1333MHz vs 1600MHz for Ivy bridge?

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by Goi, Jun 8, 2012.

  1. Goi

    Goi Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi,

    I'm building a new PC for development usage(lots of building of the Android source code for example). I'm wondering if Ivy Bridge requires 1600MHz DDR3 modules or does it still run 1333MHz?

    fyi my build is something like this
    i7-3770 or 3770K
    B75 based motherboard, since I couldn't find any tangible benefits going to Z77 and they're significantly cheaper
    2x8GB DDR3 memory(1333 or 1600?)
    intel 330 120GB or Crucial m4 128GB SSD

    Thanks!
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - 1333MHz 1600MHz bridge Forum Date
    can i use 1600mhz ram on 1333mhz mobo? Memory and Storage Jan 7, 2015
    is 1600mhz ram way superior over 1333mhz? Memory and Storage Oct 24, 2012
    1600mhz vs 1333mhz Memory and Storage Sep 29, 2011
    Can I put a 1600mhz ram into a mobo supporting only 1333mhz Memory and Storage May 29, 2011
    DDR3 1333Mhz or 1600Mhz??? Memory and Storage May 21, 2010

  3. ShintaiDK

    ShintaiDK Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    20,373
    Likes Received:
    109
  4. Hugo Drax

    Hugo Drax Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5,444
    Likes Received:
    3
    1600 If your gonna blow your wad on SSD why not spend 10-15 bucks on faster ram?


    1600 8-8-8-24 (2x 4GB) 8GB 57.99 bucks free shipping. No question, Ivy bridge and 1600 would be the best route.

    G.SKILL Ares Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-1600C8D-8GAB

    I would go for an Asus Maximus V. At least you get idiot proof light overclocking if you want extra horses.
     
    #3 Hugo Drax, Jun 8, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2012
  5. Don Karnage

    Don Karnage Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dont believe you can overclock on those boards so dont even worry about the K
     
  6. Goi

    Goi Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    3
    Cool, I'll just get 1333 then.
     
  7. Emulex

    Emulex Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    9,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    if the chip is native 1600 you would want to run 1600 right?
     
  8. Goi

    Goi Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    3
    So, are the chips native 1600?
     
  9. cmdrdredd

    cmdrdredd Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2001
    Messages:
    25,012
    Likes Received:
    46
    from the specs of the 3570k "Dual-channel DDR3 Memory Controller supports DDR3-1333 and DDR3-1600 memory"
     
  10. thelastjuju

    thelastjuju Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is an absolute non issue, guaranteed..

    You could pop in either RAM speed and unless you are capable of measuring infinitesimally small measurements (ie: the speed of light) you will feel absolutely NO difference.

    You'd have to run an artificial benchmark to see just how many nanoseconds faster the 1600 would be compared to the 1333. :D
     
  11. Zap

    Zap Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 1999
    Messages:
    22,378
    Likes Received:
    1
    Because he will notice the difference between a HDD and SSD, but won't between DDR3 1333 and 1600.
     
  12. Goi

    Goi Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    3
    Interestingly, I can get the Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 cheaper than I can get 1333MHz DDR3 where I am, so I think I'll just spring for that :)

    My final build looks like this:
    i7-3770
    Asus P8H77V (more ports than most mobos out there)
    2x8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 DDR3
    Intel 330 120GB SSD
    Thermaltake V3 Black Edition case
    FSP Hexa 400W PSU

    After currency conversion it works out to about US$805.

    Thanks again!
     
  13. hapkiman

    hapkiman Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    For the most part the others are right- there is no “real” difference or boost going from 1333MHz to 1600MHz (of course timings do effect this somewhat).
    But I can tell you that it is usually advisable to go with the fastest RAM you can get – especially considering how cheap RAM is right now.
    I just changed out my 1333MHz to 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix 1600MHz RAM sticks and now have a full 16GB in my new i7 3770 rig. The good thing about the Z77 mobo’s is that it defaults to 1600MHz automatically and you won’t have to do a thing. Plug it in and it will run at 1600MHz in XMP mode automatically.
    I think I see a small bump in performance from the 1333, small yes, but some because I didn’t change anything else and I use this computer all day long everyday.

    And yes get an SSD. I am so happy I did. Crazy improvement over my Sandy Bridge rig which didn't have one.
     
  14. santilmo

    santilmo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will also be building an IB system soon. How about 1600 over 1866 or even 2133? Will there be any advantages if I use faster than 1600 RAMs? I don't plan on overclocking it though...
     
  15. ShintaiDK

    ShintaiDK Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    20,373
    Likes Received:
    109
    No, see the link in my first post.
     
  16. cmdrdredd

    cmdrdredd Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2001
    Messages:
    25,012
    Likes Received:
    46
    If you benchmark you can see the numbers. If you just do daily stuff and game, no you cannot tell. As I said in another thread, my memory is DDR3-1600 11-11-11-28 1.35v and I overclocked it. I paid under $50 for 8GB (2 sticks). I would be happy to run 1600 11-11-11-28 if it did not go higher with any adjustments. I run it faster because it can, but I would not pay more to get faster memory.
     
  17. godl!ke

    godl!ke Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    RAM is too cheap these days for this to be of any concern. Might as well get the 1600.
     
  18. RAJOD

    RAJOD Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Juju has some sense. Its the OCD in people that makes them
    agonize over ram timings overclocking etc.

    You will feel zero difference if you do its just delusional thoughts.
     
  19. razel

    razel Golden Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,840
    Likes Received:
    5
    I was surprised myself that even in a $325 HP G7 laptop that it's lowly I3 Ivy Bridge mobile processor runs 1600 Mhz RAM at 1600 speeds. The Sandy Bridge i3s ran only at 1333. For kicks I threw in 1333 RAM and it was most obvious when it came to it's graphics performance. No surprise with that one.
     
  20. bleucharm28

    bleucharm28 Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    How many people have those 2400mhz rams, did you notice any difference from 1600 or even 1333? I sure didn't.
     
  21. fixbsod

    fixbsod Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would go at least 1600, the level of returns diminish quickly past 1866 and can often get worse as you loosen timings for higher MHz. But there is definitely a 3-7% total pickup from 1333 --> 1600 and I'll take a 5% performance boost in nearly all applications for $20.
     
  22. CurrentlyPissed

    CurrentlyPissed Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    4
    This, ram is so cheap right now I can't even understand why you would consider the purchase of 1333.
     
  23. CurrentlyPissed

    CurrentlyPissed Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    4
    What is your budget? Are you only doing integrated graphics? What is your graphics solution?
     
  24. onelivinlarge

    onelivinlarge Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    just a thought with my ssd i noticed my 1333 ram lagging behind and causing momentary pauses in the system