Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > All Things Apple

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2010, 07:31 AM   #101
ralphbert
Junior Member
 
ralphbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Austria
Posts: 6
Default

thank you guys for your great work!

I have a question to step 2:
there I have to download the PowerManager bundle from your link. then you are writing that i should install only the "AppleACPIBatteryManager.kext". where do i find this file? i can't find it in the bundle itself. any hints for me?

thanks!
ralphbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 11:39 AM   #102
naksnacks
Junior Member
 
naksnacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ralphbert View Post
thank you guys for your great work!

I have a question to step 2:
there I have to download the PowerManager bundle from your link. then you are writing that i should install only the "AppleACPIBatteryManager.kext". where do i find this file? i can't find it in the bundle itself. any hints for me?

thanks!
Made a mistake on the link. This is the correct link for Step 2 - http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/ind...=post&id=36993.

Unzip and use the AppleACPIBatteryManager.kext under build -> Release.
naksnacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 12:42 PM   #103
andershizzle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Default

I'm running through these steps on my 1420P... which is pretty much a 1410 with a touch screen.

Any idea how I'd get the touch screen to work?

Also it has the Intel Wifi Link 1000 B/G/N which is different, is that hackintosh compatible or will I need the Dell 1510?
andershizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 01:53 PM   #104
naksnacks
Junior Member
 
naksnacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andershizzle View Post
I'm running through these steps on my 1420P... which is pretty much a 1410 with a touch screen.

Any idea how I'd get the touch screen to work?

Also it has the Intel Wifi Link 1000 B/G/N which is different, is that hackintosh compatible or will I need the Dell 1510?
I don't have any input on the 1420P touch screen. I would suggest buying the Dell 1510 on eBay (bought mine for $30, shipping took 2 weeks from China to US) or buy it direct from the Dell website ($45, i think). The replacement only took less than 4 minutes. You will have to download the Windows drivers from Dell website, since my Vista Ultimate didn't have the plug 'n play drivers readily available. Windows 7, on the other hand, does.
naksnacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 11:06 PM   #105
naksnacks
Junior Member
 
naksnacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Default

To all, I updated the original post of my mini-guide with everyone's input, thus far. This should have all the correct link and info. Thanks!

http://forums.anandtech.com/showpost...2&postcount=98
naksnacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 10:37 AM   #106
MaccaDiddly
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default Brilliant

Thank you! Now all I need is to find the time to do this...
MaccaDiddly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 08:39 PM   #107
nitro805
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Default

I followed naksnacks' instructions. Right after I installed the 10.6.4 combo update, I lost my trackpad completely. I finished the install with a usb mouse, but was wondering if anybody has had similar issues and knows how to solve this?
nitro805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 10:57 AM   #108
nitro805
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Never mind. After setting up a triple boot and loading snow leopard through grub, the trackpad came back. Great tutorial!
nitro805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 06:07 PM   #109
Acer 752
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Default

9. Delete the following Vanilla GMAX3100 kext:
AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext
AppleIntelGMAX3100FB.kext
AppleIntelGMAX3100GA.plugin
AppleIntelGMAX3100GLDriver.bundle
AppleIntelGMAX3100VADriver.bundle

Hi, sorry but how can i delete this files?
(I can't find it on my hdd... )

Thanks for your help!

B.
Acer 752 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 05:41 AM   #110
Acer 752
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Default I have the good resolution!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Acer 752 View Post
9. Delete the following Vanilla GMAX3100 kext:
AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext
AppleIntelGMAX3100FB.kext
AppleIntelGMAX3100GA.plugin
AppleIntelGMAX3100GLDriver.bundle
AppleIntelGMAX3100VADriver.bundle

Hi, sorry but how can i delete this files?
(I can't find it on my hdd... )

Thanks for your help!

B.
Hi, don't need delete some driver/kexts!
the important step is this:

"8. This is optional. This may have something to do with getting Step 11 to work because I used this prior to Step 11. I don't know if Step 11 will work successfully without doing this step. I changed the Chameleon bootloader with this http://www.kexts.com/view/222-modifi...tel_x4500.html. On this command:"

I make this, then repeat the step 11. and ... become a wonder.

I must only order a new dell 1510 wificard.

But sorry i have something, but not so important: i can't regular the screen light.

Special thanks to edubrandl and naksnacks!!!

Best regards: B.
Acer 752 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 11:16 AM   #111
injineer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Great thread. If anyone here is dual-booting Windows 7 and Snow Leopard can you please tell me how you partitioned your 1410 hard drive?

I initially had both installed, but was only able to boot either windows 7 or OSX using one of the installation USB's.

Currently I cannot seem to even partition the hard drive correctly to allow both Windows 7 and OSX to install. If I get OSX installed first then Windows installer complains. If I get Windows 7 installed first then OSX installer complains.

Should I use the Mac Disk Utility to format using GUID or MBR...or should I use Windows installer or GParted?

I've been scouring the net for days trying countless suggestions without success. Thanks for any guidance.
injineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 09:41 AM   #112
naksnacks
Junior Member
 
naksnacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by injineer View Post
Great thread. If anyone here is dual-booting Windows 7 and Snow Leopard can you please tell me how you partitioned your 1410 hard drive?

I initially had both installed, but was only able to boot either windows 7 or OSX using one of the installation USB's.

Currently I cannot seem to even partition the hard drive correctly to allow both Windows 7 and OSX to install. If I get OSX installed first then Windows installer complains. If I get Windows 7 installed first then OSX installer complains.

Should I use the Mac Disk Utility to format using GUID or MBR...or should I use Windows installer or GParted?

I've been scouring the net for days trying countless suggestions without success. Thanks for any guidance.
It's been 4 months since I've done this and I didn't document my dual boot MacOSX 10.6.4 and Win 7. I installed MacOSX first using GUID partition, then I installed Win7 by reformatting the partition to NTSF during the installation. I used EasyBCD as the bootloader. Sorry not much of a help and my memory is somewhat shady...
naksnacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 05:41 PM   #113
injineer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for responding. I finally managed to get it working by cobbling a different ideas together.

Like many have said before it's reasonably functional when compared to a real Mac.
injineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 01:58 PM   #114
injineer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Default

I do not recollect seeing any mention of the touchpad working. I now have some of the multi-touch features working for the synaptics thanks to meklort's fixes.

The fixes can be found by searching for meklort, synaptics, touchpad, kext etc. Some folks might have the Alps, which might need the voodoops2 fixes.

I still have various issues such as longterm sleep/hibernation causing hangs requiring a reboot, touchpad settings not taking effect after a reboot until opening System Preferences>TrackPad, volume being too low compared to Windows, and the lack of QE/CI.

I am probably missing something else, but this is mostly a good user experience running 10.6.4. Thanks to all of the thread contributors.
injineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 12:21 PM   #115
aphex
Moderator
All Things Apple
 
aphex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 38,546
Default

<removed>
__________________
Heatware (149-0-0) | eBay (363-0-0)

Last edited by aphex; 12-21-2010 at 06:25 PM.
aphex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 06:57 AM   #116
erevos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Hi guys
I installed mac os x 10.6.4 on my acer 1810tz (according to edubrandl and naksnacks guides) and everything seems to be ok, except sleep. The problem is that laptop enters sleep mode but doesn't wake, neither from keyboard or mouse.
Is there any way to fix this problem?
I need your help guys, i dont want to go back to win 7, mac seems perfect on this laptop.
erevos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 05:35 AM   #117
Haoji
Junior Member
 
Haoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Default

I have also successfully installed Mac OS X 10.6.4 on my Acer Aspire 1410 following edubrandl and naksnacks steps. Everything seems to be working perfectly, except for the screen dimming, Quartz Extreme/Core Image and the battery indicator doesn't seem to be calculating the estimate battery time.

Wireless worked out of the box for me.
Great work guys, update us if any improvements are achieved.
I'll let you know if I'm able to fix any of these details.
Haoji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 10:58 AM   #118
Ruzzian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Default Can not get USB to boot

I can not get past step 2. When I install the dmg file and then run my hack installer everything seems to be going fine. Then I put the USB into the laptop and try booting off and it will not recognise the USB as bootable. I verified that AHCI is enabled in the bios and I was able to create a linux usb boot disc and my computer can see that fine. I have hit f12 to select the right USB stick but nothing happens. I'm using a 16Gig patriot USB stick. I'm making boot stick using Mac's Disk Utility and I have used both a real mac and my Acer laptop running OSX in a Virtual Box.
I can not find anywhere on the web anyone else having a problem with the USB stick not booting.

thanks,

Scott
Ruzzian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 05:27 PM   #119
Ruzzian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Found the solution. When you are making the USB on the mac, you have to select Partition, Options, then check MBR. I missed this step until I remade the USB stick about 5 times. ERRR....
Now I'm going to see if there is a way to activate the wired network card.
Ruzzian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 03:05 PM   #120
djdeepblue
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Default

I installed Snow Leopard on my Acer Aspire 1410, it is working, but the keyboard and mouse doesn-t work, i have to use external ones...

Which kext or driver should i install?
djdeepblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 01:58 PM   #121
edinaldojr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Red face 1410 osx

Hi,

Im new here.
I need help to install OSX 6.3 on my acer 1410. I´ve tried once,
but could not use it cause i made some wrong instalation.
One thing i know that doesnt work is brightness control.

Can anyone help me?

Edi
edinaldojr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 04:56 PM   #122
toa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Default

followed the instructions and it works great, thanks guys! does anybody know if i can run imovie without QE/CI, or if there is a fix for QE/CE?

thanks
toa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 11:07 AM   #123
biotek008
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Default

What a great info! After a few trials and errors, I decided to post a practical guide to help you to install SLOSX on AS1410. And the credits go to edubrandl and naksnacks.


Installation of SLOSX To An External USB Hard Drive on AS1410

What you need to have in hand:
1. Purchase retail OSX DVD from Apple.
2. Download Multibeast from “http://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/2010/04/iboot-multibeast-install-mac-os-x-on.html”.
3. Download VoodooHDA.kext from “http://code.google.com/p/voodoohda/d...ooHDA.kext.zip”.
4. Download PowerManager from “http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/ind...=post&id=36993”.
5. Download AtherosL1cEthernet.kext from “http://code.google.com/p/iats/”.
6. Download GMA 4500 package from “http://www.kexts.com/view/258-gmax4500.html”.
7. USB-mouse and USB-keyboard.
Hardware components:
AS1410-8414
BIOS ver. 1.3310
4GB ram
External 160GB USB HD
SU3500 CPU
Atheros AR8131 PCI-E Gigabit NIC
Dell 1510 WLAN (replace original Intel5100 WLAN)
Mobile Intel 4 series express chipset family
WebCam

Installation of OSX 10.6.0
(A) On a MAC or Hackintosh computer:
1. Use a working MAC computer to prepare a USB drive of “SLOSX Installer” from retail SLOSX DVD
a. Plug USB drive into one of USB port. Partition it with GUID and formatted as MAC journaled.
b. Install “SLOSX Installer” to this USB drive by selecting “restore” under Disk Utility. Use retail OSX DVD as the source and USB drive as the target. When restoration is completed, start “Multibeast” and only select “Easybeast” to install boot loader onto this USB drive. At the meantime, also copy “Multibeast” to the USB drive.
(B) On AS1410:
Since there are 3 USB ports present in AS1410, only one will be available for either USB-mouse or USB-keyboard when OSX Installer and external USB-HD are both plugged in at the same time. However, you can swap mouse and keyboard back and forth during the initial installation process.

2. Boot computer from the USB drive which you just prepared as above by pressing “F12” during booting and select USB drive to start. Also have your external HD and USB-mouse connected to USB ports at the boot.
3. Use “Disk Utilities” to partition external HD as GUID and format it as MAC journal format. Select it to install OSX until the end.
4. Reboot computer with USB and external HD drives plugged in. Press any key and select the external hard disk which you just installed OSX to start the system instead from USB drive. Continue to finish installation. At this time, you can swap mouse and keyboard back and forth during this installation process.
5. Run Multibeasts again and select following items to install to “external HD”:
a) Easybeast: to install boot loader
b) System Utilities
c) “Voodoo PS/2 Controller with Trackpad Support” under “Advanced Options-> Kexts-> Miscellaneous->
6. Reboot computer when finish installation. Remove USB drive and restart it from your external HD.
7. Run kext utility such as “Kext Helper b7” to install following extensions:
AppleACPIBatteryManager.kext: to show battery indicator
VoodooHDA.kext: for audio
AtherosL1cEthernet.kext: for internal AR8131 Gigabit Ethernet controller.
8. Go to “/System/Library/Extensions/” and delete the following extensions:
AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext AppleIntelGMAX3100FB.kext
AppleIntelGMAX3100GA.plugin AppleIntelGMAX3100GLDriver.bundle
AppleIntelGMAX3100VADriver.bundle
9. Continue to install “GMAX4500.pkg” which you downloaded earlier prior to restarting your computer. Once GMAX4500.pkg installation is completed, restart your computer.
10. By this time, you should have a full working AS1410 with SLOSX 10.6.0
11. Download 10.6.5 combo update from APPLE and install it to your SLOSX10.6.0 as usual. Reboot.
12. Your system will return to 1024x768 resolutions. Just repeat step (8) and (9) and system will return to its native resolution.
13. Two additional adjustments:
a) You can apply “Multibeast” again and go “Advanced Options-> symbios.plist->” to select proper CPU for your system. And DO NOT FORGET to also select “System Utilities” every time when items from “Advance Options” are selected.
b) Check “Clicking”, but not “Dragging” under “System Preferences-> Trackpad” so that trackpad will function normally.

Note:
By this method to install OSX on an external HD, it will continue to allow you to run Windows 7 on the internal HD without any interference at all. Just plug in your external HD to run OSX whenever you need it. Hope this direction will help.
biotek008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 04:14 PM   #124
ogiewon
Junior Member
 
ogiewon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 7
Default

biotek,

Excellent writeup and thank you for the working links to the kexts and pkgs. Installed on my 1410 without issue. Really appreciate you taking the time to write this up.
ogiewon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 05:33 PM   #125
ralphbert
Junior Member
 
ralphbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Austria
Posts: 6
Default

I have the following problem:
I followed biotek008's guide but I can't boot from the external hard drive to install Snow Leopard. I restored the Retail SL disc to the drive and installed Easybeast onto it. On my acer 1410 the drive shows up in the boot menu but if i select it the PC tries to boot from my windows.

any ideas?
ralphbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.