Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2002, 01:02 PM   #1
rigmah
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 878
Default Link light on netgear RP114 router constantly blinking

I just got a used RP114 router from my friend. I connected my road runner cable modem to the WAN port the the router. The link light on the WAN port keeps on blinking but when i connect the cable modem directly to my PC, the conenction is stable. I tried conecting 2 computers to the router and the internet on both is very erratic.

please help

thanks
rigmah
rigmah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2002, 09:41 PM   #2
Jeff7
Lifer
 
Jeff7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 38,810
Default

Just figured I'd add in that the Link light on both my cable modem and my router are constantly blinking, even if none of the computers are on. I don't know why, but I don't seem to be having any problems.
__________________
.
"Homeopathy is what happened when snake oil salesmen discovered that water is cheaper than snake oil."
Jeff7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2002, 06:42 PM   #3
rigmah
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 878
Default

bump
rigmah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2002, 12:50 AM   #4
Kingofcomputer
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 4,917
Default

check your cable, the link status should be always on once you connect the router to the modem.
Kingofcomputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2002, 09:05 PM   #5
rigmah
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 878
Default

i tried a few cables and i get the same result. I heard something about straight through and crossover cables. which one should i be using?
rigmah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2002, 12:39 AM   #6
Kingofcomputer
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 4,917
Default

the router manual suggests to use the cable provided from your dsl provider that originally connected the modem to the computer, the wiring could be non-standard, so this cable must work for the modem to router's wan port as for model to computer.
Kingofcomputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2002, 04:07 PM   #7
BillZR
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1
Default

I have a Netgear RP114 router which works fine as a LAN but I cannot connect to the internet with it
I am using a Macintosh G4 OS9.2 which I can get to internet when wired directly to cable modem
When i wire it up my LNK light on the WAN port only blinks and will not come on solid

Sounds like a similar problem
Someone suggested low signal strength but don't know how to test this

BillZR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.