Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-15-2009, 10:25 PM   #1
Nvidiaguy07
Platinum Member
 
Nvidiaguy07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,660
Default Dell computer wont accept ram upgrade

I am upgrading memory on an older dell computer from 256mb to 1G.

I checked the memory before i ordered new memory and saw it was DDR333 so i ordered DDR400 thinking that it would work.

I have ordered higher rated memory for computers and it worked fine before so why wont this work this time?

any ideas why this wont work?
__________________
Main PC: 3570k, MSI GTX 670, Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, G.SKILL Ares 8GB, Noctua NH-D14, Antec P280, Corsair 750TX, Intel X25-M 80GB SSD, Catleap 27" 120hz
Living Room PC: Q6600 @ 3.15, EVGA 560ti, GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L, G.SKILL 8GB DDR2, Tuniq Tower, Antec P180, CORSAIR 520HX, WD Raptor 74GB
Laptop: Yoga 13" // Phone: Gnex // XBL/Steam: blackhammer07 // HEAT
Nvidiaguy07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 10:42 PM   #2
Billb2
Platinum Member
 
Billb2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 2,558
Default Dell computer wont accept ram upgrade

There were major architecture changes between DDR333 and DDR400 memory. You probably got caught in the singlesided vs doublesided fiasco, or maybe the 4 x 256 vs 8x128 bugaboo.

Your best bet is to return/sell what you have and go to any of the major memory manufacturer's websites and use their "memory configurator" and find the exact memory for that dell model.
__________________
I want my Old Guy avatar back
Billb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 10:56 PM   #3
Nvidiaguy07
Platinum Member
 
Nvidiaguy07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,660
Default Dell computer wont accept ram upgrade

Damn, i had no idea.

Thought there was just SDRAM, DDR, DDR2, DDR3 etc. and the speed didnt really matter as long as you werent running it above the rated speed.

if i find memory on dells website can i still order it through newegg? or would it be too much of a gamble?
__________________
Main PC: 3570k, MSI GTX 670, Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, G.SKILL Ares 8GB, Noctua NH-D14, Antec P280, Corsair 750TX, Intel X25-M 80GB SSD, Catleap 27" 120hz
Living Room PC: Q6600 @ 3.15, EVGA 560ti, GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L, G.SKILL 8GB DDR2, Tuniq Tower, Antec P180, CORSAIR 520HX, WD Raptor 74GB
Laptop: Yoga 13" // Phone: Gnex // XBL/Steam: blackhammer07 // HEAT
Nvidiaguy07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 12:17 AM   #4
Nvidiaguy07
Platinum Member
 
Nvidiaguy07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,660
Default Dell computer wont accept ram upgrade

old memory:
nanya nt256d64s88b1g-gk
256mb ddr-333mhz-cl2.5
pc2700u-25330

new memory:
g-skill f1-3200phu1-1gbnt
ddr1gb pc-3200
cl3-4-4-8 2.6V-2.75V
__________________
Main PC: 3570k, MSI GTX 670, Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, G.SKILL Ares 8GB, Noctua NH-D14, Antec P280, Corsair 750TX, Intel X25-M 80GB SSD, Catleap 27" 120hz
Living Room PC: Q6600 @ 3.15, EVGA 560ti, GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L, G.SKILL 8GB DDR2, Tuniq Tower, Antec P180, CORSAIR 520HX, WD Raptor 74GB
Laptop: Yoga 13" // Phone: Gnex // XBL/Steam: blackhammer07 // HEAT
Nvidiaguy07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 07:21 AM   #5
Billb2
Platinum Member
 
Billb2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Chicagoland Area
Posts: 2,558
Default Dell computer wont accept ram upgrade

Quote:
Originally posted by: Nvidiaguy07

if i find memory on dells website can i still order it through newegg? or would it be too much of a gamble?
PC2700 memory usually runs on 1.5v

No. (Dell does not sell their memory on Newegg?????)

If you could identify all the specs from the Dell website (which you can't), then yes, you could buy the same memory from Newegg or elseware. Dell really doesn't give you enough info to use to shop else ware.

As I said, other memory sites will spec memory for your Dell. With that manufacturer's part no you could then price shop for that particular memory.


__________________
I want my Old Guy avatar back
Billb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 09:23 AM   #6
pcgeek11
Diamond Member
 
pcgeek11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5,744
Default Dell computer wont accept ram upgrade

Quote:
Originally posted by: Nvidiaguy07
Damn, i had no idea.

Thought there was just SDRAM, DDR, DDR2, DDR3 etc. and the speed didnt really matter as long as you werent running it above the rated speed.

if i find memory on dells website can i still order it through newegg? or would it be too much of a gamble?
Go here:

http://www.crucial.com/store/drammemory.aspx

You will get the exact memory guaranteed to work!

pcgeek11
__________________
pcgeek11

How to annoy a liberal: Work Hard and be Happy. In the words of John Smith who saved the Jamestown settlement: Those that don't work; will not eat. We need to learn from history.
pcgeek11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 12:07 PM   #7
Blunc
Senior Member
 
Blunc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 260
Default Dell computer wont accept ram upgrade

you can probly locate the correct part number on the crucial site then see if newegg has the same part for less.
__________________
Things are more like they are right now than they have ever been before.

Zippy The Pinhead



You can take a man out of the Marines but you can't take the Marines out of the man.
Blunc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 02:37 PM   #8
Nvidiaguy07
Platinum Member
 
Nvidiaguy07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,660
Default Dell computer wont accept ram upgrade

so i went to crucial and dells website and they both suggested getting DDR400. It seems that there is no difference in the memory that they are recommending and the kind i bought.

Could it be that i need to change something in the bios for it to recognize the memory? I took the old stick out so its only running in DDR400 speed.

If it helps the computer is a dell dimension 2400 with the service tag 3590J41

this is the memory i bought: http://www.newegg.com/Product/...x?Item=N82E16820231036
__________________
Main PC: 3570k, MSI GTX 670, Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, G.SKILL Ares 8GB, Noctua NH-D14, Antec P280, Corsair 750TX, Intel X25-M 80GB SSD, Catleap 27" 120hz
Living Room PC: Q6600 @ 3.15, EVGA 560ti, GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L, G.SKILL 8GB DDR2, Tuniq Tower, Antec P180, CORSAIR 520HX, WD Raptor 74GB
Laptop: Yoga 13" // Phone: Gnex // XBL/Steam: blackhammer07 // HEAT
Nvidiaguy07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 03:33 PM   #9
Lanyap
Elite Member
 
Lanyap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Alabama
Posts: 4,814
Default Dell computer wont accept ram upgrade

Looks like some 2400s have a problem with this memory. Found this in NE review section. I would return the 1GB and pick up 2 sticks of Crucial 512MB if you only need 1GB.

Quote:
Pros: * cheap
* newegg customer service was great on the return

Cons: * doesn't work in my system (dell dimension 2400 with pentium 4)

Other Thoughts: The website says this is good for 2.5-2.7 volts.
The package says it's 2.5 volts.
The sticker on the module says it's 2.6-2.75 volts.

It doesn't work in my system, which needs 2.5V PC2700 DDR-333. I always understood that PC3200 was downward-compatible to PC2700, but this isn't. I presume it's because of the voltage.

Newegg customer service was great, and said it sounds like it was mislabeled, and cheerfully issued me an RMA. You win some, you lose some. I will buy another DIMM from newegg now.


Manufacturer Response:.
Dear Customer

We apologize for the inconvenience. Oddly, this memory package works for some people and not for others, as a result we do not recommend it for people with the Dell Dimension 2400. This is the only Dell computer that has a compatibility issue with our memory packages. Hopefully the new memory package you purchased will be much better.

Thank you for your cooperation
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskill.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskill.com
G.SKILL Forum: http://www.gskill.com
http://www.newegg.com/Product/...=&Page=1&Keywords=dell

I also found a discrepancy in the Dell documentation.


Memory

Architecture
DDR SDRAM

Memory connectors
two

Memory capacities
128-, 256-, or 512-MB


Minimum memory
128 MB shared DDR SDRAM

NOTE: Between 32 and 64 MB of system memory may be allocated to support graphics, depending on system memory size and other factors.

Maximum memory
2 GB


Memory type
PC2100 (266-MHz) or PC2700 (333-MHz) DDR SDRAM (non-ECC)

http://support.dell.com/suppor...400/en/sm_en/specs.htm





Lanyap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 05:48 PM   #10
sivart
Golden Member
 
sivart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 1,787
Default Dell computer wont accept ram upgrade

Quote:
Originally posted by: Lanyap
Looks like some 2400s have a problem with this memory. Found this in NE review section. I would return the 1GB and pick up 2 sticks of Crucial 512MB if you only need 1GB.

Quote:
Pros: * cheap
* newegg customer service was great on the return

Cons: * doesn't work in my system (dell dimension 2400 with pentium 4)

Other Thoughts: The website says this is good for 2.5-2.7 volts.
The package says it's 2.5 volts.
The sticker on the module says it's 2.6-2.75 volts.

It doesn't work in my system, which needs 2.5V PC2700 DDR-333. I always understood that PC3200 was downward-compatible to PC2700, but this isn't. I presume it's because of the voltage.

Newegg customer service was great, and said it sounds like it was mislabeled, and cheerfully issued me an RMA. You win some, you lose some. I will buy another DIMM from newegg now.


Manufacturer Response:.
Dear Customer

We apologize for the inconvenience. Oddly, this memory package works for some people and not for others, as a result we do not recommend it for people with the Dell Dimension 2400. This is the only Dell computer that has a compatibility issue with our memory packages. Hopefully the new memory package you purchased will be much better.

Thank you for your cooperation
GSKILL SUPPORT

Quality and customer service are our top priorities.

Tech Support Email: ustech@gskill.com
RMA Dept Email: rma@gskill.com
G.SKILL Forum: http://www.gskill.com
http://www.newegg.com/Product/...=&Page=1&Keywords=dell

I also found a discrepancy in the Dell documentation.


Memory

Architecture
DDR SDRAM

Memory connectors
two

Memory capacities
128-, 256-, or 512-MB


Minimum memory
128 MB shared DDR SDRAM

NOTE: Between 32 and 64 MB of system memory may be allocated to support graphics, depending on system memory size and other factors.

Maximum memory
2 GB


Memory type
PC2100 (266-MHz) or PC2700 (333-MHz) DDR SDRAM (non-ECC)

http://support.dell.com/suppor...400/en/sm_en/specs.htm
Seems there lies the problem. The largest stick of RAM your machine can take is 512MB and you bought a 1GB stick. My guess is your PC has four slots that can hold a maximum of 2GB (across all 4) or 512MB x 4. I can't remember if this Dell machine had a 'small version' with a different mobo or not.

How many slots do you have, physically?

If only 2, then there is something wrong with the documentation.
__________________
Heatware | eBay
sivart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 06:20 PM   #11
techs
Lifer
 
techs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 28,430
Default Dell computer wont accept ram upgrade

Welcome to my world.
I regulary update memory in my shop and run into the same problem as you.
While ddr memory elimated a lot of incompatibilites from sdram along with many manufactures making their motherboards more compatible with "standard" or "generic" memory, you can still run into problems.

Here's some rules I follow:

If it came with cas 2.5 memory going to a higher mhz, but a lower cas (as in your case) often fails. Stick with the same cas latency as you already have.

For major manufacturers like Dell the best bet is to stick with ddr333 and not ddr400 if it came with ddr333.

If the computer was sold with cpu's and mobo's running at different speeds, e.g. P4's at 333 and Celerons at 266 often the slower mobo busses will not take the max memory listed on a site like Crucial. Companies like Dell go thru different revisions of the mobo and chips on the mobo within the same model like Dimension 2400's. It's a crapshoot which revision Crucial or Kingston etc are basing their recommendation on.

As was previously posted you can run into the single sided/double sided issue. When in doubt often the sites like Crucial will sell a single sided stick which costs a couple of bucks more, but will work on all or most of the computers in question.

Lastly, the maximum amount of memory and maximum size per stick are often misreported in manufacturers spec sheets. For the same reason listed above because of mobo revisions. You rarely see a major manufacturer list different memory specs for different mobo revisions. In fact Dell has sold some of my customers incompatible upgrades.
__________________
Imagine a really good sig is here.
techs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.