Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2002, 09:01 AM   #1
CZroe
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Newnan, GA, USA
Posts: 14,616
Default Is this CL2 memory? (Markings inside)

When I was on Pricewatch a few months ago, I just scrolled down the PC133 256MB page until I saw the first name-brand... Micron I think. I then visited the site and noticed the same thing except CL2 rated for a small price difference. I can't remember which I picked, and someone here on the forums told me the markings on the chip WILL tell you, so here they are:

Sticker:
M108301A
32*64S13MC16*8M133Mhz

Chips:
0130 1-1
MT 48LC16M8A2
TG -75 E

On circuit:
Module Assembly In U.S.A
MM3420
86986RA
RU (Logo w/ backwards letter R attached to left side of letter U)
94V-0

Thnx people! Oh yeah, and I know there are three settings on good motherboards that you can lower for CL2 memory (Seen as 3/3/3 & 2/2/2 in Tom's Hardware benchmarks). What are those called so I can look for each in the CMOS Setup? Thnx!
__________________
Me too. -Braindead AOLer
CZroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2002, 09:19 AM   #2
Brian48
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 3,410
Default

It's CAS3 (CL3). The "-75 E" on the Micron chip is the dead give-away. I have quite a few of these myself. "-7E" is CL2.
Brian48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2002, 05:18 AM   #3
CZroe
Lifer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Newnan, GA, USA
Posts: 14,616
Default

Hmm, are you sure? Because now that I think about it, I don't know why I wouldn't have ordered the CAS2. I'll have to look up the records... Thnx!
__________________
Me too. -Braindead AOLer
CZroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2002, 05:40 AM   #4
flood
Diamond Member
 
flood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 4,213
Default

Run it at cas2 and find out :-]

75E = 7.5ns = 133mhz
but hey, could get lucky. I have 2 sticks of 7ns ram that do cas2 @ 150fsb just fine. Too bad my network card cant take it :frown:
flood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2002, 06:12 AM   #5
vss1980
Platinum Member
 
vss1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,944
Default

Install Sisoft Sandra and look what it says under motherboard info when you have that memory stick in there. It is usually able to read the memory timings off of the DIMM.

Personally I think its CL3. Usually 7.5ns PC133 memory is CL3, while CL2 usually has 7ns memory.
__________________
Husband:Hmm, aparently when you die you can come back as something else
Wife:Really! I'd like to come back as a cow if I die
Husband:No, you're not listening to me...
vss1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2002, 11:28 PM   #6
Brian48
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 3,410
Default

Usually, but that's not the case with Micron. Micron CL2 RAM has the same ns rating as it's CL3 counterpart. The only way to tell the difference between the two is the designation they've assigned it. As I said before, "-7E" is 7.5ns CL2 and "-75" is 7.5ns CL3. These serial designations can looked up and verified over at both Micron's and Crucial's website.
Brian48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2002, 11:41 PM   #7
Bovinicus
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,145
Default

If you aren't sure then just set your memory timings to run at what the SPD says. Whatever it sets it to is what it is rated for.
Bovinicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2002, 12:24 AM   #8
Kingofcomputer
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 4,917
Default

search the part number MT48LC16M8A2 at micron.com,
you'll get
http://www.micron.com/products/datas...SDRAM&fileID=5
Timing (Cycle Time)
10ns @ CL = 2 (PC100) -8E
7.5ns @ CL = 3 (PC133) -75
7.5ns @ CL = 2 (PC133) -7E
Kingofcomputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2002, 01:31 AM   #9
pillage2001
Lifer
 
pillage2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 14,028
Default

They will do fine at CL2, 133Mhz. Have loads of sticks with those markings and all did CL2 with no probs.
__________________
*Not speaking for Intel Corp*

Homer: I'm normally not a praying man but if you're up there, superman please save me!!!!!!!!

(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
pillage2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.