Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Peripherals

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2002, 06:50 PM   #1
bullion416
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 658
Default My computer restarts each time i turn my cathode light on/off in my computer

I bought a blue cathode light for my computer, and it worked fine at the beginning. Ever since I put my window in my case and mounted the switch for the light, it restarts my machine when I turn it on or off. The switch is mounted in a how i drilled in a 5.25" bay in the fron of my computer. The only things I can think of is the light is causing some sort of a short in the power system of the computer or possiblely draining a lot of power when it is used, therefore causing a big dip in the power of the computer. Regardless, the light is from Http://www.bestbyte.net but the light itself had "PC Mods" printed on the box, so I think it is made by them. What could be wrong and what do you think I should do?
bullion416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2002, 07:32 PM   #2
Cyph3r
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 790
Default



<< What could be wrong and what do you think I should do? >>



Perhaps the fact that you are actually "mod"ing your computer???

Seriously, the only thing I can think about is that you have too much draw from this cathode light thing. Use an ohm meter and measure draw, too much draw would cause a short and restart of your PC. Alternatively don't do these things to your PC! Regards
Cyph3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2002, 10:44 AM   #3
Mitzi
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,775
Default

What power supply have you got? When you turn on the light - perhaps it draws too much power from the PSU for a small amount of time and thus the machine reboots.

Just an idea...
Mitzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2002, 12:55 PM   #4
bullion416
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 658
Default

I have an Antec 300 Watt PSU
bullion416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 09:46 AM   #5
Mitzi
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,775
Default

That PSU should easily be able to handle that kind of load. Are you sure you have wired the light/switch up correctly?

After rebooting, does the light stay on? Perhaps the light is faulty?
Mitzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 02:29 PM   #6
Demon-Xanth
Lifer
 
Demon-Xanth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 20,551
Default

It's probably an issue with the surge current being higher and faster than the PS can react to. Capacitors and inductors can induce high currents when power is first applied. You might try the following:

if the current is known, put a resistor in series that will drop less than 10% of the voltage

put some rechargable batteries on the 12V line w/ a diode to keep it from powering the rest of the computer.

putting a large (10,000uF) cap on the 12V line


Basically: reduce spiking.
It's not the load itself that is causing it to reset, it's the sudden change in load. I have a power supply (19" rack mount, variable 700W linear output 0-20V, 1-35A current limiting) that at one point had a 1 in 5 chance of resetting my computer and stereo when I switched it on. Never once tripped the breaker, but just added a large enough spike to cause problems.
__________________
Heatware: Demon-Xanth
UGTZ: DemonXanth
My ride
Demon-Xanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2002, 10:49 PM   #7
Jeff7
Lifer
 
Jeff7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 38,737
Default

Do NOT put rechargeable batteries on the line. Nicads can overheat, leak, or explode if charged too fast. They can usually be charged at maybe 1/4th the rate of discharge, which is in the milliamp range. The 12V line is in the amps range - that would destroy a rechargeable battery, even a newer NiMH battery.
Give the capacitor idea a try. I hooked a fan up to a dimmer switch, and it refused to spin at lower voltages. Added a 300uf AC capacitor to it. It will spin at almost any voltage now. Capacitors can do good things.
__________________
.
"Homeopathy is what happened when snake oil salesmen discovered that water is cheaper than snake oil."
Jeff7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2002, 04:59 PM   #8
Demon-Xanth
Lifer
 
Demon-Xanth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 20,551
Default

I was thinking more along the lines of Lead Acid.
__________________
Heatware: Demon-Xanth
UGTZ: DemonXanth
My ride
Demon-Xanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2002, 09:33 PM   #9
Croton
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 5,030
Default

is any part of your switch or your cathode circuit thingy touching metal (like the case?)? is it insulated?

that's what caused my fanbus to reset my computer when i flipped a switch.
Croton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2002, 12:13 PM   #10
Studdyman
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 31
Default

Cathode lights only draw about 4-5 watts. From what your saying "worked in the beginning, until I added the window" seems to point to a short of somesort. I would check your wire to make sure that you didn't put any type of small cut in the wire when feeding it in the hole you made. Also check to make sure your connectors to the switch are covered well and not touching. It can't even hurt to put some electrical tape over the wire wherever it it going through metal.

Lastly...PCMods has a small PCU for $14.99 right now, you can get that and run your cathode (and some fans if you want) off that, works great.

Hope that helps.
Studdyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2002, 05:44 PM   #11
MoFunk
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,058
Default

Mine was doing that. I had this plugged into the same line as my hard dirve and caused my system to reboot everytime. Moved it to another lead and all is fine.
MoFunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2002, 10:32 PM   #12
Jeff7
Lifer
 
Jeff7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 38,737
Default

Just wondering, the way a switch works. It isn't a smooth operation when it switches power. As the contacts get close to each other, there might be a sudden surge when they get close enough. That might be enough to disrupt the power system of the computer, causing it to shut down. The capacitor idea might do the trick, as it would effectively cushion the blow.
__________________
.
"Homeopathy is what happened when snake oil salesmen discovered that water is cheaper than snake oil."
Jeff7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2002, 03:58 AM   #13
Passions
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 6,855
Default

Make sure your wiring is sealed and not contacting anything.
Passions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2002, 10:34 PM   #14
ashneel
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 446
Default

i know what you mean my dell 8100 demension restarts by it self i guess its thinking.

just happened to me a couple of times not a serious problem even though its powered through a Surge Protector.

nothing has failed yet but i have warranty a few more years.
ashneel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.