Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2007, 11:09 AM   #1
Montek
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 179
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

I enabled it in Bios and installed driver i got Sempron socket AM2 3400+, though driver was for AMD Athlon 64, it was said on my manufacturers web site that this driver is for Cool-n-Quiet on for my motherboard, will it work for sempron's or i need to look for new driver?
Though it never worked yet, can someone tell me when exactly it starts decreasing your CPU speed, and can you have some tool to notify you about it, e.g. in system tray.
Montek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 11:13 AM   #2
Smartazz
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,128
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

If you right click "my computer" it gives you a readout of the current clock speed of the CPU.
__________________
i5 2500K@4.6GHz, 16GB G.SKILL 1600MHz, R9 290x, Seasonic X850, X-Fi Fatal1ty, Samsung 830 and 840 with Antec 1200.
Retina MacBook Pro 15", 2.6GHz, 16GB, 512GB SSD
Achieva Shimian, Das Keyboard, Logitech G400 and Razer Scarab.
Smartazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 11:21 AM   #3
Montek
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 179
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

I use CPU-Z it always shows same clock even if i don't use pc for bout 10 minutes.
Montek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 11:28 AM   #4
Flammable
Platinum Member
 
Flammable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,578
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

when you use your pc it ups your multiplier. so when your idle your multiplier would be x5
__________________
Quote:
When once you have tasted flight you will always walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward: for there you have been and there you will always be.
Heatware:
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=57111
Flammable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 03:05 PM   #5
heyheybooboo
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6,289
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

I use PowerNow - basicly the same (I hope!) as C&Q.

It drops my Opty voltage back to 1.1-1.2 and the cpu to 1GHz. You don't have to do anything - except execute a program - and it kicks the cpu in gear. If you want a monitor check out the AMD Power Monitor
for a tray icon . . .


Edit: Don't forget to enable C&Q in the BIOS . . .
__________________
"People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because NeoCon patriots stand ready to violate the constitution and do violence on your behalf"
heyheybooboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 04:01 PM   #6
Montek
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 179
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

Oh so it works only when you idle, i think it works when CPU usage is low.
Montek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 04:02 PM   #7
Montek
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 179
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

Quote:
Originally posted by: heyheybooboo
I use PowerNow - basicly the same (I hope!) as C&Q.
Where i get it?

Montek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 04:20 AM   #8
mhahnheuser
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 81
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

Display prperties/screensaver/power select "minimal power management" to let driver control CPU speed. Download AMD Dashboard utility from AMD site and you can see the speed of the CPU change as demand on it changes. Great feature and works very well.
__________________
harna:-)
mhahnheuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 05:22 AM   #9
robmurphy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 376
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

Cool-n-Quiet does not work on my S939 Sempron 3400+, I did try installing it but the CPU frequency never changes. The AMD dashboard software installed OK, but will not run, so I've come to the conclusion that the sempron I have does not support Cool-n-Quiet.

If it is working the AMD dashboard software, or any of the utilities that show the CPU clock speed should show the CPU frequency being raised/lowered. It does this many times per second.

Rob.
robmurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 06:13 AM   #10
lyerx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

go to bios and enable CQ
lyerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 08:19 AM   #11
theprodigalrebel
Lifer
 
theprodigalrebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10,523
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

Install the AMD Processor Driver
Enable Cool & Quiet in BIOS
Choose the 'Minimal Power Management' scheme in Control Panel->Power Options
theprodigalrebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 08:21 AM   #12
nullpointerus
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,326
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

Quote:
Originally posted by: robmurphy
Cool-n-Quiet does not work on my S939 Sempron 3400+, I did try installing it but the CPU frequency never changes. The AMD dashboard software installed OK, but will not run, so I've come to the conclusion that the sempron I have does not support Cool-n-Quiet.

If it is working the AMD dashboard software, or any of the utilities that show the CPU clock speed should show the CPU frequency being raised/lowered. It does this many times per second.

Rob.
IIRC, you must go into XP power management options and select the Minimal Power Management profile; otherwise, Cool 'n Quiet will remain unused despite having the proper driver installed and BIOS option enabled.
nullpointerus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 08:53 AM   #13
jbass
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 148
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

It works at all times. I rarely see the full 2.4Ghz when using cool-n-quiet. At idle I see ~1Ghz and under load it fluctuates between 1.8 and 2.1. Not sure what it would take to bring it to full speed.
jbass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 11:16 PM   #14
Montek
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 179
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

Quote:
Originally posted by: mhahnheuser
Display prperties/screensaver/power select "minimal power management" to let driver control CPU speed.
Right it started to work when i did this, strange why this isnt listed in motherboard manual.

But i got some peoblem, it said that C&Q will slow down CPU clock and cooler, though i only noticed CPU slowing down, cooler (amd stock one) still works at 3200 RPM all the time.

P.S. In bios i set CPU Cooler config - 4 pins, and enabled C&Q, there was also some fan limiting settings, but i think they work apart from C&Q cuz i remember having it on older motherboard that had no C&Q, so i didn't enabled it,
Montek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 06:22 AM   #15
robmurphy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 376
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

There is no option in the BIOS for CnQ, as its a HP machine. The other HP machine with the original HP BIOS runs CnQ fine on an X2 4600 without any setting up in the BIOS, so if it does need BIOS support then HP have enabled it by default. Both machines have the MSI 7184 motherboard.

I have tried the minimal power managment, but again it makes no difference. The reason CnQ does not work on the 3400+ S939 sempron is that the CPU does not support it. For CnQ to work the CPU needs to support it. The 3200 and 3800 S939 athlons support it, as do the X2 4600s fitted in the other HP machines. With those processors it works fine.

Rob.

robmurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 10:43 PM   #16
Montek
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 179
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

Is it okay that its jumping each second i using one program and its constantly use cpu, so my Q&C jumps on and off each second and voletage jumps up and down same with multipier, is it okay if it do this for hour or night or week, can there be some potential problems because of constant changing of voletage and multiplier?
Montek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 12:00 AM   #17
Montek
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 179
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

So for cooler speed, shouldnt CnQ control fan speed as well?
Montek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 10:16 PM   #18
Smartazz
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,128
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

Quote:
Originally posted by: Montek
Is it okay that its jumping each second i using one program and its constantly use cpu, so my Q&C jumps on and off each second and voletage jumps up and down same with multipier, is it okay if it do this for hour or night or week, can there be some potential problems because of constant changing of voletage and multiplier?
That's a very good question.
__________________
i5 2500K@4.6GHz, 16GB G.SKILL 1600MHz, R9 290x, Seasonic X850, X-Fi Fatal1ty, Samsung 830 and 840 with Antec 1200.
Retina MacBook Pro 15", 2.6GHz, 16GB, 512GB SSD
Achieva Shimian, Das Keyboard, Logitech G400 and Razer Scarab.
Smartazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 11:57 PM   #19
bigpow
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 2,342
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

I thought CPU Fan speed was directly related to CPU temp - not CPU speed?
Indirectly, if the CPU speed is low - then the CPU temp is low too, hence lower Fan speed?
__________________
[ 2500K for Lightroom - 2400s for HTPC ]
bigpow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 02:17 AM   #20
cubby1223
Lifer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 11,056
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

I find it's just hit or miss whether Cool-n-Quiet works or not. Usually does. But when it doesn't work on a plain install of XP, no amount of drivers, power settings, bios settings, etc. do anything to get it working properly. My personal computer has an ASRock board with the ULi chipset and it worked immediately. Another computer here has an MSI board with the ATI chipset and CnQ will not kick in ever. I've tried all "solutions" around the internet. Same deal when I build computers for other people, some work, others don't.


Quote:
Originally posted by: Montek
So for cooler speed, shouldnt CnQ control fan speed as well?
Nope, CnQ has nothing to do with fan speed. If the bios supports smart fan control, it is based solely on temperature, as it ought to be.
cubby1223 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2007, 05:04 AM   #21
Montek
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 179
Default AMD Cool-n-Quiet how it works?

Quote:
Originally posted by: Montek
So for cooler speed, shouldnt CnQ control fan speed as well?
Nope, CnQ has nothing to do with fan speed. If the bios supports smart fan control, it is based solely on temperature, as it ought to be.[/quote]

Hmm then other question my AMD Sempron 64 3400+ seems to always be about 30C when idle, isnt this to low for AMD cpu, so perhaps temperature reports wrongly or it can be because i installed it less than week ago and thermal paste is still fresh (usually it cools better bout until dry's up)?
Montek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.