A Question for Those of You Working in IT

obeseotron

Golden Member
Oct 9, 1999
I need some advice about how to get a decent IT job. I majored in Econ, graduated last Spring from NYU, and have utterly failed to get a job related to my major, so I've decided to most obvious route is to look into working with technology. My problem is being generally unqualified for even a help desk job from an employer's perspective.

In high school I built servers, desktop support and other IT stuff for a local firm, and have done independent jobs for people and small businesses. None of this amounts to much as near as I can tell, and I figured there might be someone on the board with some advice.

Should I look into getting myself certified MSCE/CCNA/something else like that?

Should I be looking into getting a Master's (this would obviously require bridge courses)?

Something else?

Any advice from anyone would be greatly appreciated.

BCYL

Diamond Member
Jun 7, 2000
Employers don't usually consider things you did in High School real experience... your best bet would be to do some diploma programs at the local community college, look into doing some volunteer/internships and hope for the best...

IT is a really crowded field right now, so you may want to reconsider before you fully commit yourself

patrick409

Aug 13, 2003
What's with all these NYU Econ majors not being able to find jobs? Most of the people I know from NYU who did Econ ended up in something completely non related :p

What kinda IT jobs are you looking for? You might be able to get an entry level application support job somewhere, but you better be really good at what you say you did in high school. Check NYU's CareerNet for postings. Might want to brush up on some of the web based technologies so you can at least put something tech related on your resume.