Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-16-2001, 03:01 AM   #1
Madcowz
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 2,652
Default Can a Virus create bad sectors on a hard drive?

Recently I have been encountering problems where my laptop would get errors or simply freeze on startup. Well I recently did a surface scan to discover that I have 2 bad clusters/sectors on my hard drive. It said it fixed the problem by moving the files on the bad cluster & rendering the bad clusters useless, but I still can't get into windows. Now it loads & gets past the splash screen and enters what appears to be a freshly installed OS (grey background w/ 640*480 res). A popup displays new hardware but doesn't state exactly WHAT hardware was detected. When I press cancel somethings appears to be loading but nothing actually does. Just a blank screen with a blank task manager shows up when crtl alt del is pressed.
But that's not all... what makes me believe that a virus could be the source of my problems is all the other 'weirdness' I've been encountering
For example, whenever I try using a floppy in dos, copy files or whatever, the disk gets messed up & is rendered useless. I wouldn't be able to read the floppy on any other computer & keep getting this msg whenever i try to access the disks:
"The disk in drive A: is not formatted. Format now?"

Whenever I try to format, quick or full, I get errors... this is totally messed up


In any case I don't know if this will help, but I figure it's worth a try. Perhaps system restore will get my system back in working condition, but I don't know how to access it outside winme. I fear that my problem is due to the bad cluster and system restore won't work, so if that is the case I just want to be able to recover my files. It would be too tedious & I wouldn't be able to recover much if anything if I do it through dos & floppies, but I figure if I can get networking in dos, than it should be much easier... anyone know of any possible solutions?
Madcowz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2001, 07:48 AM   #2
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 23,503
Default

Yes, there is a family of viruses that does what you describe. Here is the run down from the McAfee Library along with how to get rid of it.

virus
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

"We all have private ails. The troublemakers are they who need public cures for their private ails." - Eric Hoffer
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.