Adobe Premiere Pro CS5 & Video Card?

package007

Dec 19, 2011
I am quite new to video editing, and need s little advice. I have a 650W power Supply and am wondering which card is best for editing HD Video using Adobe Premiere Pro CS5.5. My Pavilion Elite computer came installed with a Radeon HD 5450 and I am looking to upgrade it to a 1GB card. I looked at the following:

AMD FirePro™ V4900
ATI FirePro™ V5800
XFX AMD Radeon HD 6870

My price range is under $350 if possible. When I spoke with AMD, they questioned whether or not I needed the FirePro for Adobe. ANy ideas will help. Thanks.

The Package

Arkadrel

Diamond Member
Oct 19, 2010
What you want:

Cuda card, perf something like a 560 ti.
Window's 64bit + Adobe Premiere Pro CS5.5 (64bit version)
(only works with the 64bit version I read)

you probably also want to get a buttload of memory into your system, as much as your motherboard can take.

*** dont buy a Qudro or Firepro (unless you really need it, know what your getting for your $).
Chances are your just flushing $ down the toilet, vs a normal card.

Last edited:

3DVagabond

Lifer
Aug 10, 2009
Premiere's "Mercury Playback Engine" supports GPU acceleration using CUDA which requires an nVidia card. It's recommended that the card have at least 1gig of vram. Only certain nVidia cards support it right out of the box. Mostly Quadro cards. There's an .INI hack/mod that makes it work with nVidia cards that aren't supported by default.

Anything from a GTX 460 1GB card on up seems to be fine, from what I've read. The GTX-570 is the fastest card that will fit into your budget. Although, one of these might work better because of having more vram. Check with other Premiere users on the benefits, if any, for more vram.