Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2007, 01:22 PM   #1
strike101
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 31
Default Help with Speedfan Temps

Just bought a new board and etc , Most of the readings on Speedfan indicates it's a bit high , have been running orthos for a few hours , btw.. what is Temp1 ? <- ACPI sensor ?
how do i cool down the ACPI at AUX Temps ?

here is my speedfan temp readings http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/7958/newbh4.png


Intel 2160 1.8 @ 3Ghz ( 333x9 @ 1.365v)
Abit IP35-E Motherboard
2x1 Geil DDR667 Dual Channel Kit
Palit Geforce 7600GT 256MB
2x 240Gb Seagate SATA Drive
Sony 16x DVDRW
HEC Acepower 480W PSU
3x Case Fans 1 Intake 2 Outtake
__________________
Intel Pentium G3220
Gigabyte Sniper B5
2x4gb Gskill Ripjaws
FSP Aurumn Gold 550w PSU
Geforce GTX750i
strike101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 01:54 PM   #2
aceO07
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,488
Default Help with Speedfan Temps

try the core temps program. google it.
aceO07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 10:03 PM   #3
strike101
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 31
Default Help with Speedfan Temps

hmm coretemp seems to be more accurate... the heat diffrence between the two cores is around 10c , when using only one of the core

but i'm still concerned with the ACPI / AUX temps.... reaching around 60c on full load
__________________
Intel Pentium G3220
Gigabyte Sniper B5
2x4gb Gskill Ripjaws
FSP Aurumn Gold 550w PSU
Geforce GTX750i
strike101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 11:50 PM   #4
hokiealumnus
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 332
Default Help with Speedfan Temps

I actually uploaded a config for the IP35-E and have been in contact w/ the author of the program recently. He's in the process of posting it on the web site after we get everything straight. In the mean time, here's a copy of a post from when I was asked about it on abit's forums:

I believe, rather than posting the entire config on here (which would be LONG), I'll post what I changed on mine. Not sure the length of time it takes for them to put the configs up. If you have questions on how to do these things, I'll be happy to try and help.

Here's what I did (and was included in the config email I sent them):

All settings to follow were made for and with Speedfan 4.33 Final.

* Added offsets for both cores (Tjunction) +15, calibrated with CoreTemp, 100% accurate through numerous Orthos runs.
* Added offset -14 for CPU, to reflect Tcase temp plus 1 degree, just to be safe.
* Changed "AUX" to "PWM", calibrated with proprietary abit software (EQ)
* Temp 1 seems to be an anomaly. Never changes from 51c, no matter what I do.
* Same w/ GPU "Ambient" reading, always reads 0.
* Disabled Temp 1 & GPU ambient in display.
* Fans that can be controlled on this MB (SYS & CPU) are controlled from BIOS settings automatically or, if you disable that feature, can be controlled with speedfan.
* After some testing with speed controls, these are the results:

Speed02 = CPU fan header
Speed04 = SYS fan header.

Both are controlled as expected from Speedfan. Don't forget to assign their speed control to a temperature if you enable "Automatic Fan Speed" or it'll drop them to their minimum levels (which, if you haven't changed them, are 0).

Speed01 & Speed03 are both the auxiliary fan headers and, as expected, are read-only with no control.

* Also, the +12V reading is incorrect and there doesn't appear to be anything you can do about it. I just took it off the display. You can't offset a voltage to adjust it. The Vcore and AVcc (+3.3V) are dead on with abit EQ, so those are good to go.
* The abit IP35-E and IP35 are almost the exact same MB with the main difference being the ICH9 & ICH9R SB respectively. The config SHOULD be the same. No IP-35 to test here though.
* Not sure that it matters, but these settings have only been tested on BIOS 12 & 13beta. They changed the way the sensor is read through the BIOS from 10 & 11 (New = Tjunction, Old = Tcase).

-----

Right, so I guess instructions would be helpful.

1. To change your offsets, click "Configure" and then go to the "Advanced" tab. Once there, do the following:

For Tjunction (Core0 & Core1) - In the drop-down menu, select "INTEL CORE at $0 on ISA", click on "Temperature 1 offset" and then, at the bottom, change to "15". Make sure you mark the box labeled "remember it". Then, do the same for "Temperature 2 offset"

For Tcore (CPU) - In the drop-down menu, select "Winbond W83627DHG at $290 on ISA", scroll down and click on "Temperature 2 offset" and then, at the bottom, change to "-14". Again, make sure you mark the box labeled "remember it".

That does it for temperature offsets.

2. Renaming a sensor can be done two ways. One may seem more difficult, but was easier for me. You'll need to edit your "speedfansens.cfg" file in the Speedfan directory you created on installation. I just found and changed changed "AUX" to "PWM".

While in there, I also edited my HD temps to reflect what they were, which is simple enough to do. Where it says "Temperature [X] from [xxxxxx]", the "xxxxxx" will be your HDD's brand name. I just changed "name=HD0" & "name=HD1" to "name=HD0-Samsung" and "name=HD1-WDC" respectively. That way I know which one the temps are.

Also renamed were Speed02 & Speed04 to "CPU Fan Speed" and "SYS Fan Speed" respectively.

The second way renaming can be done was easier than I realized before editing my config. When in the Configuration menu, all you have to do is click on the name of what you want to edit to highlight it. Then, simply click again. It's like renaming a file without right-clicking. MUCH simpler for most folks. (Thanks Master of None)

3. Removing readings from the display is the easiest, which is why I saved it for last. Simply click "Configuration" and un-check the ones you don't want (i.e. Temp1 & "Ambient" (an anomalous GPU reading)).

Depending on what fans you have connected to actual headers, you may see fans running at "0". Just take them off your display until you connect a fan to it. My MB is full, so I see all four fans.

-----

I also edited my "Desired" and "Warning" temps. These will vary by personal preference more than anything...depends on how hard you want to push it. My "Desired" for CPU just reflects my normal idle temp of 35C and "Warning" reflects 5 below what is considered a HOT Tcase, set at 55C. Tjunction Desired & Warning are set at 44C and 70C respectively (44 reflects normal idle temp in my pretty warm room and 70 is again 5 below what is considered a HOT Tjunction.) Same w/ PWM, set at 43C Desired & 60C Warning

In case you want to see the final product, here is a SS of testing @ nominal temps and here's one with them getting just a little warm. Note that I had taken the Samsung & WD labels off for the purposes of uploading my config.

Hope that helps. If you have questions, ask & I'll try to help in any way I can.
__________________
My heat.
hokiealumnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.