Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-25-2003, 12:39 PM   #1
tart666
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,289
Default Lost DMA tab in ATA controller settings

I just noticed I don't have the "Advanced properties" page for my ATA controllers in my win2k box. All the other tabs are there: General / driver / resources. But not the DMA tab.

Also the "write cache enabled" is now grayed out on the HD properies page.

Any suggestions? I have SP3 with IAA 2.3 installed. Have two HD's primary master and primary slave. Secondary chain is CD and CDRW. Also have a Promise ATA66 card with a lone zip drive on it.
tart666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2003, 12:44 PM   #2
Lord Evermore
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 9,558
Default Lost DMA tab in ATA controller settings

The Intel drivers should be enabling DMA by default, and won't give you the option to turn it off. This usually happens when you use manufacturer-specific drivers rather than the Microsoft generic drivers.
__________________
neochat has fallen...

Tokio Hotel!
Tokio Hotel MySpace

Rule 1 for posting: make your thread title actually mention the topic of the post.
Lord Evermore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2003, 02:25 PM   #3
tart666
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,289
Default Lost DMA tab in ATA controller settings

Thx, i did see that I can tweak DMA via the IAA application.

How about the "write cache" checkbox being disabled now, will that affect performance? And where do I turn it on now?
tart666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.