2970wx build in progress ! Feedback welcome

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,089
532
136
#1
So I have a Taichi X399, 4 x 3200 samsung bdie@3200 (32 gig) and a Noctura NH-U14s up and posting. Running 58c with 2 fans in push/pull. A little high ? but its bios.

The intended build is to start with ex existing Windows 7 build, and see how that goes (on a 120 gig SSD) . Depending on what I find, I may stay there ! Otherwise I will upgrade to win 10 if I have to.
 

scannall

Golden Member
Jan 1, 2012
1,313
136
136
#2
So I have a Taichi X399, 4 x 3200 samsung bdie@3200 (32 gig) and a Noctura NH-U14s up and posting. Running 58c with 2 fans in push/pull. A little high ? but its bios.

The intended build is to start with ex existing Windows 7 build, and see how that goes (on a 120 gig SSD) . Depending on what I find, I may stay there ! Otherwise I will upgrade to win 10 if I have to.
Considering what you are using them for, and how many you've built already it'd be nice of AMD to throw you a freebie now and again. Just need to figure out a way to fill them in on your project.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,089
532
136
#3
Well, that didn;t work out so well.... Windows 7 will not even boot in safe mode. Installing windows 10, and I will have to re-setup everything.... I hate that.
 
Jul 24, 2017
64
1
41
#4
This is probably a stupid question but do you have to use Windows for what you're doing? Seems like if you're going to be locked out of systems you might as well just switch to Linux.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,089
532
136
#5
This is probably a stupid question but do you have to use Windows for what you're doing? Seems like if you're going to be locked out of systems you might as well just switch to Linux.
This particular box has to be windows. Its all my personal finances, accounting etc. And its not a stupid question, linux (like most of my boxes) uses the cores better. I may switch a 1950x CPU for this one, ones that in a linux box, so I don;t lose to much computing power, but for the moment, I just need to get this up and running.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,089
532
136
#6
Well, after all the updates, I got windows 10 to install. Running BOINC@100% and its using all threads, and on this air-cooled CPU, its only 60c ! So far so good. Now tomorrow, I have to spend the day installing all my real apps.....
 

scannall

Golden Member
Jan 1, 2012
1,313
136
136
#7
Well, after all the updates, I got windows 10 to install. Running BOINC@100% and its using all threads, and on this air-cooled CPU, its only 60c ! So far so good. Now tomorrow, I have to spend the day installing all my real apps.....
Keep us updated Mark. I love hearing about you ripping those threads!
 
Aug 25, 2001
42,724
309
126
#8
Very nice, Mark. Love to read these build threads. I've got a thread about my re-builds. I had a pair of Ryzen R5 1600 CPUs in ASRock AB350M Pro4 mobos; I moved the R5 1600 CPUs over to Gigabyte X370-Gaming boards, and moved a pair of 2200G APUs onto the AB350M Pro4 boards. Which aren't, apparently, 100% stable. The 1600s on the X370 are, though, and those will run Windows 7 64-bit too. (I made one of them a triple-boot, Win10 Pro 64-bit, Win7 Pro 64-bit, and Linux Mint 19,1 64-bit.)
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,089
532
136
#9
Keep us updated Mark. I love hearing about you ripping those threads!
BTW, thats 452 threads total. But I have a few turned off when its not race season for the power usage.

Edit: 68 turned off, thats still 384
 

IEC

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
Jun 10, 2004
13,483
213
136
#10
This particular box has to be windows. Its all my personal finances, accounting etc. And its not a stupid question, linux (like most of my boxes) uses the cores better. I may switch a 1950x CPU for this one, ones that in a linux box, so I don;t lose to much computing power, but for the moment, I just need to get this up and running.
I think you just gave yourself the answer... Windows currently handles the WX processors terribly (and judging from Ian's article on it, Microsoft is in no hurry to fix AMD's "support and update tickets" on the issue), so if you don't want to waste CPU cycles when you're in a race or otherwise fully loading all your cores - you want the 1950X in the Windows machine and Linux for all the WX processors at minimum.

Plus... this thread is worthless without pics! :p
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,089
532
136
#12
Well, its not done yet, here is the current state of affairs:
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,089
532
136
#13
unless you are gaming, why not run win10 in a vm?
I have tried it on some of my apps, does not work. (compiled turbo pascal from 15 years ago I wrote for one, run under some other VM type software)

Edit: BTW, the entire system takes 350 watts at full load. Ryzen master says the CPU is at 250 watts. When I get time, I need to check the vcore. Movie time now.....
 
Last edited:

sdifox

No Lifer
Sep 30, 2005
74,214
276
126
#14
I have tried it on some of my apps, does not work. (compiled turbo pascal from 15 years ago I wrote for one, run under some other VM type software)

Edit: BTW, the entire system takes 350 watts at full load. Ryzen master says the CPU is at 250 watts. When I get time, I need to check the vcore. Movie time now.....
what were you running it under? I don't really have issues with vmware and hyperv

Haven't heard Turbo Pascal mentioned since the 90s

You may have to create 16 bit vm to compile it lol.
 
Last edited:

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,089
532
136
#15
News... Its 1.15 vcore and running 3.550 stock all 24 cores/48 threads and 60c with a single NH-U14s ! Impressed with that cooler.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,089
532
136
#16
Latest. I finished it, and put it on the floor. Now its at 53c full load all cores !! And below its not much to look at, but look at that simple cooling setup for 24 cores@53c full load !

Edit: 53c@3550


 
Last edited:

LightningZ71

Senior member
Mar 10, 2017
235
5
76
#17
Mark, What's your average work unit throughput on that 2970wx? There was a thread on the BOINC forums with someone trying to figure out how to optimize throughput on a 2990wx which resulted in a lot of frustration for them. I think they were running into some voltage issues on their board and were having problems trying to find the right balance between the number of threads to run at the same time to get the most out of it as they were finding that loading the far cores was not only generating memory bus contention issues, but also causing other issues.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,089
532
136
#18
Mark, What's your average work unit throughput on that 2970wx? There was a thread on the BOINC forums with someone trying to figure out how to optimize throughput on a 2990wx which resulted in a lot of frustration for them. I think they were running into some voltage issues on their board and were having problems trying to find the right balance between the number of threads to run at the same time to get the most out of it as they were finding that loading the far cores was not only generating memory bus contention issues, but also causing other issues.
Well, as you know I also have a 2990wx, and its running linux. My team mates here at Anandtech seem to think its doing fine. This 2970wx is running windows, do I am not sure, but I assume its doing OK. As far at loading, the 2990wx uses the MSI board with 19 phase power, and I have not seen any issues with loading it. This on is a Taichi, and again, seems fine.

If you have any ideas on how to test these, with specifics, lets me know, I would be glad to run tests.
 
Oct 27, 2006
19,531
84
106
#19
Super work man!

I particularly like how you got a monster under air cooling. WC always makes me feel a little uncomfortable. With outstanding Air setups like what you've done, even total fan failures aren't catastrophic. Haha one time I forgot to plug in the 120mm fan for a CM212 Evo on an OC devil's canyon and I didn't notice for about a week. It just kept on working with ordinary case airflow.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,089
532
136
#20
Super work man!

I particularly like how you got a monster under air cooling. WC always makes me feel a little uncomfortable. With outstanding Air setups like what you've done, even total fan failures aren't catastrophic. Haha one time I forgot to plug in the 120mm fan for a CM212 Evo on an OC devil's canyon and I didn't notice for about a week. It just kept on working with ordinary case airflow.
Well, as you may know, I have had 3 of my threadrippers fail on their water cooling. They just run@500 mhz, and when I replace the cooling unit, no problems, so threadripper works fine with no cooler.
 

LightningZ71

Senior member
Mar 10, 2017
235
5
76
#21
Well, as you know I also have a 2990wx, and its running linux. My team mates here at Anandtech seem to think its doing fine. This 2970wx is running windows, do I am not sure, but I assume its doing OK. As far at loading, the 2990wx uses the MSI board with 19 phase power, and I have not seen any issues with loading it. This on is a Taichi, and again, seems fine.

If you have any ideas on how to test these, with specifics, lets me know, I would be glad to run tests.
How many active DC processes/threads do you have running on the 2990 and the 2970? Are you running one process per available thread, or just per core?
 

Atari2600

Senior member
Nov 22, 2016
711
147
106
#22
What was the rationale with stepping down to the 24C model? Not happy with 2990WX? Wanting to run on air cooling rather than water?
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,089
532
136
#23
How many active DC processes/threads do you have running on the 2990 and the 2970? Are you running one process per available thread, or just per core?
One per thread
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,089
532
136
#24
What was the rationale with stepping down to the 24C model? Not happy with 2990WX? Wanting to run on air cooling rather than water?
2fold. First, I didn't want to spend that much money on this build, also did not have to worry as much about the power on the Taichi motherboard, which I already had.

Actually I also wanted something different, and wanted to see about the cooling situation.
 


ASK THE COMMUNITY