9800gtx oc help

McRipper

Aug 26, 2008
This is my first attempt at ocing so you can laugh at me if you want as long as you answer my questions, lol.

I am using RivaTuner 2.1 to oc my Zotac 9800gtx. I set up Fan profiles, schedules, etc. The card is stock. I oced 800/2000/1200 from 675/1688/1100. 42c idle and I ran 3dmark06 (13400 score) and it went up to 60c then cooled back down. I then installed CPU-z, HWmonitor and oced my cpu e8400 through BIOS (FSB 366 from 333). I didn't change the voltage. Everything loaded fine but when I ran hwmonitor, I noticed the GPU was 58c-60c idle. I set the GPU to default and it was still 58c-60c. The cpu was 42c idle.

So, my questions are: are those temps normal? Is running GPU fan at 60% constantly ok? I don't want to do anything dramatic with the oc. Just something to get a little extra performance without changing voltage or buying a cooler for the GPU. I have a CPU f/hs. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

JPB

Diamond Member
Jul 4, 2005
What are your fan profiles set to ? Percentages ?

And are you sure your profiles are working when you use them ?

McRipper

Aug 26, 2008
I set up 3 fan profiles: 60%, 80% and 100%. That's the thing, I don't know if they are working or not. I want to say yes because after I ran 3dmark06, the temp got up to 59c but gradually came back to 42c. It wasn't until after I oc'ed the CPU, the temp was 60c idle. I checked the fan speeds through RT and it showed 35%. I applied the 60% fan profile and it cooled.

JPB

Diamond Member
Jul 4, 2005
Check the event monitor graph in Rivatuner and check and see what the fan is running at with each profile active.

But I would imagine, that for a 9800GTX, 42c is pretty good if you ask me. And to be quite honest...even running at 59c is pretty good.

Alot of people would love to have a GPU run that cool.

McRipper

Aug 26, 2008
Originally posted by: JPB