Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2009, 01:59 PM   #1
DarkTXKnight
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 928
Default Whole house ota HD antenna

Im looking at a home AV project that would allow me to get rid of our expensive cable. I already have a myriad of htpcs, xboxes etc. around the house, and im tyring to find the best way to feel the OTA HD signal to everything from the HD tuner cards to a few rooms with the digital set top boxes. I have a house that has a cable distribution unit in one bedroom, and I was thinking that if I replacedthe cable feed from that unit with an HD antenna, that would sovle my problem. Would this be the case or would I need to buy multiple antennae for this? Id really like to use all the joacks in each room to pull from one source.
DarkTXKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009, 07:55 PM   #2
sivart
Golden Member
 
sivart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 1,787
Default Whole house ota HD antenna

How many sources?

I have my main HDTV antenna split in two and can run both with no degradation issues. At the wall, one splits again and goes to the TV and the HTPC. So, technically I'm running 3 splits off of one antenna with a modest amplifier before the main splitter. So, HDTV antenna --> Amp --> 3 way splitter (only 2 connected) --> 2 rooms. (within one room a passive (non-powered) splitter).

For my main PC and my bedroom, I have a secondary antenna in the attic that splits with an amp.

I haven't tried more than 3 devices running (tuning) at the same time off a single antenna.

Disconnecting your cable feed right before the split to the rooms and inserting the antenna feed would be a quick way to find out if it would work.
__________________
Heatware | eBay
sivart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009, 09:00 PM   #3
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 53,643
Default Whole house ota HD antenna

You could try an antenna signal booster.
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 09:30 AM   #4
DarkTXKnight
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 928
Default Whole house ota HD antenna

im probably looking at 6 runs to the bedrooms etc. if im looking at the cabling correctly from my distribution box i cold get two antennae (1 per feed) and split into 2 groups of 3 drops each.
what anenna\amp are you using and is everything in the attic? Any concerns with that I should be aware of?
DarkTXKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 10:44 AM   #5
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 53,643
Default Whole house ota HD antenna

Quote:
Originally posted by: DarkTXKnight
im probably looking at 6 runs to the bedrooms etc. if im looking at the cabling correctly from my distribution box i cold get two antennae (1 per feed) and split into 2 groups of 3 drops each.
what anenna\amp are you using and is everything in the attic? Any concerns with that I should be aware of?
I don't have any booster maybe something like this?

http://www.amazon.com/Motorola...ref=dp_cp_ob_e_title_1

my antenna is outside strapped to a pole ducktaped to the railings of my balcony :laugh:
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 10:59 AM   #6
sivart
Golden Member
 
sivart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 1,787
Default Whole house ota HD antenna

my amp is just a simple coax signal amp...forget the brand, hidden away behind a panel in the closet. Nothing fancy, I think it was about $20. It works without the amp, however, I loose some distant (> 40 miles) stations without it.
__________________
Heatware | eBay
sivart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 01:48 PM   #7
DarkTXKnight
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 928
Default Whole house ota HD antenna

what types of OTA antennae are you using?
DarkTXKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 03:54 PM   #8
sivart
Golden Member
 
sivart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 1,787
Default Whole house ota HD antenna

They are outdoor antennas about 6 foot wide (widest point) that I picked up 3 for $30 shipped about a year ago online...don't remember the name/brand, etc....sorry.

Similar to this (although a little smaller)
http://www.markertek.com/CATV-...mage/BIG/TV-38TERK.JPG
__________________
Heatware | eBay
sivart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 04:23 PM   #9
alfa147x
Lifer
 
alfa147x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 29,844
Default Whole house ota HD antenna

This http://www.channelmaster.com/p...php?proID=28&catID=33#
(in attic)
Plus
http://www.channelmaster.com/p....php?proID=73&catID=39

once the wire comes downstairs it splits works great!
__________________
.
alfa147x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 08:41 AM   #10
DarkTXKnight
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 928
Default Whole house ota HD antenna

anyone using this ins an attic with a radiant barrier (techshiled) installed? I hear it might cause interference ...
DarkTXKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 09:08 AM   #11
kalrith
Diamond Member
 
kalrith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 6,586
Default Whole house ota HD antenna

Quote:
Originally posted by: DarkTXKnight
anyone using this ins an attic with a radiant barrier (techshiled) installed? I hear it might cause interference ...
If you're serious about installing it in the attic, install the antenna and run one cable to a TV to check the signal strength. It would suck to run all the cables and assume that it's going to work, and then it not. Even without a barrier causing interference, installing in an attic will cause you to lose about 40% of your reception compared to installing it on the roof. So even in the best situation, attic installations can make it difficult to pull in a strong signal. They're usually only a good option if you're something like 10-15 miles from the towers.

Edit: I installed my OTA antenna off my back deck. It's a second-story deck, so it has a decent height to it. The antenna is hardly noticeable. I haven't checked my signal strengths, but I always receive a solid signal. I'm only 14 miles from the towers, so that helps. I just mention this because putting an antenna on the roof instead of the attic isn't all about getting the antenna higher. It's about eliminating as much interference (i.e. roof) as possible.
__________________
Heatware 24+ eBay 22+
kalrith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 09:51 AM   #12
sdifox
No Lifer
 
sdifox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North of Tonto, ON
Posts: 53,643
Default Whole house ota HD antenna

Quote:
Originally posted by: DarkTXKnight
anyone using this ins an attic with a radiant barrier (techshiled) installed? I hear it might cause interference ...
err, you want to install an antenna under a radiation barrier? Ain't gonna work.
__________________
I'm not a f$*#@ing machine! - Rubycon
Ever screw so much you get a blister? - Rubycon
shameless plug
http://primaryaccounting.ca
sdifox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 11:07 PM   #13
Mloot
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,994
Default Whole house ota HD antenna

Quote:
Originally posted by: DarkTXKnight
anyone using this ins an attic with a radiant barrier (techshiled) installed? I hear it might cause interference ...
I haven't done it, but from everything I've read, radiant barriers and attic-installed antennas do not mix.

How far are you from the antenna farm in Missouri City? I live on the Northeast side of Houston, and I have an outdoor antenna setup feeding four tuners in my house. I live 35 miles away from the transmitters.

With the right setup, you can easily feed 6 tuners with a single antenna. What kind of cable distribution system do you have in the one room that you mentioned? I once had cable tv, and most of the rooms in my house have a cable feed coming through the wall from outside. I still have the 4 port cable splitter that Time Warner installed outside to route the incoming cable signal to the different rooms of the house.

My antenna setup consists of a Winegard 7080p all-channel antenna (medium sized) with a Winegard AP-8700 pre-amplifier. The pre-amp is mast mounted, with the power injector inside my house. Here is a very crude representation of how I have mine situated. Please excuse my lack of artistic ability. Anyway, the current comes from the power injector, back up through the coax cable, through the dc pass-through port of the 2-way splitter to the mast portion of the amp. The 2nd port of the splitter is used to send the amplified signal to the 4-way splitter, which feeds all of the tvs, tuner cards, etc. in my house.

One thing to consider when looking for an antenna for our area is that alot of antennas that are advertised as "HD" antennas are UHF-only antennas (channels 14-69). Large, squarish antennas like the Channel Master 4228, or similar antennas with bowties, are mainly UHF antennas and may not receive all the channels in the Houston area. For example, we have three major stations that broadcast in the VHF range (PBS channel 8, CBS channel 11, and ABC channel 13). In most cases, an all-channel antenna (like the one I have) will give you a better chance of receiving all of our local channels.

I hope that helps a little.
__________________
Heat
Mloot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 09:06 AM   #14
kalrith
Diamond Member
 
kalrith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 6,586
Default Whole house ota HD antenna

Quote:
Originally posted by: Mloot
One thing to consider when looking for an antenna for our area is that alot of antennas that are advertised as "HD" antennas are UHF-only antennas (channels 14-69). Large, squarish antennas like the Channel Master 4228, or similar antennas with bowties, are mainly UHF antennas and may not receive all the channels in the Houston area. For example, we have three major stations that broadcast in the VHF range (PBS channel 8, CBS channel 11, and ABC channel 13). In most cases, an all-channel antenna (like the one I have) will give you a better chance of receiving all of our local channels.
The 4228 actually does a decent job with upper VHF channels (7-13). Mine picks up our local VHF channel 10 with no hickups whatsoever. If I were farther from the tower, then it might be more of an issue.

OP, go to antennaweb.org, put in your address, see how far and what direction the towers are from you, and see if they're UHF or VHF. That should tell you if you'll need things like a rotor to turn the antenna, a pre-amp if you're far away from the towers, etc.

To sum things up, the problem won't be distribution to several sources within your house. It will be to get a good solid signal in the first place. That probably isn't going to happen in your attic. Your choices for an antenna and accessories will be based largely on what you find on antennaweb.org.
__________________
Heatware 24+ eBay 22+
kalrith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.