Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-20-2001, 01:17 AM   #1
Sir Fredrick
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 4,375
Default cmd window pops up randomly when browsing in IE

Hi, I'm using my parent's computer, which is running Win2k, and I am noticing some odd behavior in IE. Sometimes when I click on a link, or even type in an address in the address bar (but only sometimes...not every time), a cmd window pops up very briefly and then disappears...there's no output on the screen that I can see, although it goes away pretty quickly, so I can't be sure of that.

They used to have CometCursor on here, but I removed that thinking that was causing the problem, but it wasn't...so I'm at a loss. Doesn't seem to be a virus, we're using AVG 6.0 with the latest updates.
Sir Fredrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2001, 09:26 AM   #2
stingray2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 360
Default

it might be that when you visit a web page, it might contain stuff that your current browser can not display, so IE goes out and get the plug-in and installs it. and that might the window you see flash on then off, the install of the plug in or program? anyone else?
stingray2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2001, 02:53 PM   #3
Sir Fredrick
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 4,375
Default

I don't think that's it, the window pops up even when I'm just browsing anandtech.
Sir Fredrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2001, 01:10 AM   #4
Sir Fredrick
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 4,375
Default

^
Sir Fredrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2001, 11:52 AM   #5
bunker
Lifer
 
bunker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 10,577
Default

Throw Zone Alarm on there and see if it picks up anything. Could be a trojan that AVG can't get.
__________________
bunker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2001, 12:54 PM   #6
Sir Fredrick
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 4,375
Default

ZA didn't catch anything either.
Sir Fredrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2001, 02:46 PM   #7
Logix
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,627
Default

That's a really wierd problem. Windows sometimes accesses the command prompt when it's installing a program or cleaning up the temporary files after installation. I have no idea why it would be doing that constantly, though. Maybe it's something left over from a botched installation.
Logix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2001, 03:48 PM   #8
Sir Fredrick
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 4,375
Default

Seems to have been some nasty spyware running on my computer. I ran LavaSoft Ad-Aware, and haven't seen the command window yet.
Sir Fredrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.