Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-24-2009, 03:16 PM   #1
Infohawk
Lifer
 
Infohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 17,848
Default Does adding system RAM increase integrated graphics performance?

The specs for my system say that I have an "Intel X3100 with 64MB-251 dynamically allocated shared graphics memory."

I always thought that integrated graphics used system memory. Is that true? If so, could you dramatically increase performance by upgrading from 2 gigs to 4 or more gigs of ram?
Infohawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 03:29 PM   #2
dguy6789
Diamond Member
 
dguy6789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 8,471
Default Does adding system RAM increase integrated graphics performance?

Nope. Integrated Intel graphics processors are extremely slow. They aren't anywhere near fast enough to begin needing to worry about memory size limitations. You're better off breaking down and buying a cheap card like a Radeon HD 4670 or a Geforce 9600GSO if you care about graphics performance at all.
dguy6789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 03:51 PM   #3
Barfo
Lifer
 
Barfo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: in your mom
Posts: 27,177
Default Does adding system RAM increase integrated graphics performance?

I believe that's a laptop so you're out of luck OP.
__________________
3570K | ASUS P8Z77-V |16 GB | Sapphire 7950 w/ boost | HAF 922| Seasonic 550W |Win7 x64

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/10/21/7yjuny7a.jpg
Barfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 10:09 PM   #4
Syntax Error
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 617
Default Does adding system RAM increase integrated graphics performance?

Nope.

Same way that more VRAM doesn't translate as the only factor of a graphics adapter's performance, adding more system RAM to benefit an integrated graphics adapter is akin to using a hard disk as system RAM; there's just too much latency.

Not to mention that IGPs are crippled and crap in every other way other than VRAM, you're pretty much SOL.
Syntax Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 10:21 PM   #5
lopri
Elite Member
 
lopri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 9,964
Default Does adding system RAM increase integrated graphics performance?

For games, you guys might be correct. (no point having 5 FPS over 3 FPS, if there is such gain) But for Aero/HD playback, the shared memory matters.
lopri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 08:10 AM   #6
Sendoh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Default

i recently upgraded the RAM from 2gb to 4 gb on my asus a24f dual core system.. and the integrated HD had a significant jump from 758mb to 1558mb..
so i gues it does make a difference to beef up the ram... i used two 2gb cards in the two alloted ram slots..
Sendoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 08:31 AM   #7
ShintaiDK
Lifer
 
ShintaiDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 11,123
Default

If it lacks memory yes. If not, no. or if you go from single to dualchannel in the upgrade process. it will make a difference too.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Idontcare
Competition is good at driving the pace of innovation, but it is an inefficient mechanism (R&D expenditures summed across a given industry) for generating the innovation.
ShintaiDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 10:20 AM   #8
Intel17
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Earth.
Posts: 3,116
Default

Holy thread bump!
Intel17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 11:46 AM   #9
Harvey
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Harvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Sherman Oaks, Ca.
Posts: 34,369
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sendoh View Post
i recently upgraded the RAM from 2gb to 4 gb on my asus a24f dual core system.. and the integrated HD had a significant jump from 758mb to 1558mb..
so i gues it does make a difference to beef up the ram... i used two 2gb cards in the two alloted ram slots..
The onboard video sub-system uses memory from the available RAM pool, reducing the total amount of memory available to the the OS to run programs and store data.

If your machine is running a 32 bit version of Windows, the OS can access is a little over 3 GB of RAM, max, but the video system can access RAM outside of that limit. You know this is true because you can display a boot screen (BIOS, etc.) before the machine even knows it has a hard drive, let alone an OS. Therefore, bumping your machine to 4 GB of RAM provies the video system with a RAM pool above the 3.x GB used by the OS.

I know this works because that's how I run my Compaq laptop with XP Pro. The BIOS shows 4096 GB of RAM, but from the desktop, Windows reports 3 GB available to the system.

The same would hold true under a 64 bit OS, except that the OS, itself, would not be limited to 3.x GB of RAM. In any case, more is better.
__________________

There are traitors and terrorists among us. They call themselves "Republicans." They are a greater threat to the U.S. than Al Qaeda and all the Al Qaeda wannabes. They have infested our democratic institutions with the sole objective of thwarting the will of the majority of our citizens.

And Whos's Watching Over Who's Watching Over You?
Tell me, who's telling who's telling you what to do what to do?
Harvey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 01:28 PM   #10
hokies83
Senior Member
 
hokies83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dguy6789 View Post
Nope. Integrated Intel graphics processors are extremely slow. They aren't anywhere near fast enough to begin needing to worry about memory size limitations. You're better off breaking down and buying a cheap card like a Radeon HD 4670 or a Geforce 9600GSO if you care about graphics performance at all.
The Integrated Intel graphics processor On Ivy Bridge the 4000k Will play Skyrim on Low settings lol

Fall out New Vegas on low to mid settings...

So SB integrated Intel graphics processor may not be very good but IB is decent..
hokies83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 12:49 AM   #11
psolord
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 425
Default

Adding more ram will not necessarily increase an integrated gpu's performance, but if that added ram means that the system would go from single channel to dual channel, it could affect performance a lot.
psolord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 05:23 AM   #12
-Slacker-
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sendoh View Post
i recently upgraded the RAM from 2gb to 4 gb on my asus a24f dual core system.. and the integrated HD had a significant jump from 758mb to 1558mb..
so i gues it does make a difference to beef up the ram... i used two 2gb cards in the two alloted ram slots..
I doubt your hd2000 igpu can even use 758mb of ram at 1366x768, let alone 1558.

Reason you should get more ram is not because of the GPU, it's because you have too little of it as system memory.
__________________
Phenom II x4 B35 2.9Ghz 1.3625v unlocked from AIIx3 435/ cooler master hyper 212 plus/ Palit geforce 460 768mb green "SE"/ 4 gb ddr3 / chieftec aps a135 550 s 550w, 1280x1024 and 1920x1080 TV
-Slacker- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 08:14 PM   #13
Mars999
Senior Member
 
Mars999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 304
Default

HENCE why IGP gfx suck and you should always try for a dedicated GPU... Now the new Intel IB 4000HD aren't to bad, but drivers are another topic of frustration....
__________________
Intel Core i7 4771 | Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UDH5 | ASUS Radeon R9 280X DCII 3GB | Noctua NH-U14S | 2x Noctua NF-A14 FLX | Noctua NF-F12 | G.SKILL Ares 32GB (4 x 8GB) 1.5v | Plextor M3S 256GB | 4x OCZ Vector 256GB | VelociRaptor 500GB 64MB | ASUS DVD Burner 24X | Pioneer 15X BD-R | COOLER MASTER CM Storm Series Trooper | SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold | Gigabyte Aivia Osmium (Brown Cherry MX) | Mad Catz Rat 7 | 2x LG 27EA63-P LED/IPS | Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
Mars999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.