Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2007, 04:30 AM   #1
mrrogerz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default DDR2 533/667/800 Motherboard Compatibility

Hello,

I bought a ECS G33T-M2 motherboard and an E6550 Core 2 Duo. I built the computer and I am not getting a post-screen.

I thought maybe it was because I was trying to use DDR2 533 Ram when this motherboard offically supports "DDR2 800/667" (according to the link above).

Officially supporting those bandwidths, is it not backwards compatible to DDR2 533 ram?

Could this be why I am not getting a post-screen?

I've built other computers before, however, with standards changing every 5 or so months, it's hard for me to remember whats backwards compatible and not.

Thanks for your time,

MrRogerz
mrrogerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 04:50 AM   #2
Drexl
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 111
Default DDR2 553/667/800 Motherboard Compatibility

I've heard of this recently. Yes, some boards now will not work with DDR2-533 memory.
Drexl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 04:57 AM   #3
mrrogerz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default DDR2 533/667/800 Motherboard Compatibility

Thanks for the input,

I'm going to run to the electronics store tomorrow and pick up a stick of DDR2 667 SDRAM. keeping my figures crossed.
mrrogerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 05:30 AM   #4
Blain
Lifer
 
Blain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: SW Indiana
Posts: 23,216
Default DDR2 533/667/800 Motherboard Compatibility

Quote:
Originally posted by: mrrogerz
I thought maybe it was because I was trying to use DDR2 533 Ram.
> Post the specs of your DDR2 533. <

1. Your CPU is designed to run on a 1333FSB (4x333)
2. Your DDR2 533 memory is designed to run on a 533FSB (2x266)
3. You'll have to set the memory to CPU ratio accordingly.
4. You should have DDR2 667 to run 1-1 with your CPU.

The memory speed issues are just a starting point.
There may still be some other things causing your no-post problem.


__________________
USA...
Too many delicate hothouse flowers
Blain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 02:20 PM   #5
mrrogerz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default DDR2 533/667/800 Motherboard Compatibility

Thanks for all the input,

Looks like the ram was the problem. Getting post-screen now.

Thanks again.
mrrogerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.