Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2007, 09:14 PM   #1
bgc99
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 456
Default Scan new hard drive for bad sectors before installing OS?

I was wondering how many people scan a brand new hard drive for bad sectors before installing the OS using the manufacturers diagnostic software? (i.e. Seatools for Seagate, etc.)

They claim that if you run the diagnostics and it finds a 'bad' sector it replaces it with a 'good' one and then the drive is considered a good drive. I personally think if a new drive shows any bad sectors I'd consider it bad and exchange it if possible.

If you ever send a bad one in under warranty what you most likely get back is somebody else's 'bad' drive that has had the diagnostic software run on it, bad sectors replaced with good ones and then it passes the test.

Thanks,
BGC
bgc99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 09:47 PM   #2
Kelemvor
Lifer
 
Kelemvor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 16,733
Default Scan new hard drive for bad sectors before installing OS?

I don't but I do let Windows do a full format when it starts the setup and makes the partition.
__________________
Take It Outside!!
Kelemvor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 11:41 PM   #3
Cutthroat
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,104
Default Scan new hard drive for bad sectors before installing OS?

Takes too long to scan for bad sectors, and I have never found one. I'm not sure what the symptoms will be if I ever get a bad sector, but I would guess that Windows will cue me when and if it ever happens, then I'll worry about it. Only times I do it is if I am troubleshooting what appears to be a disk problem, but as I said, I've still never found one.

I thought when Windows found a bad sector with chkdsk it marked it as unusable, I didn't think it fixed it.
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe | Q9450 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB G.SKILL 'PQ' | 300GB Velociraptor | 150GB Raptor | Hitachi 7K1000 750GB external | OCZ GameXStream 700W | BFG OC GTX 280 | Asus Xonar DX | Vista HP x64 | Antec P180
Cutthroat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.