Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-19-2001, 02:34 PM   #1
Shack70
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: York, Pa
Posts: 2,152
Default

I have a 4 port Linksys router hooked up to my cable modem and this is great, but is there any way to make it so i can add soemthing to the network for my laptop to be used thoughout the house on a wireless connection. This would be for sharing info with other PCs in the house and surfing the net. Gaming would be nice, but I think I am asking too much for that! I know they make wireless routers now, but I don't need the whole system to be wireless, just one or two connections....

Thanks for any info in advance!
Shack70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2001, 02:42 PM   #2
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,492
Default


Get an Access point.

It plugs to one of your Router's Port, and act as a Wireless switch for more then 200 computers, provided that these computers are equipped with Wireless Cards.

Example for a set of A/P and Wireless Card.

http://www.us.buy.com/retail/product...32&loc=101
__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2001, 02:47 PM   #3
Eug
Lifer
 
Eug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 18,002
Default

Yep, works great with a plain access point. It acts as an Ethernet to wireless bridge and it is very simple to setup.
__________________

OS X: 27" iMac Core i7 870 | 13" MacBook Pro C2D 2.26 P8400 + SSD | 13" MacBook C2D 2.4 T8300 + SSD
iOS: iPad 2 | iPhone 5s
Windows: X3400 Athlon II X3 435 | 11.6" 1810TZ Pentium SU4100 + SSD | Revo R3610 Atom 330 + SSD
Android: Nexus 7 (2012)
Eug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2001, 02:57 PM   #4
Shack70
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: York, Pa
Posts: 2,152
Default

coolio! Thanks for the info and fast responces!
Shack70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.