About how much data does the GPS on a Android use?

Discussion in 'Mobile Devices & Gadgets' started by QueBert, Sep 13, 2010.

  1. QueBert

    QueBert Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    21,339
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have a Moto Droid that's not currently on any cell plan, I'm using it as a wifi only device until I find a suitable pre-paid provider to go with. The GPS on it seems pretty decent, but I have no idea how much data it would use on a typical 1-2 hour trip. Page Plus only gives 50 megs a month on their data plan, which I doubt would go far using GPS only, but I might be surprised.

    On another related note, is there any other pre-paid provider besides Page Plus that uses Verizon's towers and offers a pre paid data plan with a decent chunk of megs included?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - data Android Forum Date
    What channel does Google Android use for data? Mobile Devices & Gadgets Mar 13, 2017
    What the heck is "System Data" and how do you delete it? Mobile Devices & Gadgets Jan 29, 2017
    How to access the /data folder in Android 6.0 ? Mobile Devices & Gadgets Nov 26, 2016
    Wow, Android data compression is a huge improvement Mobile Devices & Gadgets Jan 20, 2016
    Factory Reset doesn't wipe Android phone/tablet data! Mobile Devices & Gadgets Nov 14, 2015

  3. zerocool84

    zerocool84 Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    35,015
    Likes Received:
    119
    Verizon has their own Pre-paid plan now but it's not that cheap.
     
  4. ew915

    ew915 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2001
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    to give you an idea i had 3g watchdog reset to 0 and on a 38 mile trip the gps did like 8mb, but it was mostly on highways(95%) so ymmv
     
  5. zerocool84

    zerocool84 Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    35,015
    Likes Received:
    119
    Probably with other stuff going on in the background. Did it only watch that program or your whole phone? I can't imagine GPS using that much for not that long of a trip.
     
  6. Strk

    Strk Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    10,200
    Likes Received:
    4
    The GPS doesn't use any data. A-GPS uses a tiny bit to get your location. The program you're using is what uses data.
     
  7. Spoooon

    Spoooon Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Messages:
    11,376
    Likes Received:
    25
    I think it caches your entire trip, so as long as you start and end your trip somewhere with wifi (and you don't restart your phone or exit out of nav), you should be good.

    I didn't mess with this too much, but check out http://www.oruxmaps.com/index_en.html