3 TB HD problem

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by irse, Feb 10, 2013.

  1. irse

    irse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a 3 TB HD and installed it into my computer but only can use 1.99 TB and 742 GB is unallocated and I can't get it to do anything. Is it a motherboard problem? Motherboard and processor is in my sig. Thanks
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - problem Forum Date
    Memory DDR2 is causing problems Memory and Storage Jan 29, 2017
    Video Performance Problems after Installing 960 Pro?? Memory and Storage Dec 31, 2016
    problem with my rams.any ideas? Memory and Storage Dec 21, 2016
    Intel 530/535 NAND write problem (firmware update) Memory and Storage Dec 8, 2016
    Problem with HDD - not being recognized Memory and Storage Nov 14, 2016

  3. spinejam

    spinejam Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    1
    #2 spinejam, Feb 10, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2013
  4. irse

    irse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Data drive
     
  5. irse

    irse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Elixer

    Elixer Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    8,599
    Likes Received:
    146
    Either reformat the HD, or just make multiple partitions.
    IMO, multiple partitions is much better on a big drive, so you can back everything up much easier / faster.
     
  7. Carson Dyle

    Carson Dyle Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    6,326
    Likes Received:
    118
    How is it either faster or easier?
     
  8. dawp

    dawp Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    7,384
    Likes Received:
    25
    #7 dawp, Feb 11, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013
  9. irse

    irse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. Insert_Nickname

    Insert_Nickname Platinum Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,771
    Likes Received:
    22
    You need to remove ALL partitions before you can convert it... ;)

    Right click on disk -> Convert to GPT-disk
     
  11. irse

    irse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I'll try that tonight. Backing up all my videos on the drive.
     
  12. irse

    irse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Worked just fine. Thanks
     
  13. Elixer

    Elixer Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    8,599
    Likes Received:
    146
    If you have multiple partitions, it takes much less time to backup the actively used partition, than it does the whole HD.
    ie, game partition, data partition, and apps partition, while you wouldn't really care about the games or apps, since you can install those again without too much trouble, the data partition is where you actively use/store things, so it would take much less time to backup that partition than doing the whole drive.
     
  14. Carson Dyle

    Carson Dyle Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    6,326
    Likes Received:
    118
    I still don't understand. Unless you're talking about using imaging to do backups. If you have 1/4 TB of files to backup, whether they're spread across one or five partitions, it should take about the same time.
     
  15. Smoblikat

    Smoblikat Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4,756
    Likes Received:
    14
    What makes it faster or easier?
     
  16. Elixer

    Elixer Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    8,599
    Likes Received:
    146
    Yeah, images, should have clarified.
     
  17. ch33zw1z

    ch33zw1z Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    14,342
    Likes Received:
    86
    How you organize your drives is up to you, moving x amount of data is still moving x amount of data.

    The only drives I have with multiple partitions are my boot drives. My data drives are one big partition. I have 2TB and 1.5TB data drives.