802.11b/g/n + 802.3/3u = $20

Discussion in 'Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests' started by kleinkinstein, Dec 11, 2012.

  1. kleinkinstein

    kleinkinstein Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    0
    #1 kleinkinstein, Dec 11, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2012
  2. drshivas

    drshivas Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Refurbished, but I may spring for one.
     
  3. nante

    nante Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    #3 nante, Dec 11, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2012
  4. wirednuts

    wirednuts Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    1
    nante-

    yes.

    and relatively a big difference. i would keep it to single or two users max though... unless all you do is browse forums
     
  5. mazeroth

    mazeroth Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,809
    Likes Received:
    1
    My parents are using a 6-7 year old Linksys WRT54G with the dual antennas. They have a Roku across the house about 40-50 feet away and get a pretty weak signal. Think this will help them enough?
     
  6. ICXRa

    ICXRa Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    5,924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't the model number WNR2000-100NAR?
     
  7. wirednuts

    wirednuts Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    1
    hard to say because g signals travel further then n signals, and also if its working right then you should still get more bandwidth then you need with g.

    generally though, yes a good n router will give you better results... but 50ft through walls can be tough like i was saying. if anything, get a 5ghz n router and be done with it (5ghz travels even less then regular n or g, but the interference on that spectrum is so much lower it almost always works a lot better) or, add a router in repeater mode to extend the signal you already have...
     
  8. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    35,758
    Likes Received:
    578
    This deal is back on. $29.99 - $10 promo code (on page) = $19.99 FS.

    Btw, OP, please change title and add "WNR2000" to title.

    Edit: These work great with DD-WRT, assuming that you get a v2 unit.
     
  9. reallyscrued

    reallyscrued Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it insanely expensive to integrate gigabit switches into routers or what?
     
  10. wirednuts

    wirednuts Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    1
    i dont know, but i doubt it. seems like they keep a feature or two as a premium price addon, and in most routers thats gigabit ports.
     
  11. Wyndru

    Wyndru Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    7,319
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've been wondering the same thing.
    I finally broke down and bought this:
    http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2292456

    I'd rather have them in the same unit, but I'm tired of waiting for decent prices.
     
  12. nante

    nante Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Didn't get one the last time around.. Perhaps this is a sign. ;_;
     
  13. DarkTXKnight

    DarkTXKnight Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    0
    how does this compare to the router that comes with uverse? would i use this as a replacement of some sort or just a repeater?
     
  14. GTFan

    GTFan Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's gotta be marketing when you can routinely get 8-port Gig switches for $20 or less now on sale.
     
  15. ICXRa

    ICXRa Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    5,924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, and why limit it to 4 ports? I can easily use 8 in my home network, but I have to by a separate switch, more power usage/cables, etc. etc.. Routers have changed very little over the years, with the exception of their wireless technologies.
     
  16. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    35,758
    Likes Received:
    578
    Except, back in the pre-wireless internet days, 8-port routers were actually a bit more common.
     
  17. kmmatney

    kmmatney Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2000
    Messages:
    4,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just connect this to a Gigabit switch, and the rest of your network will run at Gb speeds. There isn't much benefit to a Gb router unless you want it to be your only hub. I have the older revision of this one on my Gb network and it works great. Even though the router hands out the IP Addresses, the Gb switches make sure all network traffic takes the most efficient route, so I get Gb speeds on all network traffic except Internet, which doesn't matter since I have a 25Mbit Internet connection.
     
  18. kmmatney

    kmmatney Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2000
    Messages:
    4,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    In my opinion, this is a better router. However your Uverse router is probably your DSL modem as well, so setting both up can be tricky. I had a similiar setup in he past. I would recommend turning off all dhcp features on the Uverse device, and just use it as a modem, and not a router. Then make the new router the only one handling all router duties. Otherwise you'll have a double NAT situation, and a lot of funny network behavior, especially if you have a server.

    I was having a lot of trouble with my DSL modem/router, with reboots needed every few days. I wasn't sure if I needed a new DSL modem, or if it just couldn't handle the load I put on it (up tp 15 devices connected at once). So I picked up one of these Netgear routers cheap, and and configured my DSL modem to just be a modem only - no DHCP/Router duties. I then setup this Netgear router after it to handle all DHCP and internet traffic. After I did this, things have been rock stable. This device has no trouble handling 5 PCs inernet gaming at once, while running Netflix. I run a Minecraft server at home as well. I never meant for this cheap router to be my final device - I bought it as a test to see if it could make things more stable (compared to my DSL modem/router) and I planned on buying a better "gaming" router. However this one worked out so well, I never needed anything better. You will not find a better router for $20. Works fine with my VOIP Ooma as well. I hit this thing hard, and it doesn't blink.
     
    #18 kmmatney, Dec 30, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2012
  19. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    35,758
    Likes Received:
    578
    Which router revision were you using? v1, v2, or v3?

    Did you flash to dd-wrt?
     
  20. kmmatney

    kmmatney Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2000
    Messages:
    4,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm using version 2, and have not flashed it. I looked into it, but the built-in interafce handles all my needs for now.
     
  21. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    35,758
    Likes Received:
    578
    Yes, v2 is the best version IMHO. It is the version that supports DD-WRT as well, so if you wanted to try a 3rd-party firmware you can. I didn't even bother with the stock firmware, I went straight to DD-WRT.
     
  22. WhoBeDaPlaya

    WhoBeDaPlaya Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Messages:
    6,751
    Likes Received:
    74
    Have about 10 of these (V2s) running DD-WRT for the past 2 years now. Rock solid.
     
  23. dawp

    dawp Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    7,387
    Likes Received:
    26
    what's the advantage of running open firmware such as dd-wrt? I have considered it for my wndr3700v1.
     
  24. WhoBeDaPlaya

    WhoBeDaPlaya Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Messages:
    6,751
    Likes Received:
    74
    Increased functionality (eg. adjusting power levels, OCing) and having a uniform interface across multiple makes/models of routers.
     
  25. tyler811

    tyler811 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Uhhh no "Introduced in 2009, the main difference in 802.11n was the presence of 3 more MIMO streams than the other protocols. While all the other protocols used just a single MIMO stream, the 802.11n protocol used 4 MIMO streams. This not only helped in an increase in the range, but also an increase in the data rate."