Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2001, 01:58 PM   #1
Hard_Boiled
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,154
Default Sound Blaster Live! Jumper problem

My friend's sister received a cd burner for christmas, to go in her Dell P3 800. He thought he could connect the IDE cable to the sound blaster live! value for some odd reason, and he sees all the jumpers on the end of the SB Live and thinks it must be an IDE connector. So he removes 2 jumpers that were covered (side note: my sb live value does not have any jumpers covered, which I thought was odd. Dell must have needed some covered.)

Once these jumpers are removed, WinME will not boot succesfully into normal mode. This is when I get the call. So I go over to his house and determine the SB Live is the problem, and disable it in the device manager. CDRW is in there fine now, but my friend doesn't remember which jumpers were shunted originally. I had a hard time searching the net for anything about the SB live jumpers, I think the sets of jumpers were labeled J13-1 and J13-2.

He swears the jumpers were adjacent, so I think I can fix it by trial and error moving of the jumpers, but just thought I'd post this message to see if anyone knows why Dell would have those jumpers shunted on the sb live, and what those jumpers do and why it would cause WinME to crash. TYIA
Hard_Boiled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2001, 04:51 PM   #2
Darkhawk28
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 6,759
Default

A long time ago, the Sound Blaster's did have an IDE port at the very end of the card. No so anymore, so I can see his confusion if he's a newbie.
Darkhawk28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2001, 05:00 PM   #3
BrunoPuntzJones
Lifer
 
BrunoPuntzJones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 14,345
Default

whoa, are you saying that he did connect it? or that he realized it wasnt IDE and put it on the mainboard?

*pulls out his sb live value from under the desk*

yup just a daughtercard connector on mine. ill assume that he did not get it working on the sound card right?

anyways, on my sb live value digital, i only have one jumper (j1) under the r132 and r133 bridge. it's set for 3 (as opposed to 1). no idea what this is for.
__________________
Iraq has been like breaking a lamp in Pottery Barn. You break it, you buy it. Except you have to glue it back together. And you can never leave the store. Oh, and did I mention it was an exploding lamp?

BrunoPuntzJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2001, 08:54 PM   #4
Hard_Boiled
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,154
Default

You're right they are the connectors for a daughter card, which would explain why my store bought SB Live! value does not have any of them covered with a jumper. But for some reason Dell had two jumpers covering some of the pins on the AUD_EXT portion of this card, and these are the jumpers he removed. I called Dell, the tech support lady didn't really help me out much.

Basically he thought the AUD_EXT portion of the card was an IDE connector, so he removed the jumpers. As far as I know, he didn't connect the ide cable to it because I don't think he could have. This is turning into a real mess though because he's going to go back to college tomorrow and his sisters computer is still broken.

I blame dell, why in the hell would they put jumpers on the AUD_EXT part of this card when no other SB Live card in the world seems to have them covered with jumpers.
Hard_Boiled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2001, 09:24 PM   #5
BrunoPuntzJones
Lifer
 
BrunoPuntzJones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 14,345
Default



<< I blame dell, why in the hell would they put jumpers on the AUD_EXT part of this card when no other SB Live card in the world seems to have them covered with jumpers >>

probably to keep people from putting something on there , they probably didnt think anyone would take it off
__________________
Iraq has been like breaking a lamp in Pottery Barn. You break it, you buy it. Except you have to glue it back together. And you can never leave the store. Oh, and did I mention it was an exploding lamp?

BrunoPuntzJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2001, 10:58 PM   #6
WildDreamer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Arizona
Posts: 558
Default

Found this in the SB Live user's guide, don't know if it will help or not:


AUD_EXT connector pin assignments

Note

ADC stands for Analog-to-Digital Converter

Pin* Name********************* Description
1** ** VCC********************* +5V power supply
2** ** VCC********************* +5V power supply
3** ** GND********************* Ground
4** ** AC97CLK************** 24.5 MHz clock output
5** ** GND********************* Ground
6** ** GP_SPDIFIN#2******SPDIF input signal
7** ** GND********************* Ground
8** ** GND********************* Ground
9** ** SPDIFO#3************ SPDIF Out signal
10*** GPO1******************** General Purpose Output #1
11*** GPO2******************** General Purpose Output #2
12*** GND********************* Ground
13*** GPO0******************** General Purpose Output #0
14*** GND********************* Ground
15*** GP_SPDIFIN1******* SPDIF Input signal
16*** GND********************* Ground
17*** SPDIFO#0************ SPDIF Out signal
18*** GND********************* Ground
19*** SPDIFO#1************ SPDIF Out signal
20*** GND********************* Ground
21*** GND********************* Ground
22*** SPDIFO#2************ SPDIF Out signal
23*** GPI0********************* Digital Input (GP Input 0; Reserved)
24*** GPI1********************* Digital Input, (GP Input 1; Reserved)
25*** OUTMIDI*************** MIDI Output
26*** GND********************* Ground
27*** INMIDI****************** MIDI Input
28*** GND********************* Ground
29*** KEY*******
30*** KEY*******
31*** ADCSDO2************* I2S audio data input.
32*** GND********************* Ground
33*** ADCSDO1************* I2S audio data input.
34*** GND************* ******** Ground
35*** ADCSDO0************* I2S audio data input.
36*** GND********************* Ground
37*** I2SCLK***************** I2S serial bit clock.
38*** GND********************* Ground
39*** I2SFS******************* Frame sync.
40*** GND********************* Ground
WildDreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2001, 11:17 PM   #7
Hard_Boiled
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,154
Default

Thanks WildDreamer, I had not come across that particular information. Alas, Dell seems to use a slightly different SB Live value than the reglar ones, for starters pins 29 and 30 are not present. The model number of the Live card is CT4780. This card has some special feature that identifies it as a Dell card I read somewhere tonight, I swear this is the hardest thing for me to find any information on.

I called Dell tech support again, and must have been a little more assertive. The lady who talked to me this time put me on hold for 5 minutes, then comes back and says Dell will send us a new card. She said she had the jumper layout, but it was too hard to tell me over the phone and this would be easier. BS I say, she doesn't know! But, alls well that ends well, a Dell contracted technician will come out next week and swap in a new card, problem solved.
Hard_Boiled is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.