Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-23-2007, 11:29 PM   #1
1landshark
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 140
Default How to change the thickness of Windows taskbar

On 2 laptops my wife uses the thickness/depth of the Taskbar is double the normal thickness. I like a single thickness for the Taskbar and I just can't figure out how to restore it. Can anyone please assist me?
TIA
1landshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 11:53 PM   #2
TheStu
Moderator
Mobile Devices & Gadgets
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Posts: 11,226
Default How to change the thickness of Windows taskbar

right click on the taskbar, and uncheck "Lock Taskbar" then drag it back down to where you like it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
The 6770M can play Crysis 2, for suitably small values of play
TheStu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 01:59 AM   #3
1landshark
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 140
Default How to change the thickness of Windows taskbar

Thanks TheStu, But that doesn't work. It only allows me to hide the Taskbar, not make it a single line
1landshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 07:17 AM   #4
EagleKeeper
Discussion Club Moderator
Elite Member
 
EagleKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bumps west of Denver
Posts: 42,600
Default How to change the thickness of Windows taskbar

The task bar is a sizeable Window.

Put the cursor/mouse on the leading edge carefully until you get a cursor change to a double headed arrow.

Now you can click and resize. The sizing is a multiple of a single task bar.
__________________
F15 Air Superiority Fighter - Never has one been lost in aerial combat (104 kills)
EagleKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2007, 10:37 PM   #5
1landshark
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 140
Default How to change the thickness of Windows taskbar

I have tried this over 100 times. My homebuilt computer works fine. But I have 2 notebooks and I get the double headed arrow and my only options are a hidden taskbar or a double thick taskbar. I try to stop it about halfway done and nothing happens. It just reverts to a double thickness. If I bring it to the bottom, it just disappears.
Any other suggestions please?
Again TIA for the suggestions
1landshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 08:06 AM   #6
EagleKeeper
Discussion Club Moderator
Elite Member
 
EagleKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bumps west of Denver
Posts: 42,600
Default How to change the thickness of Windows taskbar

Which OS - I can manipulate the size on 98, 2K & XP Pro with no problem.
__________________
F15 Air Superiority Fighter - Never has one been lost in aerial combat (104 kills)
EagleKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 09:44 AM   #7
Boobs McGee
Senior Member
 
Boobs McGee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 404
Default How to change the thickness of Windows taskbar

It sounds like your quick launch bar may have been made too big. Make sure your taskbar isn't locked. Then drap the little vertical bar back to the left until it meets up with your actual quick launch icons. Most of the time that will bring the taskbar back to regular size on its own. If not you should be able to resize it.
Boobs McGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 06:14 PM   #8
1landshark
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 140
Default How to change the thickness of Windows taskbar

It's XP Pro and I do know how to do it and for some reason it just does not work on the 2 laptops. Works fine on desktop. One of those weird Windows things.
Thanks anyway
1landshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.