Adaware - a scam ??

Discussion in 'Software for Windows' started by Neos, Apr 28, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Neos

    Neos Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had some probs with the changing of my home page, with a some mess-ups of certain programs (Chief Architect, mainly).

    I downloaded Adaware. It says I have a virus 'backdoor.ryejet', and wants 29.00 to remove it. I done a google and saw many complaints on adaware - saying it is a scam.

    What gives? There is something causing a problem with my PC. My AVG does not pick it up & Adaware looks to be out to fleece me.

    Any idea how to fix this?
    Thanks!
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Adaware scam Forum Date
    Avira Scam? "13 Million Threats Detected" Software for Windows May 15, 2014
    Just screwed my comp up with adaware? Software for Windows Jul 30, 2008
    Hit with persistant IE pop-up malware, Adaware & Spybot won't remove Software for Windows Jul 2, 2008
    AdAware 2008 (ver. 7.1.0.7) released by lavasoft Software for Windows May 21, 2008
    I use the free: AVG, Spybot, and Adaware..but I still have pop-ups!!! Software for Windows Apr 5, 2007

  3. spherrod

    spherrod Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,897
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Modeps

    Modeps Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    17,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've never had AdAware ask me to pay money to do anything...
     
  5. 49erinnc

    49erinnc Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,095
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  6. Megatomic

    Megatomic Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2000
    Messages:
    20,128
    Likes Received:
    6
    Same

     
  7. Bucksnort

    Bucksnort Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    adaware is a very worthy and legitimate program.
     
  8. biostud

    biostud Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,897
    Likes Received:
    85
    There's a huge difference in ad-ware and ad-aware :)
     
  9. imported_michealo

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. datalink7

    datalink7 Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    16,762
    Likes Received:
    5
     
  11. jadinolf

    jadinolf Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 1999
    Messages:
    20,952
    Likes Received:
    1
    Strange.
     
  12. Neos

    Neos Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, all.

    You are right. It was noadware ..http://www.noadware.net/?hop=wintech. I also have the Ad-Aware SE Personal Edition form Lavasoft. I have used it and it has quanintened number of files. I do hope that it took care of this 'backdoor.ryejet'. That is the virus that was described to a T as far as what it was doing to my PC. Did not show up, though - through an AVG scan. It must have been a simular type problem virus.

    Time will tell.
     
  13. 49erinnc

    49erinnc Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,095
    Likes Received:
    0


    You may also want to try Spybot Search & Destroy in combination with Ad-Aware. I'm pretty sure most people here, like myself, use both to combat spyware. It's a little more aggressive than Ad-Adaware. I tend to run both bi-weekly just to keep things in check.
     
  14. Neos

    Neos Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks
    I have had Spybot for a spell, and will now run both that and Ad Aware often.

    I do wonder why my AVG did not catch this, though?? This 'backdoor.ryejet' that was/is supossed to be there is a trojon virus - according to Symantec.

    AVG did not even list it. Makes me wonder if AVG might not be as good as I thought.
     
  15. 8eg

    8eg Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    You downloaded one of the many disreputable anti-spyware programs that are floating around the net. To learn who you can trust, (and about spyware in general,) go to Spyware Warrior. You can see that noadware is listed on the Rogue/Suspect Anti-Spyware List.
     
  16. montag451

    montag451 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    4,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    AVG is good for not have much of a footprint in terms of resources, but in some tests, only catches about 68%.
    Kaspersky tops out at about 99% and is almost always the best of the bunch - BUT - on some systems, the latest version just seems to wallow in RAM.
     
  17. Neos

    Neos Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wallow in ram ?? Do you mean it uses too much - or needs too much?
     
  18. Concillian

    Concillian Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,739
    Likes Received:
    3
    This is a backdoor, which may not technically be classified as a virus.

    Virus programs often only look for viruses, which I think are not nearly as common as they were a few years ago. The bigger problem these days is spyware/adware/malware whatever you want to call it, which are much more difficult to protect against because often the user actually approves their installation, or they make use of loopholes in specific programs.
     
  19. n0cmonkey

    n0cmonkey Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2001
    Messages:
    42,936
    Likes Received:
    0
    STOP USING AN ACCOUNT WITH ADMINISTRATOR PRIVS.
     
  20. Neos

    Neos Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you mean during log on? I am not even sure if I implement admin priv.
     
  21. n0cmonkey

    n0cmonkey Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2001
    Messages:
    42,936
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your user account probably had administrator privileges. STOP DOING THAT. It's a simple fix to almost all virus and spyware issues.
     
  22. Neos

    Neos Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you give me a few hints? I went to user accounts in the control panel, and the log on account is the main admin account. Do I need to create a password, or make other changes (IYHO).

    By the way - I think the prob is still there. When I rebooted a while ago - the home page was changed.

    Thanks for the input.
     
  23. mechBgon

    mechBgon Super Moderator<br>Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1999
    Messages:
    30,699
    Likes Received:
    0
    :D

    Create a new Administrator-class account and then switch your usual account to a Limited account. Are you on WinXP Home or WinXP Pro there?

    Also, tonight before you go to bed, uninstall AVG and install/configure/update a 30-day trial of Kaspersky: http://www.omnicast.net/~tmcfadden/guides/build/kaspersky.html Then fire off an exhaustive scan and call it a night, and see what it's found in the morning. If you use up your 30 days and don't want to buy it, it uninstalls ok and you can go back to AVG or AntiVir.
     
  24. Neos

    Neos Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have XP Pro.

    OK - I have downloaded the Kaspersky. I will now take out the the AVG and put this in motion.

    I presume that when I log on now - I would access the new account admin - right?
     
  25. biostud

    biostud Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,897
    Likes Received:
    85
    I've just changed to Antivir, since two of my computers and my parents computer got infected using AVG.
     
  26. Neos

    Neos Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, the Kaspersky found the backdoor. That is great news here. Looks like I will be changing to this from AVG.

    Gotta check it out further, but does the Kaspersky have a firewall built in ? I have Zonealarm also and they seem to be doing the same job.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.