Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2015
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Thread Tools
Old 09-16-2001, 03:01 AM   #1
Platinum Member
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 2,652
Default Can a Virus create bad sectors on a hard drive?

Recently I have been encountering problems where my laptop would get errors or simply freeze on startup. Well I recently did a surface scan to discover that I have 2 bad clusters/sectors on my hard drive. It said it fixed the problem by moving the files on the bad cluster & rendering the bad clusters useless, but I still can't get into windows. Now it loads & gets past the splash screen and enters what appears to be a freshly installed OS (grey background w/ 640*480 res). A popup displays new hardware but doesn't state exactly WHAT hardware was detected. When I press cancel somethings appears to be loading but nothing actually does. Just a blank screen with a blank task manager shows up when crtl alt del is pressed.
But that's not all... what makes me believe that a virus could be the source of my problems is all the other 'weirdness' I've been encountering
For example, whenever I try using a floppy in dos, copy files or whatever, the disk gets messed up & is rendered useless. I wouldn't be able to read the floppy on any other computer & keep getting this msg whenever i try to access the disks:
"The disk in drive A: is not formatted. Format now?"

Whenever I try to format, quick or full, I get errors... this is totally messed up

In any case I don't know if this will help, but I figure it's worth a try. Perhaps system restore will get my system back in working condition, but I don't know how to access it outside winme. I fear that my problem is due to the bad cluster and system restore won't work, so if that is the case I just want to be able to recover my files. It would be too tedious & I wouldn't be able to recover much if anything if I do it through dos & floppies, but I figure if I can get networking in dos, than it should be much easier... anyone know of any possible solutions?
Madcowz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2001, 07:48 AM   #2
Elite Member
Super Moderator
corkyg's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 25,388

Yes, there is a family of viruses that does what you describe. Here is the run down from the McAfee Library along with how to get rid of it.

CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

"Ineptocracy- a system of government where the least capable to lead are elected by the least capable of producing, and where the members of society least likely to sustain themselves or succeed, are rewarded with goods and services paid for by the confiscated wealth of a diminishing number of producers." - Merritt Man, 2011
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.