a8-7680 or g5400 or i3-8100 for office

tinyobola

Junior Member
May 23, 2019
14
2
36
whats the good proc to build its for office document use, web browsing, email, SAPB1 and they open mutiple excel files
can someone enlighten me on amd side is it same as 4c 4t as i3-8100 has 4c-4t also
 
  • Like
Reactions: NTMBK

NTMBK

Diamond Member
Nov 14, 2011
8,677
1,614
126
No, each core in the A8 is much slower than a core in the i3. The i3 is a much faster CPU.
 

AtenRa

Lifer
Feb 2, 2009
13,328
2,155
126
I would go for the Ryzen R5 2200G or if you need more performance the R5 2400G
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jimzz

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,279
7,922
136
I would consider the Ryzen 2400g. Its $5 more than the 8100, and its on the AM4 platform, which gives a great upgrade path.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jimzz

Insert_Nickname

Diamond Member
May 6, 2012
3,805
477
126
Definitely avoid any A-series APU. Apart from the budget end of the market, they're effectively obsoleted by Ryzen/Athlon with Vega Graphics.

As the others have already pointed out the 2200G/2400G are a very compelling package. If you need something cheap, the AM4 Athlons are very good for their asking price.
 

Shivansps

Platinum Member
Sep 11, 2013
2,845
612
136
2200G is a excelent choice, so it is the 2400G, other, cheaper than that go to the 200GE. The G5400 is not really a good idea, its generally far too close to the 2200G price.
 

amd6502

Senior member
Apr 21, 2017
768
217
86
So it all depends if you want to go DDR3 vs DDR4. For most office builds 8gb should be enough.

All of those processors would be perfect for office. The A8 would be the best fit if you already have DDR3 laying around, as that really brings to build cost down. (Even old laptop memory would work well with a pair of sodimm to desktop adapters.)

If you do go with the A8, be aware that the motherboard needs the latest bios (released ~Oct 2018). If you are using a random motherboard that's been sitting on a retail shelf for an unknown amount of years you may need to bootstrap yourself with an old fm2 or fm2+ processor by updating the bios.
 
Last edited:

tinyobola

Junior Member
May 23, 2019
14
2
36
So it all depends if you want to go DDR3 vs DDR4. For most office builds 8gb should be enough.

All of those processors would be perfect for office. The A8 would be the best fit if you already have DDR3 laying around, as that really brings to build cost down. (Even old laptop memory would work well with a pair of sodimm to desktop adapters.)

If you do go with the A8, be aware that the motherboard needs the latest bios (released ~Oct 2018). If you are using a random motherboard that's been sitting on a retail shelf for an unknown amount of years you may need to bootstrap yourself with an old fm2 or fm2+ processor by updating the bios.
i do have old fm2 processor a4-7300 should update it first before using a8-7680 and yeah forgot budget should be at lowest since its for office use only
 

tinyobola

Junior Member
May 23, 2019
14
2
36
2200G is a excelent choice, so it is the 2400G, other, cheaper than that go to the 200GE. The G5400 is not really a good idea, its generally far too close to the 2200G price.
is 200ge enough for multiple excel files opened?
 

ao_ika_red

Golden Member
Aug 11, 2016
1,628
673
106
i do have old fm2 processor a4-7300 should update it first before using a8-7680 and yeah forgot budget should be at lowest since its for office use only
7680 is about the same price with 200GE but you don't need to buy new motherboard and RAM. And its performance is not far off the 200GE in stock condition.
There's a catch, though. You have to be sure that your current board can be updated to utilise 7680 APU.
 
  • Like
Reactions: amd6502

amd6502

Senior member
Apr 21, 2017
768
217
86
7680 is about the same price with 200GE but you don't need to buy new motherboard and RAM. And its performance is not far off the 200GE in stock condition.
There's a catch, though. You have to be sure that your current board can be updated to utilise 7680 APU.
Yes it should be about on par; somewhat weaker single thread but they are decently fast and for mixed or pure int loads maybe slightly higher multi thread. Definitely check wheher the new BIOS (approximately October 2018) is available for the board and update the board. If it's not available it means the board doesn't support it.

i do have old fm2 processor a4-7300 should update it first before using a8-7680 and yeah forgot budget should be at lowest since its for office use only
Yes, that should work very well. I have an ancient A4-5300 in the drawer just for that purpose.
 

tinyobola

Junior Member
May 23, 2019
14
2
36
2200g or i3-8100? currently i bought proc who use SAP is the i3-8100 just trying to get cheaper my boss might ask me for pricey computer
a320+2200g+8gb/4gb ram OR i3-8100+h310+8gb/4gb ram?
the catch here is they multitask too much (e.g open browser tabs, excel files, SAP, pdfs)
 

Shivansps

Platinum Member
Sep 11, 2013
2,845
612
136
The diference from the 2200G to I3-8100 is small but its there, BUT considering the 8100 price you can buy a 2400G for what the I3-8100 costs. This i why i would not go for the I3, not to mention A320 in general is a better option than H310...

So if you ask me if it is 2200G+8GB or I3-8100/2400G+4GB, the answer is 8GB, always.

I3-8100 vs 2400G, 2400G always.

The harder choice would be 2200G+12GB or 2400G+8GB that is petty much around the same price. This i can not tell you what would be better.

But if the question overall is 2200G or 8100, just go for the 2200G and either save some money or expend it on SSD or more RAM, if the 2200G cant handle it, neither the 8100 will.

The same applies to 200GE VS G5400.

BTW, try to have dual channel on Ryzen.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,279
7,922
136
2200g+a320+2x4gb ram 2400 would do it right? ddr4-2400 is the cheapest ram here
That CPU likes fast ram. 2400 will work fine, you just get more total speed out of faster ram. I would try for at least 3000, but again, the 2400 will work.
 
  • Like
Reactions: amd6502

tinyobola

Junior Member
May 23, 2019
14
2
36
I wouldn't invest in the FM2+ ecosystem... even with cheap DDR3... even if you already have it. Just let it go.

The i3-8100 is too expensive for the performance it offers and fits into a mostly dead socket.

All the while, you have a 2200g and a vibrant AM4 ecosystem at much better prices. That's your answer.

thank you :):)
 

SPBHM

Diamond Member
Sep 12, 2012
4,948
327
126
I would take even the Athlon 200GE over any FM2+ CPU.

if you are desperate to use DDR3, there are h110 and h310 boards with DDR3L support (but they seem to work fine with regular DDR3)
 

amd6502

Senior member
Apr 21, 2017
768
217
86
I would take even the Athlon 200GE over any FM2+ CPU.

if you are desperate to use DDR3, there are h110 and h310 boards with DDR3L support (but they seem to work fine with regular DDR3)
Both the Athlon or the A8 would be fine for this role of spreadsheets and database. They are both fairly fast chips. The limitations might more be RAM, but I'm guessing that 8GB is still adequate. I wouldn't overthink this. A8, Athlon, or the 2000g series, they should all work well.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY