Adding new drive to existing RAID 1

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by burnside, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. burnside

    burnside Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Dell Precision T1500 with a RAID 1 configuration (500 GB). I would like to add a new drive just to store photos, no RAID on that needed. Do I just connect the new drive to the motherboard with a SATA cable and that's it? I attached a screenshot of my RAID setup screen.

    [​IMG]

    Thanks!
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Adding drive existing Forum Date
    Adding eSATA drive to FIOS DVR - recommendations? Memory and Storage Oct 15, 2015
    Adding an SSD as 2nd drive, move windows from old HDD to new SSD Memory and Storage Mar 15, 2015
    Adding a hard drive to an existing spanned/dynamic volume Memory and Storage Dec 22, 2013
    existing raid config, adding ssd boot drive Memory and Storage Feb 17, 2011
    Problem with adding SATA drive to existing Raid 1 in winxp Memory and Storage Feb 7, 2009

  3. Spikesoldier

    Spikesoldier Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2001
    Messages:
    6,766
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes its that simple. you shouldnt have to configure anything in the intel menu you have pictured.

    hook it up, boot to windows, let windows install the drive and you should be ready to use your new volume.
     
  4. burnside

    burnside Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perfect. Thanks!