Advanced settings with a Comcast DVR?

Discussion in 'Audio/Video & Home Theater' started by alevasseur14, Jun 20, 2007.

  1. alevasseur14

    alevasseur14 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone. I just moved on Monday and yesterday Comcast came out with a new DVR as my old one broke. I had my other one set up so that it would tune to the last channel it was one before it was shut off. I can't remember how I got it that way and can't figure it out for the life of me.

    It's a Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300HD and I know this setting can be changed. Anyone? Seeing the "Information Channel" makes me insane!!!
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Advanced settings Comcast Forum Date
    great place to buy/compare Android set top box specs? Audio/Video & Home Theater Jul 15, 2017
    Equalizer Pro Setting Help Audio/Video & Home Theater Feb 14, 2017
    New Reciever Set Up Help Audio/Video & Home Theater Feb 4, 2017
    How Far in Advance Is Too Far in Advance... Audio/Video & Home Theater Jun 15, 2009
    Harmony® 880 Advanced Audio/Video & Home Theater Aug 24, 2007

  3. ultimatebob

    ultimatebob Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    19,241
    Likes Received:
    88
    I called Comcast on about this exact same problem, and their official reply is that it can't be changed.

    I'm not buying it that lame answer though, since I WAS able to change the default startup channel when I used this same cable box with my Adelphia cable service. Comcast must have removed that menu option with a firmware update.
     
  4. CalvinHobbes

    CalvinHobbes Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,524
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. ultimatebob

    ultimatebob Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    19,241
    Likes Received:
    88
    I didn't see a solution in there, which is surprising considering how long that thread was!
     
  6. Slick5150

    Slick5150 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    8,761
    Likes Received:
    2
    How is that box and which one did it replace? I have a Motorola box through Comcast that sucks horribly.