Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Power Supplies

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-28-2007, 11:26 AM   #1
NeoPTLD
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,481
Default Got an APC Smart-UPS? Measure real power with it.

When people are shopping for PC power supplies, most of them look at watts and maybe brands. While the max power is important, its important to know how much power you're really using in steady state for sizing UPS.

If you already have an APC Smart-UPS, you can measure power with it. It's difficult to measure AC power. Before you say, Volt x amps = watts, let me say this only applies to DC.

All but heaters and regular light bulbs need more sophisticated to calculate wattage.
To measure the REAL power, you need to figure out the area of the product of voltage times the current and average it over time(every sec or so). A power analyzer takes both measurements and calculate the answer and give it to you in real time. They do it digitally or with an analog integrator. Simply put, you can't do it with your multimeter. You can't even measure the current(amps) of a computer power supply unless your meter is a true RMS type.

VA = volts * amps
Watts = volts * amps * power factor, in the case of computers, this is roughly 2/3.

Ok, so you've got a SmartUPS.. Let's say your model is SUA750, which is rated at 500W/750VA. Connect it to a computer with a serial cable. If you don't have one, buy one from APC or make one. You just ought to cut a straight through serial cable (9pin type) and rearrange three wires.

UPS(male connector)<-->PC(female connector)
2-2
1-3
9-5

Open HyperTerminal
Use 2400 bps
Flow control Xon/Xoff
leave everything the default.

enter shift-Y to activate communication port.
enter shift-P and you'll get a true power reading percent.

So, if this reads "45.2", it means your wattage load is 45.2% of the SmartUPS' rated capacity. If you have a 750VA/500W UPS, you would multiply 0.452 and 500 to get 226W load.

I suggest you size the UPS to be around twice the combined idle power of all the devices you want to have on battery backup. This ensures you get a good runtime and prevent the UPS from overloading should the power go out while your computer is heavily pushed with games and such.
NeoPTLD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 11:29 AM   #2
Zepper
Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finger Lakes area NY
Posts: 18,998
Default Got an APC Smart-UPS? Measure real power with it.

Much easier to get a Kill A Watt meter (currently on special for Newegg members). Use to specify UPSes, etc.

.bh.
Zepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 11:31 AM   #3
NeoPTLD
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,481
Default Got an APC Smart-UPS? Measure real power with it.

Quote:
Originally posted by: Zepper
Much easier to get a Kill A Watt meter (currently on special for Newegg members). Use to specify UPSes, etc.

.bh.
That's true, but for those who already have a Smart UPS, this is a feature worth exploiting. All it takes is a serial cable.
NeoPTLD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 11:39 AM   #4
Modelworks
Lifer
 
Modelworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 16,237
Default Got an APC Smart-UPS? Measure real power with it.

Or you can go to the apc web site and download the powerchute software.
It will tell you remaining run time, voltage input, ups load, etc.
Mine currently reads.

AC utility power
100% battery
Charged
Self test passed 6/25/2007
119 volts input
270 watts current load.
18 minutes remaing run time. (currently wrong for my ups since I have multiple batteries attached, I have about 2 hours runtime, it bases run time on what the original battery size would be capable of)

Modelworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 12:23 PM   #5
KeithTalent
Administrator
Elite Member
 
KeithTalent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: London Fields
Posts: 43,318
Default Got an APC Smart-UPS? Measure real power with it.

Cool, thanks. I never think of my UPS, it just sits there doing its thing, but I would like to see exactly some the stuff going on there.

Cheers,
KT
__________________
My Top 100 Films of ALL TIME (currently)
Co-Founding Member of the Official Post-Signers Club
Movie thread Pt. 2:
KeithTalent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 03:26 PM   #6
TungFree
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,619
Default Got an APC Smart-UPS? Measure real power with it.

So there is no way of ball parking say 2 hard drives, 2 DVD burners, and a video card/motherboard?
is an LCD monitor drawing power from the power supply? or just the Power protection with battery backup?

How do you become a New Egg member, I bought their video card is that what it takes?
__________________
Intel Pentium III Xeon 3166 Mhz
Gigabyte Motherboard GA-EP45-UD3L
3.582 gig Kingston Ram 800Mhz
Antec EA500 EarthWatts series 500W Power Supply
SAMSUNG HD501LJ 500GB SATA 7200 RPM
ZEROtherm BTF90 Copper CPU Cooler
SAMSUNG SH-S203B/BEBN 20X SATA DVD Burner
Raptor WD740ADFD 74GB
Gigabyte GZ-FA1CA-ASB 3D Aurora 570 Aluminum Full Tower Case
TungFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 03:47 PM   #7
Zepper
Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finger Lakes area NY
Posts: 18,998
Default Got an APC Smart-UPS? Measure real power with it.

No, you sign up and start receiving their sale flyers by email. Here's the sign up link:
http://email.newegg.com/a/hBGg...jBOHsUMA44Mvms4/nweg20 Here is the code for the Kill A Watt (only works for members): EMC621DPSIN And here is the link to the KAW: http://email.newegg.com/a/hBGe...jBODngEA44Mvmqn/nweg28 .

You might want to get a short 3-wire extension cord (like the ones they sell to use with large wall-warts) to use with it so it doesn't block the whole outlet.

oops, the deal ended yesterday (June 27). Sorry... But they have it on the deals quite often so it'll be back soon


.bh.
Zepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 09:34 PM   #8
NeoPTLD
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,481
Default Got an APC Smart-UPS? Measure real power with it.

Quote:
Originally posted by: TungFree
So there is no way of ball parking say 2 hard drives, 2 DVD burners, and a video card/motherboard?
Not really. Optical drives use most of their power while spinning up the disc to some 10,000RPM and I'd give it around 25W during spin up. About 20W for each. They really don't sustain this kind of power usage though.

Video card, CPU and motherboards differ drastically between types and you can't guestimate it.

Quote:
is an LCD monitor drawing power from the power supply? or just the Power protection with battery backup?
Not from power supply. It's from the outlet.



NeoPTLD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.