Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-08-2007, 08:08 AM   #1
Aepheme
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 172
Default Must Push "On Button" Multiple Times to Start (!?!)

I've got to push the power button multiple times for my computer to start up. Usually I just mash it furiously for about 10 seconds, and it'll eventually power up. No other problems. In one of my less impatient moods, it seemed like the lights / fans would come on VERY BRIEFLY after I hit the button, then immediately go out. When I finally got it to power on, I had to hit the power button a second time right after that brief interval -- like sending a second shock to the system or something.

Any ideas? My first thought was "bad power supply", but I replaced it -- and I STILL get the same problem.

All that's left to replace is the case or the motherboard. Both parts that are a bit more expensive (and a hassle) to deal with.

I have an Epox 9NPA+ Ultra, Geforce 7600 GS, AMD 3700+, 2x1GB PC3200 DDR, WD 250GB, SLK3000B Mid-Tower Case -- and I've used a Fortran 450W (worked for a year, then had this problem). Recently replaced it with an UltraV Series 500W (a outpost.com free-after-rebate deal recently).

Thanks in advance for any comments!
Aepheme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 09:46 AM   #2
GalvanizedYankee
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,986
Default Must Push "On Button" Multiple Times to Start (!?!)

Check the continuity of the power-on switch with the ohm meter function of your DMM.
Or disconnent the switches wire from the MB and momentarily jump those two pins.
If the system boots the problem is the switch. Contact the case provider for a new switch.
Or install one bought from allelectronics.com. Or use the switch that should be there for
the re-set button. Or set-up the BIOS so one switch can provide both functions.
GalvanizedYankee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.