Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2001, 03:31 PM   #1
JohnBlack007
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 110
Default

I have two pc's connected to a cable modem using a linksys switch. For some reason every few hours or so my IP address will change to an IP autoconfiguration address in WINIPCFG and I'll lose my DNS servers. Usually I can just fix this by pressing the renew button, but this is getting annoying. Anyone ever have this problem and know what's up? Thanks.
JohnBlack007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2001, 03:45 PM   #2
Shadow07
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,200
Default

Is the Linksys a Broadband Router, or truely a switch? Are the IP addresses public (coming from your ISP) or private with your own internal DHCP server?

Also, check the Lease Time when you run WINIPCFG /ALL. Check to see that the time is not hours, but days. If the Lease Time is set to hours, then you have a problem. Well, a problem if your DHCP server is your own. If not, then your ISP has set the Lease Time too low. I would call your ISP and find out.
Shadow07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2001, 04:03 PM   #3
JohnBlack007
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 110
Default

i have the switch that comes with the linksys switched network in a box. the lease expires every 3 hours. i'm going to try hooking up one computer to the cable modem for a day and see if this continues.
JohnBlack007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2001, 07:34 PM   #4
Shadow07
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,200
Default

Then, you should contact your ISP and ask them why the lease expiration is so low. Connecting it directly to your cable router(modem) won't do anything to improve this.

Contact your ISP and ask them why.
Shadow07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.