2x Seagate 1TB in RAID 0 vs 1x WD Black 2TB

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by thetrystero, Nov 7, 2012.

  1. thetrystero

    thetrystero Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    EDIT: this if for STORAGE (already booting off of a 128GB SSD)

    I'm new to this whole RAID thing but from what I gather, it should give me a performance boost vs just normally setting up the two drives.
    How about when compared to the WD Black? Will the RAID 0 beat it? Apparently, the WD Blacks lack TLER so are not suitable for RAIDing.


    My applications are mainly video editing. I am aware of the data lost risks associated with RAID 0, but I'm looking for PURE PERFORMANCE here.


    If RAID 0 is recommended, which Seagate drives should I use? I'm not too familiar with the various models.
    I have read that the Samsung Spinpoint F3 is the best drive to use for RAID 0, but unfortunately I cannot obtain this drive in my country.

    Thank you.
     
    #1 thetrystero, Nov 7, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2012
  2. dave_the_nerd

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11,635
    Likes Received:
    100
    Depends on the drive. You get a not-quite-doubling of sequential I/O performance. Latency is about the same though. Just saying "Seagate" isn't super helpful, since they have oodles of different-performing drives.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/hdd-charts-2012/benchmarks,134.html

    Might be a good place to start if you're trying to find the numbers for a specific model.

    Many types of non-pro (Intel ICH or Software) RAID controllers will circumvent/work around the absence of TLER. I'd probably do that - the random/seek performance of the WD drives looks like it would be noticeably better.
     
    #2 dave_the_nerd, Nov 7, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2012
  3. kleinkinstein

    kleinkinstein Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    0
    My advice is never go Raid0 unless you're forced. Raid is best left to the enterprise. How much ddr3 do you have? If you want pure performance for your video editing then a RamDisk is king.
     
  4. nehalem256

    nehalem256 Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    15,670
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you care about your data do not use a RAID0.

    If you need more performance put the files you care about on the SSD(or a new 2nd SSD) or consider a RAMDISK.
     
  5. thetrystero

    thetrystero Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 16gb of ram so I will be using ramdisk. I already have an ssd for the Os. What I need is more performance over and above that. I will back up the data on to a slower drive so data integrity is not my priority. I'm looking for pure performance. Will a raid 0 give me very much more over just a single black?
     
  6. thetrystero

    thetrystero Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    A second ssd is not an option due to the large sizes of files I'm dealing with.
     
  7. dave_the_nerd

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11,635
    Likes Received:
    100
    Allow me to rephrase my original post.

    "meh."
     
  8. kleinkinstein

    kleinkinstein Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    0
    @ dave'da nerd, LOL!!!
     
  9. Ben90

    Ben90 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,866
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you care about your data, it doesn't matter if you use RAID because you will have backups.
     
Loading...