500 gb hard drive registers at 465 gb???Help

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by imported_goldlight, Dec 30, 2006.

  1. imported_goldlight

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys!!!
    I just bought 2 new hard drives:

    a western digital 250 gig
    a western digital 500gig

    Here is the problem..

    I installed both of them on my computer
    And the 250 registers at 232 gigs???
    and the 500 registers at 465 gigs????
    Where the hell are the rest of my gigs???
    I want what I payed for lol..

    So far they have not been formatted with any operating systems...
    I'm using them for back up.How do I get my extra gigs back?????
    Any advice on what to do????
     
  2. Matthias99

    Matthias99 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    8,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hard drive "gigabyte" = 100,000,000,000 bytes.

    Windows "gigabyte" is actually a "gibibyte" or 2^40 = 1,099,511,627,776 bytes.

    If you look at the capacity in bytes of the drive, you'll see it has almost exactly 250,000,000,000/500,000,000,000 bytes.
     
  3. cubby1223

    cubby1223 Lifer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    13,294
    Likes Received:
    5
    500*(1000/1024)^3=465
    250*(1000/1024)^3=232
     
  4. Random Variable

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    10,425
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you meant 2^30.

     
  5. Steve

    Steve Lifer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    16,575
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, 1,073,741,824
     
  6. imported_goldlight

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys!!!!
    Im so glad that I am part
    of this community!!!!!
     
  7. WiseOldDude

    WiseOldDude Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can see it now, in the year 2525, some fool will buy a 10 Gizzillion Terabyte microdrive, and some fool will be posting on a forum, "It only shows 9.45876 Gazzillion Terabytes, they cheated me"
     
  8. bsobel

    bsobel Moderator Emeritus<br>Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    13,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's worse, Maxtor and some others got sued over this from people claiming false advertising.
     
  9. QueBert

    QueBert Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    21,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it really sucks how they advertise gigs, a 500 will always format to 465, it's not like he paid for a 500 gig and got 498. If you expect 500 and get 35 less, that's a lot of gigs. It's not like it differs from system to system, they should either make the drives bigger so it'll be 500 megs after formatting, or list the size as 465, it's not like anyone can use the drive unformatted. :)



     
  10. Steve

    Steve Lifer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    16,575
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not about formatting. There's no space lost except in the advertising. 465GB is actually how much are on that drive, regardless of format.
     
  11. JW310

    JW310 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1999
    Messages:
    1,582
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not that formatting the drive causes the "loss" of capacity. It's due to the way the manufacturers label the drives, as the posters above have already stated.

    To a manufacturer, one "GB" is 1,000,000,000 bytes. Operating systems see one "GB" as 1,073,741,824 bytes.
     
  12. bsobel

    bsobel Moderator Emeritus<br>Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    13,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, some of that space is used by the OS for file system structures, and that space DOES come out of the 500gig. But the amount is minimal compared is fairly trivial to the 1000bytes vs 1024bytes issue.
     
  13. Shawn

    Shawn Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    32,206
    Likes Received:
    40
    I really hate how there are 2 different measurements. They should pick one and have it be universal. I don't care which.
     
  14. WiseOldDude

    WiseOldDude Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    0
    One thousand to us = 1,000

    One thousand to a computer = 1,024

    This is not 1960, it is past time that people learn some of the basics about computers.
     
  15. Nothinman

    Nothinman Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually it should be the opposite, as computers progress they should get easier so people have to know less about them in order to use them.
     
  16. Markbnj

    Markbnj Elite Member <br>Moderator Emeritus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    15,683
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just like the monitor manufacturers who were claiming 17" diagonal, when the viewable was 15.9 diagonal. It's a plot, I tell you.
     
  17. Steve

    Steve Lifer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    16,575
    Likes Received:
    0
    Apple has been doing this for years.
     
  18. Nothinman

    Nothinman Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Supposedly, I was never very impressed with OS X though, hell it's just now getting multiple desktops.
     
  19. Matthias99

    Matthias99 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    8,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    The "kilo-", "mega-", and "giga-" prefixes (from the metric system) have well-defined meanings -- 1,000, 1,000,000, and 1,000,000,000 respectively. A "megawatt" (random example unit) is 1,000,000 watts, not 1,024,768 watts, and any rational person who understood the metric system but not the innards of computers would expect a "megabyte" to be 1,000,000 bytes and not 1,024,768 bytes.

    The 'binary' units (2^10 = 1024, 2^20 = 1024768, 2^30 = 1073741824) are 'kibibytes' or 'binary kilobytes' (KiB), 'mebibytes' or 'binary megabytes' (MeB), and 'gibibytes' or 'binary gigabytes' (GiB) -- but those formal units didn't exist until fairly recently, so most people in early computer science just used the metric terms improperly. Now they're stuck in everyone's heads (and a lot of programs), unfortunately.

    Basically -- mathematically, Windows is wrong, but going by computer science 'tradition', the hard drive manufacturers are wrong (or at least misleading). IMO, Windows and other OSes and tools should change to use the right units, or show it both ways.
     
  20. bsobel

    bsobel Moderator Emeritus<br>Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Messages:
    13,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree it should be shown one way, but I tend to lean more towards the current 'OS' version since we will continue to add power in ^2 moving forward. Everything else (video memory, main memory, etc) is referenced as MeB the HD manufactures should stop playing games and list capacities the same (especially now when the differences are getting so noticeable)

     
  21. Seekermeister

    Seekermeister Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not all in the fashion in which gigs are counted, because my Maxtor 80GB HDs have 2 more gigs than my WDC 80GB HD. Actually, Maxtor called 82GB as 80GB.
     
  22. Nothinman

    Nothinman Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's almost certainly not related to the 1000vs1024 issue and you probably just got some mislabled drives or something.
     
  23. imported_goldlight

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
  24. imported_goldlight

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you!!!!


    All I have been doing for the past month is researching on the internet
    and reading maximum pc and cpu magazines.unsatisfied with Dell and my 9150's
    limitations....I decided that I was going to build my own computer....which I did all by myself....I returned my 9150(which was a long drawn out fight...but I won)and I used the money to buy parts for my new set up.......A new path of illumination has opened up and GOldlight was born!!!!!Lol

    So I found anandtech.com and it was like a mouse in a room full of cheese...a gold mine!!!!

    I have read about over clocking but I want to do it right=====anandtech!!!!!

    I have used many security suites and adware,anti virus',and etc in the past but which ones use less memory,resources,and etc....oh let me look on =====anandtech!!!!!

    I want to learn how to dual boot 2 operating systems on a hard drive======anandtech didnt help me with this one but I researched and found out any way...lol

    Why does my 500 gig hard drive register at 465 gb instead of 500=======let me check on anandtech!!!!!!(I didnt know that I was going to be called dumb for this one...it was a honest noobie mistake lol)

    So as you can see.....anandtech has become my new obsession.......
    a weeks worth full of research can be shortened to a day.....well it depends on the answers that you get.......some answers are good and to the point.....
    some people insult you for even asking a question(lol)......and some people have become so technical that their answers are not even human anymore..lol.Good or bad...I love it!!!!!!

    Has anandtech spoiled me....yes!!
    should I stop researching on my own???No, but there is always anandtech!!!lol
    Do I feel bitter about giving Dell thousands of dollars over the years...yes!!!I'm
    never going back..

    So there you have it......
    And remember before everyone of you became a platinum,diamond,elite member,and etc..
    You were all newbies just like me!!!!!!!Lol

    Happy New Year!!!!!Now I'm going to check out "Hot deals"..lol