8 core AMD vs 8 core Intel

Page 3 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

cytg111

Lifer
Mar 17, 2008
how does the scheduler know to keep the pair's of cores (1 shared FP) from stalling? (which o/s?) is it like HT where the o/s knows to not prefer to use those cores unless absolutely necessary?

That apparantly is a highly technical question, ive been asking the same question myself (and im a dev).. answer is that it is infact highly "intelligent" at managing resources.. you'll have situations where stack crapping will give you a hurt with ie. hyperthreading but other than that.. the schedular knows best. Apparantly.

cytg111

Lifer
Mar 17, 2008
..AMDs biggest mistake was to call it 8 cores. Had they called it quadcore with CMT then it would have been much more positive recieved than it was.

Disagree. Whatever they were gonna call it -> Either it swims or it sinks.. relative to the competition. For the life of me i dont understand why they are sticking to those guns, they have achieved nothing since phenom2 imo. Within a market that is only increasing performance by 10% year on year, they actually only have to stay competetive and NOT regress. One order too tall i guess.

jhu

Lifer
Oct 10, 1999
Dont need to look at anything other than the very expansive AT CPU comparison that was linked, which supports and validates the current market distribution.

No need to isolate one benchmark when the time was taken to compile so many. ;)