6600 at 3 GHZ fails orthos in 2 minutes, but stable on prime 95 forever

patentman

Golden Member
Apr 8, 2005
Hey all, I'm new to the overclocking thing, so forgive me if I ask any dumb questins over the course of this thread.

To get to the point, I recently puchased a 6600C2D, the EVGA 680i mobo and some corsair ram. I'm using a thermal take big typhoon (arctic silver has not broken in yet). All of my bios settings (p24 bios) are default, except I have the ram FSB unlinked, the CPU voltage at 1.325 (defaul is 1.3) and the FSB at 1333...thus overclocking the CPU to 3Ghz. It running at ~35C idle, ~45-47C under full load (again AS has not broken in).

Anyways, the overclock seemed stable enough, It boots windows just fine, survived the Prim95 torture test for hours, and let me run oblivion maxed out for a couple of hours (had 1-2 odd crashes in there, but i think that might have had something to do with one of the oblivion mods I have installed). However, it consistently fails orthos after about 2 minutes, with an eror messages to the tune of "Hardware failure detected, expected answer = x, answer received = y" where x and y are huge numbers.

I know my ram is not the best (its corsair's generic twinx 6400), but I should be still able to ramp up the CPU clock speed of the CPU independently of the ram by unlinking the Ram's FSB from the CPU's. Or at least I think I should be able to.

Anyone have any tips?

Shimmishim

Elite Member
Feb 19, 2001
Prime95 (assuming you're using the non-multithreaded version) only stresses one core while Orthos will stress both your cores.

That is why prime runs fine but orthos fails.

you can try increasing your cpu voltage to gain more stability. your temps look fine.

orion23

Platinum Member
Oct 1, 2003
Don't worry so much about orthos failing.

I cannot get my PC to be orthos stable no matter what.

I can pass 3Dmark06, 3Dmark05, game, repair winrar Archives with 100% cpu utilization 24/7 and my PC doesn't crash.