Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-27-2009, 02:15 PM   #1
TheInternal
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 428
Default Why does a new router slow down my network?

I have two machines running Windows 7 hooked up to my 1 gb switch. The switch is connected to my new router (which has WEP passworded N draft Wi-Fi wireless).

What I don't understand is why Windows 7 is transferring data from one computer to the other so slowly, around 10 MB/sec at best.

Is my router killing the benefit of my 1 gb switch?

Is this a limitation of windows 7?

I'm guessing I'm overlooking something simple/obvious, so any input is welcome.
__________________
My BOINC stats

If silence is golden, I guess that would explain why my desktop computer is so heavy... and under my desk...
TheInternal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 02:28 PM   #2
drebo
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,315
Default Why does a new router slow down my network?

You're overlooking the fact that with a consumer grade OS and consumer grade equipment, that's probably the best you're going to get.

You can try enabling features like jumbo frames, etc, and using a protocol with less overhead, such as FTP. You might get better results that way.
__________________
"All men are not created equal, and if you believe they are, there's something seriously wrong with you. Some men are destined for greatness. Most aren't. End of story." - Jose Canseco
drebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 04:18 PM   #3
pukemon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 850
Default Why does a new router slow down my network?

Although you didn't explicitly mention it, but I think we're assuming that your router does have a built-in gigabit switch, right?
pukemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 04:41 PM   #4
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,052
Default Why does a new router slow down my network?

Or if the switch is separate from the Router give the computers temp static IPs and try it without a connection to the Router.

Mediocre Giga switch with No special setting in the computers should yield about 25 to 35 MB/sec.

Good consumer switch, with Optimized TCP/IP can go as high as this, http://www.ezlan.net/vista/Giga-Optimized

The NICs in the above example are simple onboard Marvel.

The switch is, http://www.newegg.com/Product/...x?Item=N82E16833156251

Cables are regular Cat5e from Monoprice.
__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 06:24 PM   #5
Madwand1
Diamond Member
 
Madwand1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,291
Default Why does a new router slow down my network?

Quote:
Originally posted by: TheInternal
I have two machines running Windows 7 hooked up to my 1 gb switch. The switch is connected to my new router (which has WEP passworded N draft Wi-Fi wireless).
This has nothing to do with your wired transfer speed, but you should avoid WEP if possible -- it has a severe performance penalty and is not actually secure.

Quote:
Originally posted by: TheInternal
What I don't understand is why Windows 7 is transferring data from one computer to the other so slowly, around 10 MB/sec at best.
Sounds like one of your NICs might not be negotiating gigabit properly. Does your switch have color coding on the connections to indicate the link speed? Did you confirm that both ends are connecting at gigabit speed?

If you are connecting at gigabit speed, the next question is whether the problem is at the network level or the file system / protocol level. For this, you can use iperf version 1.7 as follows:

server: iperf -s
client: iperf -c server -l 64k -t 15 -i 3 -r

where server is the name or IP of the remote computer running iperf -s.

You might need to enable the connections through firewalls to get this to work.

As Jack said, you should be easily hitting 25 MB/s on very large files (small files could be slower). With W7, it could be much faster, but there are no guarantees and multiple possible points of failure/bottleneck. So no, W7 should not be a bottleneck, but as it's new, you could be running into a new issue, e.g. rushed NIC drivers which aren't properly tuned for performance. This sort of problem could show up in the iperf test, and be addressed via a driver update from the NIC chipset manufacturer.
Madwand1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 08:51 PM   #6
tranceport
Diamond Member
 
tranceport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Houston
Posts: 4,150
Default Why does a new router slow down my network?

Quote:
Originally posted by: Madwand1

Quote:
Originally posted by: TheInternal
What I don't understand is why Windows 7 is transferring data from one computer to the other so slowly, around 10 MB/sec at best.
Sounds like one of your NICs might not be negotiating gigabit properly. Does your switch have color coding on the connections to indicate the link speed? Did you confirm that both ends are connecting at gigabit speed?

If you are connecting at gigabit speed, the next question is whether the problem is at the network level or the file system / protocol level. For this, you can use iperf version 1.7 as follows:

server: iperf -s
client: iperf -c server -l 64k -t 15 -i 3 -r

where server is the name or IP of the remote computer running iperf -s.

You might need to enable the connections through firewalls to get this to work.

As Jack said, you should be easily hitting 25 MB/s on very large files (small files could be slower). With W7, it could be much faster, but there are no guarantees and multiple possible points of failure/bottleneck. So no, W7 should not be a bottleneck, but as it's new, you could be running into a new issue, e.g. rushed NIC drivers which aren't properly tuned for performance. This sort of problem could show up in the iperf test, and be addressed via a driver update from the NIC chipset manufacturer.

This would be one of my first troubleshooting steps.

__________________
The Systems Engineer
HeatWare

Bitcoin: 1Nx3D76evkP3QFQcebBDQxAqpZgoGfEs9V
tranceport is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.