72C Idle PhenomII x6 1100t

Qyratar

May 8, 2013
Hey, was surfing around on the net searching for the idle temp for my X1100 after trying to pump up the fan speed on both my GPU and my CPU as I was trying to fix BSOD's which I had been experiencing. I stumbled upon this(and other) forums which people stated a never above 55C rule. I tried to maximize the fan but it still stays on 72C no matter what I do.

Picture with temps.
http://postimg.org/image/d55cueyxz/

Any and All answers on how to reduce the temp would be very much appreciated as I have no real knowledge of how to control CPU speeds.

Note: Worth mentioning is that I replaced my fan with another because I got really annoyed by the high noise which the stock fan made. I replaced it with a Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 (http://www.arctic.ac/en/p/cooling/cpu/3/freezer-13.html)

(I am at the moment measuring the temp in my room, will update later with the temp)

inf64

Diamond Member
Mar 11, 2011
It's a bad contact between the base of your heatsink and your CPU. Re-apply the thermal paste and re-seat the heatsink.

Jabrono

Jan 17, 2013
What method did you use when applying the thermal paste? Did you replace the existing cooler with another OEM one?

First thing I\d try is reseating the fan/cooler with a re-application of thermal paste.

Qyratar

May 8, 2013
First I bought the Fan from a local shop, then I had serious problems installing the fan, so in the end I actually bent one pin on the CPU so I decided to go to the shop and make them install it for me. So I did not apply the thermal paste personally and if I am correct the thermal paste was applied on the bottom of the fan when I bought it.
So should I try doing it again and do my best or should I go turn it in again?

EDIT: Thanks for the answers!

inf64

Diamond Member
Mar 11, 2011