Acceptable gaming laptop?

rb_outdoors

Mar 4, 2010
So I'm a student and need to have a laptop but would like to play some games as well (SC 2, CS, etc) without paying 1k. Tell me what you think of this setup: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834157717

I'm hoping to keep it under $500

CPU TypeAMD Turion II Dual-Core P520 2.3GHz Screen15.6" Memory Size4GB DDR3 Hard Disk500GB Optical DriveDVD Super Multi Graphics CardATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650 s CommunicationGigabit LAN and WLAN Dimensions14.88" x 9.65" x 1.21" - 1.37" Weight5.46 lbs. TechVISION Premium Technology CPU CPU TypeAMD Turion II Dual-Core CPU SpeedP520(2.3GHz) CPU L2 Cache2MB Display Screen Size15.6" Wide Screen SupportYes Resolution1366 x 768 LCD FeaturesHP BrightView LED Display Operating Systems Operating SystemWindows 7 Home Premium 64-bit Graphics GPU/VPUATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650 s Graphic TypeDedicated Card Hard Drive HDD500GB HDD RPM5400rpm HDD InterfaceSATA Memory Memory4GB Memory Type204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM Memory Slot (Total)2 Max Memory Supported8GB

HybridSquirrel

Diamond Member
Nov 20, 2005
IMO, no laptop will ever be suited for gaming. They get too hot, and for the price you pay you can have a beyond killer desktop. I realize your space is limited, have you thought about making a shuttle build? For that $500 you can get a pretty sweet build.

I bought an XPS laptop when they were cool a couple years back, sold that thing 2 weeks after heavy BF2 gaming and built a shuttle gaming PC that actually took up less space than that big ass laptop did.

If you decide you absolutely need a laptop, make sure it has a dedicated card and not a crappy integrated card. That 5650 will be pretty MEH depending on what you play. Everything else will be pretty MEH as well. Hard drive is slow, but that won't matter too much.

rb_outdoors

Mar 4, 2010