Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2007, 08:57 PM   #1
sun4384
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Default DVI to HDMI 1920x1200: screen cropped and shifted...?

Just got an L246WP from LG, which has an HDMI input (no DVI). It came with DVI to HDMI cable.
My motherboard is Biostar TA690G (yes, I'm talking about integrated graphics...), which has both DVI and HDMI output.

So, I hooked up the two using the cable, from DVI output of motherboard to HDMI input of LCD monitor.
The issue is that There is a black framed area around the edge of the screen that is not used to display anything,
and in the black frame the desktop is displayed shifted to upper-left, which crops many of upper-left part of desktop.
Well, a picture might be better than words here...
http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/5504/15001655yy5.jpg

Depending on the choice of screen resolution, the black area on the LCD monitor and the viewable desktop area vary,
but I didn't see a fully filled non-cropped screen once.
I tested the monitor with other systems, and there was no problem at all. The difference was that the monitor displayed
HDMI 1920x1200 60Hz as input signal when connected to the other no-problem system, while it displays HDMI 1080p as
input signal when connected to my TA690G. Apparently, there seems to be a signal incompatibility issue here, but I cannot figure out...
BTW, the screen is set to 1:1 mapping, so no stretching or blurring.

I just tried all possible combinations, including
- 1:1 or full screen option on the LCD monitor
- Video or PC option on the LCD monitor
- Full screen image stretch or centered timing option in the Catalyst control center
- Alternate DVI operational mode option in the Catalyst control center
- all other refresh rates in the Catalyst control center
- just all other changeable options in the Catalyst control center and the LCD monitor...
leaving no viable solution...

I'm pretty sure the LCD monitor is not guilty. Any idea? Is my motherboard problematic in terms of H/W?
Is my display driver or Catalyst control center wrongly configured? (BTW, it's version 7.9)
Or is it the cable? I'm waiting for an HDMI to HDMI cable, and will give it a try.
sun4384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 09:12 PM   #2
sun4384
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Default DVI to HDMI 1920x1200: screen cropped and shifted...?

I forgot to mention that DVI to DVI connection with my previous monitor had NO problem at all at any resolution below 1600x1200. Also when connected through RGB cable to my new monitor, there is no problem. I strongly believe that the motherboard or especially the ATI driver is the guilty one... but no idea what to do to get it solved.
sun4384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 09:21 AM   #3
Peter
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 9,640
Default DVI to HDMI 1920x1200: screen cropped and shifted...?

so ... are you driving a 1920x1200 resolution from this Biostar PC at all?
Peter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 10:04 AM   #4
sun4384
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Default DVI to HDMI 1920x1200: screen cropped and shifted...?

Yes, it's ok since I don't play 3D games. At this point I'm very certain this is a ATI driver issue, because when the ATI driver is uninstalled, the black frame disappears (though I can't set 1920x1200). Pathetic ATI...
sun4384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 11:58 AM   #5
imported_i2k
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 118
Default DVI to HDMI 1920x1200: screen cropped and shifted...?

Seems a push to get 1920x1200 from an onboard video card?
imported_i2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 12:35 PM   #6
sun4384
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Default DVI to HDMI 1920x1200: screen cropped and shifted...?

Well, technically it's ok. With RGB cable, it works fine with that resolution. I just wanted digital connection, which that board should be able to. I got an HDMI to HDMI cable today, and will see if it changes anything.
sun4384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 01:56 PM   #7
Peter
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 9,640
Default DVI to HDMI 1920x1200: screen cropped and shifted...?

Quote:
Originally posted by: i2k
Seems a push to get 1920x1200 from an onboard video card?
Nah, why? At work, I'm even running twin flat panels from a single onboard video (one DVI, one VGA). It may sound paradox before you think about it, but for 2D work, shared-RAM video actually is faster than discrete.
Peter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 08:51 PM   #8
sun4384
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Default DVI to HDMI 1920x1200: screen cropped and shifted...?

Ahhhh now it gets weird and weird..........

I switched to HDMI to HDMI cable to connect the LCD to computer. Now, anything higher than 1280x720 does not show up at all, though the cropping and shifting has gone. The weirdest part is here: when resolution is set high, like 1600x1200 for example, as I said nothing on screen. At that moment, if I connect a DVI cable to the DVI output (NOTHING ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE CABLE. THE CABLE IS HANGING), exactly the situation I described originally appears. What the heck........?

Does a DVI port have some sensing capability to know something is connected (no matter what is actually connected to the other side of the cable)?

Another strange thing is that with the HDMI to HDMI connection, when system is booted and before windows starts (like bios setup screen), the signal is set to 1280x1024x75Hz (identified by the monitor). The screen flickers like crazy..... which didn't happen with DVI to HDMI connection. There must be something big that I'm ignorant of.... Maybe HDMI to HDMI is not the proper way of connecting a computer to an LCD monitor?
sun4384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 09:35 PM   #9
BernardP
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,312
Default DVI to HDMI 1920x1200: screen cropped and shifted...?

You don't have a problem with the monitor but with the integrated graphics. I see 3 lines of investigation:

--- Go into your bios and look at options for IG to see if there could be a setting that could cause this.

--- Install the latest ATI driver if not already installed, after first completely uninstalling the current driver

--- Find (borrow? buy?) a recent discrete ATI videocard and install it in the PCI-E slot on the motherboard. Make sure the IG graphics is disabled in the BIOS. Plug the monitor into the new card.

Worst thing that can happen is this is going to cost you an entry level videocard to bypass the IG.
__________________
Antec Solo II, Antec HCG-520, Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3, i5-2500K, Zalman CNPS5, GSkill 2x4GB, Crucial M4 128GB, 2x Seagate Barracuda 1TB, LG 24NS70, Windows 7 HPE 64, Dell 2407WFP-HC
BernardP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 09:53 PM   #10
sun4384
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Default DVI to HDMI 1920x1200: screen cropped and shifted...?

the first two lines were tried, but no difference. The last one might be the best approach of localizing possible causes... well, at least I don't have one... (should have done it if I had one)... Fhew......... now what......? just RGB cable for this big monitor....??? Maybe I'll RMA this mobo first. For the life of me I cannot understand a dangling DVI cable making some difference.
sun4384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 07:12 AM   #11
BernardP
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,312
Default DVI to HDMI 1920x1200: screen cropped and shifted...?

You could purchase a videocard at a B&M store that has a no-risk, full-refund, return policy for 15 or 30 days. If it solves the problem, you'll know it is related to the IG. You can then decide to keep the card or RMA the mobo. There is no guarantee that a new mobo wouldn't have the same issue.
__________________
Antec Solo II, Antec HCG-520, Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3, i5-2500K, Zalman CNPS5, GSkill 2x4GB, Crucial M4 128GB, 2x Seagate Barracuda 1TB, LG 24NS70, Windows 7 HPE 64, Dell 2407WFP-HC
BernardP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 09:59 AM   #12
sun4384
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Default DVI to HDMI 1920x1200: screen cropped and shifted...?

I tried what BernardP suggested: buying an ATI card (with both DVI and HDMI output) and try to see what happens. Well the strange problem of HDMI requiring DVI port to be connected to any cable thing does not appear. So I believe it's MB problem. Then, the shifting and cropping is still there with HDMI to HDMI connection. The monitor says it's getting 720p (or 1080p sometimes) in this case. When DVI to HDMI connection is used, the screen is properly displayed (1:1 full screen). In this case the monitor says it's getting 1920x1200 / 60Hz.

Can anyone confirm that you have HDMI to HDMI connection between a computer and an LCD monitor with higher resolutions like 1600x1200 or 1920x1200?
sun4384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 12:11 PM   #13
lopri
Elite Member
 
lopri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 9,713
Default DVI to HDMI 1920x1200: screen cropped and shifted...?

Only if I had a monitor that has an HDMI input.. I have a Biostar 7050, and the HDMI works with the included HDMI-to-DVI adapter on my Dell 2405 up to 1080P. Is it smooth? lol, no. But It handles 720P/1080i pretty well. (Have a Pioneer BDC-202) In case anyone wondering about the HDCP support of the Dell monitor - that's where AnyDVD comes into play!

But I haven't had any issue with desktop resolution. Then again I am using DVI/VGA input for the monitor..
lopri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 04:48 PM   #14
BernardP
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,312
Default DVI to HDMI 1920x1200: screen cropped and shifted...?

Thanks for following up sun4384.

The most damning thing in what you are reporting is that the connection that should work the most naturallly, HDMI to HDMI...Well...Doesn't. :shocked:

HDMI was first designed for television, not for computers.

At least you have found a way to make your monitor display properly. What model of videocard did you buy? Have you decided what you are going to do next? Keep the videocard? RMA the MB?
__________________
Antec Solo II, Antec HCG-520, Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3, i5-2500K, Zalman CNPS5, GSkill 2x4GB, Crucial M4 128GB, 2x Seagate Barracuda 1TB, LG 24NS70, Windows 7 HPE 64, Dell 2407WFP-HC
BernardP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 06:37 PM   #15
sun4384
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
Default DVI to HDMI 1920x1200: screen cropped and shifted...?

The card I bought is Radeon HD 2400 Pro, which seems to be targeted to HTPC market because I has a dedicated HDMI output. I mentioned that my mobo also has DVI and HDMI output. But one difference I found was that Catalyst control center recognizes both the DVI and HDMI on my mobo as an HDMI connection, while it recognizes the DVI as DVI and HDMI as HDMI on the new video card.

Well, if I have another HDMI source to test my monitor, it will be obvious where the problem is. Now, I'm quite certain the problem is on the signal source side. Anyway, I'll RMA this board, and probably try another OS like CD-bootable linux to see if 1900x1200 can be properly displayed. Then it's ATI driver problem <-which I suspect the most, because when the ATI video driver is UNINSTALLED, 1600x1200 shows with no shifting and cropping.

Thank you for the help, all.
sun4384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 08:22 PM   #16
yzarc314
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Default

I'm having the exact same problem with my L246WP!

My Acer Aspire has VGA/HDMI output, and runs on the Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Familiy. VGA mode works (although blurry since it's analog). With HDMI, I get the cropping and shifting you describe.

The monitor works perfectly with DVI out from my desktop.

Hitting the OK/AUTO button while HDMI is plugged in, I get the message, "HDMI 480i". Strange. The viewable resolution seems to be approximately 1500x1178 out of 1900x1200.

Did you ever find a resolution???
yzarc314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 08:55 PM   #17
Soundmanred
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Czelktik, Uzbenistaz
Posts: 10,624
Default

Last Activity: 03-09-2008
Soundmanred is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.