Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Cases & Cooling

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-08-2007, 03:21 PM   #1
Sheninat0r
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 452
Default parallel watercooling loop?

the only watercooling loops ive seen around are series ones, where all the parts are attached in a row. i was wondering if it was possible to use t- or y-splitters to make a parallel loop so that each component gets cool water straight from the pump, and then using more y-splitters to re-join the tubing before it enters the radiator. this kind of setup would be especially helpful for me because my next rig is going to be sli 8800 gtx or ultras and a core 2 extreme qx6800.. so... can i make a parallel wc loop?
__________________
...with a crowbar.
Sheninat0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 03:38 PM   #2
IceRedwing
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: West Los Angeles
Posts: 2,669
Default parallel watercooling loop?

you want the order to go from pump y- that splits to the CPU and GPU (SLI) then rejoin into 1 radiator? or to separate radiators? Cause the way I am visualizing it, if it is just 1 radiator, wouldn't the temperatures be the same as if in series since the loop is being cooled by the same radiator? i am curious how the flow will be like on the separate routes in the GPU and CPU since the length the GPU loop will be longer with an SLI setup. I thought people only separated loops if they wanted to control the flow on particularl parts, IE if some blocks are more efficient with lower flow rates and etc.

The parallel loops I've seen involved splitting using a Y- into 2 radiators, but the length traveled from the Y that splits to the Y that reconnects was close so that the flow was consistent in the loop. I'm not sure how much better it is either since I've yet to see the changes on temp (using the same equipment) from a series to parallel
__________________
Silverstone TJ07 Temjin: || Black Beauty Project || -- In-Progress --

Asus G74: i7-2630QM | Corsair 16GB DDR3-1333 | OCZ Agility 3 240GB SSD | Samsung 750GB | Nvidia 560M

Samsung Series 9: i5 2467M | Kingston HyperX 8GB DDR3-1866 | Samsung 120GB SSD | Intel HD 3000

<( Heatware )>
IceRedwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 03:51 PM   #3
Sheninat0r
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 452
Default parallel watercooling loop?

im thinking the temps should be different because the water that flows to each component hasn't picked up any heat from any of the other components, but the temperature of the water going to the (single) radiator would be the same... or is the length of the branches too long so that the flow would be uneven in each branch?

man, i need to make a picture.
__________________
...with a crowbar.
Sheninat0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 03:58 PM   #4
IceRedwing
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: West Los Angeles
Posts: 2,669
Default parallel watercooling loop?

yeah i know what you mean. But under load, I would assume that the temperature of the water will eventually stabilize to a particular temperature, where the difference between the blocks and the water is smaller therefore hardly a difference.

I would assume the better way to cool the parts is if the radiators are in parallel, because the rate of flow slows down in both radiators since it is split. The water stays in the radiators longer so they are cooler and then they rejoin so flow isn't hindered (assuming of course that the length of distance between the radiators and both y- junctions are identical
__________________
Silverstone TJ07 Temjin: || Black Beauty Project || -- In-Progress --

Asus G74: i7-2630QM | Corsair 16GB DDR3-1333 | OCZ Agility 3 240GB SSD | Samsung 750GB | Nvidia 560M

Samsung Series 9: i5 2467M | Kingston HyperX 8GB DDR3-1866 | Samsung 120GB SSD | Intel HD 3000

<( Heatware )>
IceRedwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 05:13 PM   #5
tylerdustin2008
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,434
Default parallel watercooling loop?

You wanting one of these? Picture

I would think that it would work, the video cards would run a bit cooler. And no matter how you do it, it will not make more heat, and this is because you still have the same hardware in the loop.


Tyler
__________________
Life's a bi***
You marry one.
And then you die.
Win some, lose some eh?
tylerdustin2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 06:04 PM   #6
SinfulWeeper
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 4,502
Default parallel watercooling loop?

Why not just go more simple? There are plenty of pumps that have multiple outlets. Goto our local aquarium store. You should be able to find a vast array of them provided they are a "decent" store.
__________________
115-0-0 Heatware

SinfulWeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 06:09 PM   #7
tylerdustin2008
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,434
Default parallel watercooling loop?

That will run into more money. And it is allot easier to buy Y's and etc to split the loop, if you already have everything.
__________________
Life's a bi***
You marry one.
And then you die.
Win some, lose some eh?
tylerdustin2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 06:22 PM   #8
SinfulWeeper
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 4,502
Default parallel watercooling loop?

The price difference is negligible unless your buying the pumps from a computer store. Tubing is dirt cheap. Most waterblocks come with fittings. So that point is moot. All in all it should only cost $5-$20 more if you do your shopping right. Plus not to mention at a aquarium shop, you likely can see the pumps in action so you can tell if your getting a good performer and desired noise. Problem with Y fittings I seen in automotive stuff is they tend to leak from some small over tightening cause most are made of cheap plastic. With multiple outlet pumps, that risk is totally eliminated and you only have to worry about overtightening the fitting on the block. Seems at a worst case senario ($20) more is better then frying a few hundred in computer parts.
__________________
115-0-0 Heatware

SinfulWeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 06:36 PM   #9
tylerdustin2008
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,434
Default parallel watercooling loop?

You are forgetting that pumps are made for water cooling mainly for the noise. Plus performance, also most if not all aquarium pumps are 115/220v depending on where you live. No one really wants to use one unless they really need it. Leaks? You wont have any if you do it correctly. Frying hardware...well thats not going to happen if you have a $2k computer, why? Well if you have that kind of money you are going to take your time in setting it up. Even if you have a cheaper computer you will still take your time, if your not taking your time that might because you know what you are doing. I would just go with Y's mainly because it will be cheaper, and others pumps may have way to much heat dump. Aigo on the other had has a very powerful pump which can dump some heat, but he has it under volted and a rad to dissipate the heat. So other pump....NO
__________________
Life's a bi***
You marry one.
And then you die.
Win some, lose some eh?
tylerdustin2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 07:06 PM   #10
SinfulWeeper
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 4,502
Default parallel watercooling loop?

The amperage on those pumps is generally run less then 1amp for those 115/120. So the cost in power would be the same as a 12v pump running 3 or more amps plus the inheritly inefficient flaw of converting 115/120v to 12v DC with power supplies. There will be exceptions to this, but the price in power is basically the same. Unforunately yes, those Y splitters are very dangerous. It might work well on test after you made sure there are no leaks. But then when you goto install one might unintentialy overtighten the clamp and put micro cracks in the splitters. You might not even see the leak right away. On the other note, in order to avoid that crack, one might not tighten the hose enough and get a leak that way which will not be seen till the power button is hit. Gawd forbid if it leaks onto the computers guts.

All this is bickering is pointless tho. Watercooling no matter how careful of a job is done is vastly more dangerous for a computer then air cooling. That said, the rewards are worth it, but by spending that mere $5-$20 more, one is left with far less possibilities for things going wrong. And $5-$20 more for anyone doing water cooling will not come remotely close to making or breaking their wallet, or else they would go with air cooling. Why not just take some risk out? You might be an excellent driver, heck, maybe even the best in the entire world bar none. Does not mean you don't get auto insurance?
__________________
115-0-0 Heatware

SinfulWeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 07:14 PM   #11
tylerdustin2008
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,434
Default parallel watercooling loop?

Yea, true thats why i use zip ties with a zip tie gun. And use smaller tubing, like 7/16 on 1/2 barbs. Also frying is not going to happen with distilled water, or other more expensive coolants. If would be better to try barbs and if it does not work then you are not out of allot of money. But if the pump does not work, well then you are out of $80+. Yes the back and forth really gets no where, but what else are we going to do?
__________________
Life's a bi***
You marry one.
And then you die.
Win some, lose some eh?
tylerdustin2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 01:21 AM   #12
aigomorla
Cases & Cooling
Moderator
 
aigomorla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Out Singing in the Rain~
Posts: 14,795
Default parallel watercooling loop?

im not going to say a word about this.

All i have to say, is if you dont know the mechanics of fluid dynamics. As well as the properties in which h2o cools the blocks.

DONT DO PARALELL.


If your still insistant on it, go on Xtremesystems.org/forums Under liquid cooling and do some research. But im telling you right now, Its not all as easy as you might think it is.
__________________
Have a watercooling question?
Newbies Guide to H20 Coolingl

Anandtech Case and Cooling Moderator
Anandtech's Watercooling God err Mod.
aigomorla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 08:55 AM   #13
SparkyJJO
Lifer
 
SparkyJJO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 12,184
Default parallel watercooling loop?

Parallel is not a good idea usually. If you have a very non-restrictive block (say the D-tek fuzion CPU block) and a more restrictive GPU block (a fullcover block for instance) you will get much more flow through the non-restrictive one than the other, and the temps will suffer on the restrictive block.

The ONLY time parallel is useful is with radiators. If you have two radiators in your loop you can put them in parallel. Works best if they are identical rads. Besides rads though, parallel through anything else is not recommended, and most still do series with the rads.

So yeah, don't do parallel. Besides the performance issues, it would be extremely messy and cluttered in comparison to series.
__________________
Heatware

CO2 is evil. Stop breathing

"I have never understood why it is greed to want to keep the money that you've earned, but not greed to want to take somebody else's money." - Thomas Sowell
SparkyJJO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 10:48 AM   #14
aigomorla
Cases & Cooling
Moderator
 
aigomorla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Out Singing in the Rain~
Posts: 14,795
Default parallel watercooling loop?

Quote:
Originally posted by: SparkyJJO
Parallel is not a good idea usually. If you have a very non-restrictive block (say the D-tek fuzion CPU block) and a more restrictive GPU block (a fullcover block for instance) you will get much more flow through the non-restrictive one than the other, and the temps will suffer on the restrictive block.

The ONLY time parallel is useful is with radiators. If you have two radiators in your loop you can put them in parallel. Works best if they are identical rads. Besides rads though, parallel through anything else is not recommended, and most still do series with the rads.

So yeah, don't do parallel. Besides the performance issues, it would be extremely messy and cluttered in comparison to series.
^ is also a XS member, so he knows. LOL


im naekuh overthere sparky.
__________________
Have a watercooling question?
Newbies Guide to H20 Coolingl

Anandtech Case and Cooling Moderator
Anandtech's Watercooling God err Mod.
aigomorla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 11:17 AM   #15
ChefJoe
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,506
Default parallel watercooling loop?

Quote:
Originally posted by: SparkyJJO
Parallel is not a good idea usually. If you have a very non-restrictive block (say the D-tek fuzion CPU block) and a more restrictive GPU block (a fullcover block for instance) you will get much more flow through the non-restrictive one than the other, and the temps will suffer on the restrictive block.

The ONLY time parallel is useful is with radiators. If you have two radiators in your loop you can put them in parallel. Works best if they are identical rads. Besides rads though, parallel through anything else is not recommended, and most still do series with the rads.

So yeah, don't do parallel. Besides the performance issues, it would be extremely messy and cluttered in comparison to series.
I'm surprised it took this long for unequal flow to be mentioned. While water has such a high heat capacity that you probably will still get away with parallel unequal flow you essentially have no control should things not be ok. I guess you could introduce constrictions (external tubing clamps?) to even things out you'll be violating the theory of fewer constrictions is better.

As for more tubing.... you could probably handle that without issue.
__________________
never fly DELTA
E8400@3.6GHz, Swiftech MCR120-ApogeeGT-MCP350-YateD12SL Internal P180B Setup
HEAT under "ChefJoe"
ChefJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 12:55 PM   #16
Sheninat0r
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 452
Default parallel watercooling loop?

alright... so doing a parallel wc loop across my whole computer isnt going to work, but can i do it just across my vid cards? im more worried about my vid cards overheating than my cpu cuz 8800s run pretty hot, and there shouldnt be any problems with unequal flow because the blocks on both of them are the same.. right?
__________________
...with a crowbar.
Sheninat0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 01:11 PM   #17
ChefJoe
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,506
Default parallel watercooling loop?

I bet you could parallel though your video cards but at a flow rate of half the series option it'll take that much longer for the GPU heated water to make it into the cooling zone of the radiator so temps will still be high.

The idea of parallel runs though radiators make more sense because the lower flow rate at the radiator will mean you get more cooling for each pass through the loop.
The idea of parallel runs through hot components means that you'll have extra time for water to be heated up and dwelling at the waterblock.

If you're worried about vid cards and cpu temps separately you could probably go for two separate watercooling loops to get the most control. Depending on what pumps and reservoirs you get, this could be a slight bump in price.
__________________
never fly DELTA
E8400@3.6GHz, Swiftech MCR120-ApogeeGT-MCP350-YateD12SL Internal P180B Setup
HEAT under "ChefJoe"
ChefJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 03:20 PM   #18
Archenemy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
Default parallel watercooling loop?

my advice, keep it simple. If you want better cooling, add another rad fan or bigger rad. Your water cooling temps should be pretty low anyway compared to air, so now worries.
Archenemy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.