$1210.... Stop me from buying!!

Chris2wire

Senior member
Oct 20, 2004
419
0
0
Ok the story is as always my dad's desktop crapped out so I sold my A64 3200/6800gt to him for cheap...

So now I have no gaming PC, just my regular day laptop.

My plan was to wait for Conroe, and if I cant wait then get AM2 since the DDR2 will carry over to future systems.

BUT I CANT WAIT.

After shopping on Newegg I came up with this for $1210 after shipping:

AMD 64 X2 3800 Manchester (Ill kill myself if it doesnt OC to at least 2.5 though)
Powercolor XT1900XTX (A little more money to avoid overclocking and bios flashing)
Asus Nforce4 Ultra
2X1GB Patriot PC3200
Sony DVD/CD drive
XP Home (My license went to my dad with the sold system)
Seagate 80gb Sata2

I already have my 19inch monitor and Antec trupower PSU, as well as case, floppy, keyboard mouse, SB Audigy 2, Logitech Z2300s

But $1200 for the stuff listed above. Should I do it or wait a few more months???

AAAAAHHHH STOP ME!!!
 

1N0V471V

Senior member
Mar 13, 2006
410
0
0
If you want to game now you want to game now. Period. So get it.

But make sure your PSU has adequate ratings for the 12v rail because that card is power hungry!
 

Chris2wire

Senior member
Oct 20, 2004
419
0
0
Well my plan was to wait for Conroe since it will be out for Total War medieval 2 which is the series of games I like best.

But im finding that without games im getting BORED. and the more I read about Elder scrolls Oblivion, the more I want to try it....

Argh.... So frustrating. maybe ill just do it.... Ill give it a few more hours of thought...
 

InlineFour

Banned
Nov 1, 2005
3,194
0
0
you idiot. why did you sell your gaming box to your dad? you should have just told him to buy a refurbished dell.
 

Jules

Lifer
Oct 9, 1999
15,213
0
0
Originally posted by: InlineFour
you idiot. why did you sell your gaming box to your dad? you should have just told him to buy a refurbished dell.

Wow. maybe because he wanted to help his dad out and HENCE why he said he sold it to him cheap.
 

Chris2wire

Senior member
Oct 20, 2004
419
0
0
LOL, you guys are the first to tell someone when theyre doing osmething wrong... and having ppl not say that is tellin me I should do it.

It is nice to think i could play rome total war again, try out oblivion and be ready for medieval total war 2 when it comes out...

I guess ill do it. I feel better now.
 

secretanchitman

Diamond Member
Apr 11, 2001
9,352
21
91
X1900XTX? well...if thats what you want. all you're paying for is the cherry-picked core, so keep that in mind.

but congrats on your new system!

btw...doesnt only xp pro support 2 cores and xp home only supports HT or do i need to go jump off a cliff...?
 

Jules

Lifer
Oct 9, 1999
15,213
0
0
Originally posted by: Chris2wire
LOL, you guys are the first to tell someone when theyre doing osmething wrong... and having ppl not say that is tellin me I should do it.

It is nice to think i could play rome total war again, try out oblivion and be ready for medieval total war 2 when it comes out...

I guess ill do it. I feel better now.

Go for it man you wont be disappointed.
 

1N0V471V

Senior member
Mar 13, 2006
410
0
0
No I do not believe that is the case. You just need a patch for dual core to work properly!
 

Rangoric

Senior member
Apr 5, 2006
532
0
71
Yeah Windows is per SOCKET, not per CORE.

A dual core counts as one socket and works fine in XP Home.
 

alimoalem

Diamond Member
Sep 22, 2005
4,025
0
0
OP, do NOT get the x1900xtx. you have a 19" monitor that has a max resolution of 1280x1024. your x1900xtx would be too much, imo. why not a 7900GT or at most the x1900xt? you can get it for $400 at newegg (i believe) with a $50 off code
 

Bobthelost

Diamond Member
Dec 1, 2005
4,360
0
0
Get an Xbox360 or buy some new games for your old Xbox/PS2.

Take up ballroom dancing

Get a pet

Get a girlfreind (or get two, NO time to play games anymore)

Wait for conroe, you know you want too.