3 TB HD problem

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by irse, Feb 10, 2013.

  1. irse

    irse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a 3 TB HD and installed it into my computer but only can use 1.99 TB and 742 GB is unallocated and I can't get it to do anything. Is it a motherboard problem? Motherboard and processor is in my sig. Thanks
     
  2. spinejam

    spinejam Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    3,452
    Likes Received:
    0
    #2 spinejam, Feb 10, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2013
  3. irse

    irse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Data drive
     
  4. irse

    irse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. Elixer

    Elixer Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    7,632
    Likes Received:
    18
    Either reformat the HD, or just make multiple partitions.
    IMO, multiple partitions is much better on a big drive, so you can back everything up much easier / faster.
     
  6. Carson Dyle

    Carson Dyle Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    5,532
    Likes Received:
    14
    How is it either faster or easier?
     
  7. dawp

    dawp Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    7,321
    Likes Received:
    17
    #7 dawp, Feb 11, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013
  8. irse

    irse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. Insert_Nickname

    Insert_Nickname Platinum Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    2
    You need to remove ALL partitions before you can convert it... ;)

    Right click on disk -> Convert to GPT-disk
     
  10. irse

    irse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I'll try that tonight. Backing up all my videos on the drive.
     
  11. irse

    irse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Worked just fine. Thanks
     
  12. Elixer

    Elixer Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    7,632
    Likes Received:
    18
    If you have multiple partitions, it takes much less time to backup the actively used partition, than it does the whole HD.
    ie, game partition, data partition, and apps partition, while you wouldn't really care about the games or apps, since you can install those again without too much trouble, the data partition is where you actively use/store things, so it would take much less time to backup that partition than doing the whole drive.
     
  13. Carson Dyle

    Carson Dyle Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    5,532
    Likes Received:
    14
    I still don't understand. Unless you're talking about using imaging to do backups. If you have 1/4 TB of files to backup, whether they're spread across one or five partitions, it should take about the same time.
     
  14. Smoblikat

    Smoblikat Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4,632
    Likes Received:
    2
    What makes it faster or easier?
     
  15. Elixer

    Elixer Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    7,632
    Likes Received:
    18
    Yeah, images, should have clarified.
     
  16. ch33zw1z

    ch33zw1z Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    13,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    How you organize your drives is up to you, moving x amount of data is still moving x amount of data.

    The only drives I have with multiple partitions are my boot drives. My data drives are one big partition. I have 2TB and 1.5TB data drives.