Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-24-2001, 02:48 PM   #1
barryng
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 150
Default Ghost Boot Wizard - not so smart

My goal is to use Ghost 2002 (ver 7) to make HDD images over my small network using a Linksys router. The Ghost Boot Wizard does make a boot disk that will boot and even bind to the network. However, Ghost crashes with a "Application Error 19913, unable to start TCP/IP - Can't find DHCP server" when clicking on "Multicasting" or "TCP/IP".

It appears that the Boot Wizard is not creating a file called WATTCP.CFG on the boot disk. I think this file is necessary to establish the TCP/IP connection and belongs in the root directory. The best I can determine is that two line items are needed in WATTCP.CFG; IP= , and MCTTL=2. IP= is left without an argument because the Linksys Router is using DHCP. I have tried to manually create this file but my manual creations do not seem to solve the problem.

One other question I am not sure of yet. Is it necessary to start the computer to which the image is being saved with the Boot Disk also or can it simply be running in Windows XP?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Linksys refers me to Symantec and Symantec Technical support is all but impossible to contact.
barryng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2001, 02:55 PM   #2
macssuck
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 506
Default

I'm not sure about the boot disk part but when I go to work I will check but you do have the linksys providing DHCP correct?

Also you do not have to start the "server" machine with the boot disk you just run Multicast server within XP but there is an option when making the boot disk to put the dos multicast server on the boot floppy if you ever need it.
macssuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.