Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-18-2002, 05:56 PM   #1
skoka
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 144
Default How to connect cable modem directly to PC - Disconnecting Router?

Hi,

I have cable modem connected to my Windows XP PC through a router. Everything works fine this way. Windows network connection shows up as follows:

Address type : Assigned by DHCP
IP Address : 192.168.123.149
Subnet Mask : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway : 192.168.123.254 (my routers ip address)

Now when I connect my PC directly to the cable modem without the router and reboot XP I get the following network information:

Address type : Automatic Private Address
IP Address : 168.254.226.149
Subnet Mask : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway : (Blank)

How can I make the PC connect to the cable modem directly? I would like to switch between using the internet through the router and direct connection to the cable modem.

Another problem that I have is the network computers (wireless and wired) do not show up in network neighbourhood but I can access them using file://pc-name. Even though they are all part of the same network (WORKGROUP), I get a message that I do not have access to the network WORKGROUP even though I am the administrator.

I would appreciate any help. At present the cable modem / disconnecting cable modem is my major problem.
skoka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2002, 11:49 PM   #2
ojai00
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 3,289
Default How to connect cable modem directly to PC - Disconnecting Router?

A reboot of the modem (unplug power from the back for about 5-10 seconds), and then a reboot of the computer will usually work. Hope this helps.
ojai00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2002, 12:03 AM   #3
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,444
Default How to connect cable modem directly to PC - Disconnecting Router?

Could be a matter of cable, some modems use straight some crossover

Use the working cable that is connecting the Modem to the Router, disconnect it from the Router?s Wan and plug it to the computer.

If your ISP uses MAC authentication, make sure that the NIC in the computer is the same as the cloned MAC in the Router.


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2002, 12:46 AM   #4
orion7144
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,425
Default How to connect cable modem directly to PC - Disconnecting Router?

That is because your Router was giving your computer an IP. Now you have to take the info from your router (WAN SIDE) and put that into your network properties so XP will connect to the cable modem. The cable modem is not designed to asign an IP. There are a few things you need to write down from your router's setup page. Make sure you get the host name, IP, DNS, subnet mask, and gateway then you have to plug them into your TCP/IP protocol settings. I have had to do this numerous times while troubleshooting my networks.
__________________
My heat
My Rigs
Support the disabled
orion7144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2002, 12:50 AM   #5
orion7144
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,425
Default How to connect cable modem directly to PC - Disconnecting Router?

As for your problem connecting to network computers double click on network neighborhood (if its on your desktop) and on the top left hand corner there is a place that say something about setting up a home network (I'm at work and don't have XP here). You need to do this on all PC's in your network that you want to have access to.
__________________
My heat
My Rigs
Support the disabled
orion7144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2002, 12:03 PM   #6
gunrunnerjohn
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,360
Default How to connect cable modem directly to PC - Disconnecting Router?

You can't make a blanket statement that the cable modem doesn't assign an IP, because some do. Specifically, my Comcast setup uses the system setup with DHCP to dynamically assign the IP to your machine directly from the cable modem. I can pull the line from my router, plug it into my PC, and reboot the modem and do an IPCONFIG /RENEW, and I'm connected directly to the modem.

With that said, some cable accounts want you to assign the IP automatically, but disable DHCP. This was the configuration that I needed for @home, and a specific computer name was also required.

In short, there really is not a single answer to this question.

gunrunnerjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2002, 07:15 PM   #7
skoka
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 144
Default How to connect cable modem directly to PC - Disconnecting Router?

Thanks to all those who have responded. With a combination of all your suggestions I got the thing to work.

For future searches and references here's what I did:

The problem seems to be with getting the DHCP server name and hence renewing the IP address.

1) Power Off the Cable modem and the router.
2) Remove the network cables.
3) Power On the cable modem
4) After the cable modem is on connect the appropriate network cable (i.e; either the cable connecting the PC's network card or the WAN on the Router).

This has made sure that the correct DHCP server is detected and new IP address is obtained.

Note: I am using roadrunner as my ISP.
skoka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2002, 07:37 PM   #8
orion7144
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,425
Default How to connect cable modem directly to PC - Disconnecting Router?

Was not aware of any cable modems that had DHCP capabilities. The ones I have worked on do not.
__________________
My heat
My Rigs
Support the disabled
orion7144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.