.

    http://www.lejabeach.com/ABIT/AB9QuadGT/

    I think the BIOS version currently on the motherboard is one of the first two. Can I jump to the latest one? I want to update for the fixed AHCI support.

    I have also never updated a BIOS through MS-DOS, which appears necessary. What is the best way to go about this?

    http://blogs.technet.com/b/csstwpla...create-a-ms-dos-bootable-usb-flash-drive.aspx

    Is something like this appropriate?

    System:
    Current OS: Windows Vista Home Premium (32-bit)
    Abit AB9 QuadGT (Intel965+ICH8) BIOS v 1.10, 7/18/2007
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield, Socket 775 LGA
    XFX 8800 GTS
    4 GB Ram PC-5300 (333 MHz)
    Thermaltake TR2-550 (550W)

    Thank you in advance for any guidance.

    Cheers,
    Daniel
     
    #1 Zerhyn, Dec 24, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2012
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Advice needed updating Forum Date
    Printer connection advice needed Computer Help Dec 10, 2016
    [advice needed] thinking of a refurbished Computer Help Nov 21, 2016
    Need ADVICE - NEW HD or ??? Computer Help Apr 22, 2016
    Need advice on Cleaning a PC of Malware Computer Help Dec 18, 2015
    My Z97 Pro i7 build may have become a disaster. Need immediate advice. Computer Help Jun 7, 2015

  3. denis280

    denis280 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3,428
    Likes Received:
    6
    Give all system spec.
     
  4. Zerhyn

    Zerhyn Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Current OS: Windows Vista Home Premium (32-bit)
    Abit AB9 QuadGT (Intel965+ICH8) BIOS v 1.10, 7/18/2007
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield, Socket 775 LGA
    XFX 8800 GTS
    4 GB Ram PC-5300 (333 MHz)
    Thermaltake TR2-550 (550W)

    That is pretty much all that is in the case...
     
    #3 Zerhyn, Dec 24, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2012
  5. Zerhyn

    Zerhyn Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right now I am thinking making a bootable USB hard drive, as instructed here...

    http://www.theraptorpit.com/forum/index.php?/topic/2628-abit-bios-flashing-guide-step-by-step/

    and then installing following the readme instructions in the BIOS

    ********************************* NOTE *********************************
    1. How to upgrade BIOS:

    a. Create a MS-DOS startup disk.
    b. Extract all files in the operation system.
    c. Copy the files to startup disk.
    d. Boot into MS-DOS.
    e. Run "runme.bat"

    *** Please notice that we suggest you flashing the bios with switches

    "/py /sn /cd /cp /cc /cks /R" or by "runme.bat".

    2. For more detail, please visit:

    http://www.abit.com.tw/page/en/download/guide.php

    3. After BIOS updated, pull off the power cord and then clear the CMOS data
    via jumper before restarting system please.
     
  6. Smoove910

    Smoove910 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is there any particular reason why you feel you need to update the BIOS? I've always used the mentality of "If it isn't broke, why fix it"...
     
  7. Zerhyn

    Zerhyn Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think AHCI is not properly supported. Though, I might just try and install and see how it goes.
     
  8. tcsenter

    tcsenter Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    17,805
    Likes Received:
    13
    Might as well, he's going to clean install Windows. BIOS updating isn't the risk that it once was and he can always buy a replacement chip programmed with the latest BIOS for about $15 shipped if something goes wrong. It would be good to have the latest AHCI option ROM support available for SSD.
     
  9. Zerhyn

    Zerhyn Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess I just wanted to make sure I am doing it right before I attempt a flash.

    I set up a USB stick with the 'HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool', made it bootable, and then put the latest BIOS (v 1.17). So, I guess my question is. Is it ok to jump from v1.10 to v1.17?

    Thanks!
     
  10. tcsenter

    tcsenter Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    17,805
    Likes Received:
    13
    Should be fine!
     
  11. Zerhyn

    Zerhyn Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    And it worked. I mostly needed encouragement, or someone else to blame than myself!

    Have a happy holidays and thank you for the assistance.

    Cheers,
    Daniel
     
  12. tcsenter

    tcsenter Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    17,805
    Likes Received:
    13
  13. steelodon

    steelodon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just got this motherboard!!! Glad I found this thread.