32C64T:AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX(Workstation?)CPU-Z screenshot leaks out

csbin

Senior member
Feb 4, 2013
814
4
136
#1
https://videocardz.com/newz/amd-ryzen-threadripper-2990wx-cpu-z-screenshot-leaks-out


Today we have a CPU-Z screengrab showing Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX processor running on MSI’s X399 MEG Creation, which was first showcased at Computex. A source, which provided the material, claims that chip shown in the photograph was provided by AMD (it is probably safe to assume this is a review sample or production sample provided to motherboard makers).

According to the source the screenshot showcases Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX boosting up to 4.1 GHz (Precision Boost mode).

We are yet in the process of confirming what W stands for in the model name.

 

epsilon84

Senior member
Aug 29, 2010
931
104
136
#2
Can see markfw jumping on this one!

Wonder how much it would cost? I'm guessing $1500?
 

wahdangun

Senior member
Feb 3, 2011
992
1
106
#5
Radeon Pro also are branded "WX, so I think it's a "Pro" version of TR2 that will support ECC on special workstation motherboards.
But TR can already using ECC ram, they don't need ex version for just ECC support
 

NeoLuxembourg

Senior member
Oct 10, 2013
672
10
106
#6
But TR can already using ECC ram, they don't need ex version for just ECC support
Yes, it does, just like Ryzen, but not all board support it. I could see some special workstation board specially design/tuned for ECC usage. Combined with special ECC modules with over 2666Mhz , that could be really interesting.

Could also be that like the Ryzen Pro CPUs/APUs, you would also have special corporate stuff enabled.
 

Olikan

Golden Member
Sep 23, 2011
1,882
7
91
#7
This voltage is insane...
 

StinkyPinky

Diamond Member
Jul 6, 2002
6,323
13
126
#8
Perhaps the WX is just the same cpu but bundled with the cooler?
 

thecoolnessrune

Diamond Member
Jun 8, 2005
9,283
25
126
#9
Intel has used the "W" moniker to denote models that were driven hard enough that they could be cooled in 4U Workstation builds, but wouldn't necessarily fit in the typical TDP offered in most 1U systems (like the E5-2687W v4 and its 160 Watt TDP).

While the Server market has now solidly blown the lid off those sorts of TDPs, it might still be useful in a Platform like Threadripper where this chip might denote "new platform only" only something qualified to provide the sort of power delivery I can only imagine something bearing the 2990WX moniker would need (I'd assume North of 200 watts).
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
16,950
373
136
#10
Can see markfw jumping on this one!

Wonder how much it would cost? I'm guessing $1500?
Its already in my plan when it comes out.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
16,950
373
136
#12
We look forward to your review Mark! ;)
Thats exactly why I am getting it. Since I am not sure of the cooling needs, I think I will get the Enermax TR4 system at first, and see how it does. After that, if I run into heat problems OCing, I am going custom water. Already being researched.

My reviews will NOT be about games at all, DC work and a couple of regular benches like cinebench. It won't even have a decent video card, like a 660TI or something. I will try some memory benches. I may get some more 4266 memory, and take that out of my 2700x. Not sure though. At least 64 gig of 3466, probably 8 dimms to be sure as much memory is concentrated.
 

daveybrat

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
Jan 31, 2000
4,894
24
126
#13
Thats exactly why I am getting it. Since I am not sure of the cooling needs, I think I will get the Enermax TR4 system at first, and see how it does. After that, if I run into heat problems OCing, I am going custom water. Already being researched.

My reviews will NOT be about games at all, DC work and a couple of regular benches like cinebench. It won't even have a decent video card, like a 660TI or something. I will try some memory benches. I may get some more 4266 memory, and take that out of my 2700x. Not sure though. At least 64 gig of 3466, probably 8 dimms to be sure as much memory is concentrated.
I live vicariously through you Mark! :p
 

wahdangun

Senior member
Feb 3, 2011
992
1
106
#14
Yes, it does, just like Ryzen, but not all board support it. I could see some special workstation board specially design/tuned for ECC usage. Combined with special ECC modules with over 2666Mhz , that could be really interesting.

Could also be that like the Ryzen Pro CPUs/APUs, you would also have special corporate stuff enabled.

But all TR motherboard certified to use ECC ram
 

ub4ty

Senior member
Jun 21, 2017
749
307
96
#15
Thats exactly why I am getting it.
Question for you Mark. As the owner of several TR rigs, how are you handling the power draw? Did you run new power/breakers? I think there's a cap typically of 1.5kw per breaker domestically. Curious how you solved this problem. Also, how are you dealing w/ ambient air cooling around these rigs?
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
16,950
373
136
#16
Question for you Mark. As the owner of several TR rigs, how are you handling the power draw? Did you run new power/breakers? I think there's a cap typically of 1.5kw per breaker domestically. Curious how you solved this problem. Also, how are you dealing w/ ambient air cooling around these rigs?
You mean that I have 15 amp circuit breakers in the house ? Yes for many circuits, but 2 circuits I did myself are 20 amp. Also, they don't draw that much, 200 watt or so with a mild OC. Its the video cards (1080TI) that suck all the power. I have 2 threadrippers, and one E5-2693, and 2 1080TI's and 2 1080's and one Amd 7970 all on one circuit, as well as the kitchen plugs, and the refrigerator, so power is not even an issue. The other boxes are distributed around the house for even cooling/heating (winter, they heat the house, summer, the AC works better that way)

As for cooling, they all use the Enermax 360 AIO kit, and that also no issue. They all run 50c or less at full load.

Now this new 32core, 64 thread monster, I am not sure, that why I am considering contingencies for cooling, but not worried about the power.
 

ub4ty

Senior member
Jun 21, 2017
749
307
96
#17
You mean that I have 15 amp circuit breakers in the house ? Yes for many circuits, but 2 circuits I did myself are 20 amp. Also, they don't draw that much, 200 watt or so with a mild OC. Its the video cards (1080TI) that suck all the power. I have 2 threadrippers, and one E5-2693, and 2 1080TI's and 2 1080's and one Amd 7970 all on one circuit, as well as the kitchen plugs, and the refrigerator, so power is not even an issue. The other boxes are distributed around the house for even cooling/heating (winter, they heat the house, summer, the AC works better that way)

As for cooling, they all use the Enermax 360 AIO kit, and that also no issue. They all run 50c or less at full load.

Now this new 32core, 64 thread monster, I am not sure, that why I am considering contingencies for cooling, but not worried about the power.
Yes and thank you for the info. The vidya indeed sucks the real juice. I have a TR decked out w/ vidya and a mild OC. It tries to push to a kilo-watt easily when I slam it to the wall. The 20 amp circuits are where its at.
I'll look forward to your 32 core commentary. A very interesting architectural arrangement. If you're foregoing vidya, Have you ever thought of just getting an EPYC setup? Those 16 dimms get me moist
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
16,950
373
136
#18
Yes and thank you for the info. The vidya indeed sucks the real juice. I have a TR decked out w/ vidya and a mild OC. It tries to push to a kilo-watt easily when I slam it to the wall. The 20 amp circuits are where its at.
I'll look forward to your 32 core commentary. A very interesting architectural arrangement. If you're foregoing vidya, Have you ever thought of just getting an EPYC setup? Those 16 dimms get me moist
The most I have ever drawn, was with 2 1080TI FTW3's, and the CPU@4.1 ghz 1,4 vcore, and it drew 900 watts. A 3.9 they only draw 700@1.35 I think it is, and most of that is the video cards. Again, the CPU only rarely goes over 200 watts with a 3.9 to 4 ghz OC, and they all run 100%load 24/7/365

I don't know what vidya is. EPYC looks tempting, but they run slow and are expensive. I expect the new 32 core TR to be ~1500, and the new 19 phase motherboards to be ~400.

We will soon see.

Edit: Thinking about why you would be worried about 1.5 kw on a circuit. As I said, even on a mild OC, they only take 200 watts. I could have 7 of them on a circuit. Its the video cards that suck all the power, 2 1080TI FTW3's @ full load folding is over 500 watts ! So 2 of my TR's, if they both had dual 1080TI's would be 1400 watts ! But the 3 with the dual cards are all on different circuits.
 
Last edited:

ub4ty

Senior member
Jun 21, 2017
749
307
96
#20
Dat box tho...


 
Dec 29, 2015
62
33
61
#21
My guess is WX is for X399 board and 2920X and 2950X are for AM4 X470. No one buying processors for X399 board would care about power consumption. 125W does not make sense unless it is for AM4 boards.

I can dream, can't I? :D
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
16,950
373
136
#22
My guess is WX is for X399 board and 2920X and 2950X are for AM4 X470. No one buying processors for X399 board would care about power consumption. 125W does not make sense unless it is for AM4 boards.

I can dream, can't I? :D
NO, all the models are threadripper, and that means socket TR4/X399
 
Dec 29, 2015
62
33
61
#23
NO, all the models are threadripper, and that means socket TR4/X399
Core i9 branding is coming to Intel mainstream platform. Why not bring ThreadRipper to AM4 to compete?
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
16,950
373
136
#24
Core i9 branding is coming to Intel mainstream platform. Why not bring ThreadRipper to AM4 to compete?
It does not work that way. AM4 is dual channel, socket with 1331 pins. TR4 (threadripper) is quad channel socket 4094 pins. The two are not compatible.
 

maddie

Platinum Member
Jul 18, 2010
2,270
206
136
#25
Don't forget the PCIe lanes.
 

Similar threads



ASK THE COMMUNITY