Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Social > Off Topic

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-20-2001, 09:30 PM   #1
eyor
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 1,641
Default

I used the eliptical selection tool to make some shapes and fill them and stuff, (I am redesigning my website), but now it is jaggies galore! Is there an easy way to antialias them or something now that they are already made? or to prevent them from being jagged?
Thanks
eyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2001, 09:37 PM   #2
Excaliber2013
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 793
Default

well you can blur the shapes slightly.....or if you have PS 6.0 use vector shapes(but you can do the same thing in earlier versions by using clipping paths(which is what 6.0 is automatically doing anyway).

Or make the image larger than what it is intended for and when your done resize it.
Excaliber2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2001, 09:48 PM   #3
dawks
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 5,032
Default

Not sure if this is what you are looking for.. But have a peak. Phong.com Anti-aliasing
dawks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2001, 09:49 PM   #4
konichiwa
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 15,077
Default

Phong. Hehehe.
konichiwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2001, 09:53 PM   #5
Excaliber2013
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 793
Default

Daz's way works also
Excaliber2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2001, 10:26 PM   #6
eyor
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 1,641
Default

I'll give it a shot, thanks man!
eyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2001, 10:41 PM   #7
fallenoncrack
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,747
Default

post some before and after pics so we know how yah did.

*group hug*
fallenoncrack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2001, 10:45 PM   #8
DefRef
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 4,026
Default

What rez are you working at? If you're working at native 72 dpi, try working at a higher rez (150+dpi) and then using Save For Web. Also check in your Preferences that you have AA set properly.
__________________
This job would be great if it weren't for the f***ing customers. - Randal Graves - "Clerks"
Rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 | Core i7 920 (D0) @ 3.6 GHz | Corsair Hydro H50 cooler | 12GB Patriot Viper DDR3-1600
eVGA GTX 770 SC 2GB | Dell U2410 LCD | 750W PCP&C Silencer | Cooler Master HAF 922
Windows 7 Pro x64 | Logitech Z-580 5.1 | Logitech MX-518
DefRef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2001, 11:05 PM   #9
eyor
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 1,641
Default

hmm... maybe I should start over with antialiasing checked, 150dpi, an d, umm.. what is AA?

That phong thing is damn complicated.
eyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2001, 12:09 AM   #10
thirdkind
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 954
Default

Upping the resolution isn't the solution; you simply need to have the "Anti-aliased" box checked in the Marquee Options window. If you're building these images strictly for web use, then 72 dpi is right where you want to be.
thirdkind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2001, 06:25 AM   #11
Excaliber2013
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 793
Default

You know, for all the complex answers that were given....people tend to overlook the obvious simple ones. Can't believe I forgot the AA option in the marquee options rollout.
Excaliber2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2001, 12:56 PM   #12
sparkle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 903
Default

Try the blur tool, as someone else mentioned, or depending on what kind of stuff you are doing try Illustrator.
sparkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.