Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2009, 06:57 AM   #1
Thinkzy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Default What do i need to play WoW?

Hey,
Im in the process of buying a new computer and i was wondering what specs will help me run WoW smoothly on medium to high settings, any help much appreciated, im not good on stuff like this
Thinkzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 07:19 AM   #2
imaheadcase
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,394
Default What do i need to play WoW?

Are you serious? Well if you have to ask. Any cheap video card will do. You can buy one from wal-mart, any dell computer, etc. WoW is not a graphically intense game..never was. Even some newer onboard motherboard video will do ok.
imaheadcase is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 07:46 AM   #3
Bateluer
Lifer
 
Bateluer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 27,495
Default What do i need to play WoW?

http://www.dell.com/us/en/home...6&s=dhs&cs=19&ref=dthp

Bump up the CPU a to an Athlon X2 and slap in a Radeon 4350 video card and you're good to go. Bout 380 at Dell with a 2.5Ghz AX2 and a 4350, everything else standard.
Bateluer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 08:27 AM   #4
CalvinHobbes
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,524
Default What do i need to play WoW?

What resolution are you going to be running at? Get at least 4GB of RAM. A faster CPU make a difference in WoW.

Whatever you get, make sure you have room for expansion in the future. Like if you wanted a higher end video card.
CalvinHobbes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 08:39 AM   #5
KMFJD
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,585
Default What do i need to play WoW?

a large supply of Cheeto's and Coke
KMFJD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 10:23 AM   #6
AyashiKaibutsu
Diamond Member
 
AyashiKaibutsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,299
Default What do i need to play WoW?

Something just a little more powerful than an e6400 2 gigs of ram 7900gt (I hear WoW favors nvidia, but I only have experience using nvidia with it so I have no first hand comparison). That's what I have and I'm a little unsatisfied with the performance (13x7 all settings maxxed except shadows). Something like a e8500 or q6600 (or a 720 BE) and a 9800gt would kill wow; maybe get a little more power if you want to be ready for cata (that's a year away though so probably not worth thinking about)
__________________
The large print giveths and the small print taketh away.
AyashiKaibutsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 10:32 AM   #7
soccerballtux
Lifer
 
soccerballtux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,617
Default What do i need to play WoW?

I'd get a Tri or possibly cheap Quad core.
Modify config.wtf to have
SET processAfinityMask "15" for quad
"3" for dual
"7" for Tri

It didn't detect my quad correctly. Had to set to 15. Better performance now.
My 8800GT plays with all things on high (except AA) great.
__________________
FX-8310 || Asus M5A97-R2.0 + 16GB DDR3-1600 || AMD Radeon HD 7849.5 || Soyo 24" PMVA Heatware
soccerballtux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 12:16 PM   #8
Lorne
Senior Member
 
Lorne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: LA OC corner stone
Posts: 769
Default What do i need to play WoW?

Hmm.

Minimum requirments are.
A parrent with a creditcard or you get a job at 7/11 or Mac Donalds.
Any computer running Win2k or newer.
Have no girlfriend but you can have a wife if married over 10years already.
private dark room where you can come up with conspiricytheories.
Give up on life and socializing with real people.
Lorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 12:22 PM   #9
lurk3r
Senior Member
 
lurk3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 981
Default What do i need to play WoW?

8800 GT's are cheap and easy to come by, 4 Gb ram helps alot. I run at max settings with these, an abit ip35 and a q9450.
lurk3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 12:26 PM   #10
RyanPaulShaffer
Diamond Member
 
RyanPaulShaffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,445
Default What do i need to play WoW?

Quote:
Originally posted by: Lorne
Hmm.

Minimum requirments are.
A parrent with a creditcard or you get a job at 7/11 or Mac Donalds.
Any computer running Win2k or newer.
Have no girlfriend but you can have a wife if married over 10years already.
private dark room where you can come up with conspiricytheories.
Give up on life and socializing with real people.
Basic English grammar and spelling skills are apparently not requirements.

:roll:

If you're going to troll, at least do a better job about it!
RyanPaulShaffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 12:48 PM   #11
brblx
Diamond Member
 
brblx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: not-so-deep south
Posts: 5,505
Default What do i need to play WoW?

insert comment from random WoW player about how you need an i7 and gtx295 because performance in some areas is invariably shit and apparently blizzard has implemented the most poorly optimized shadows in the history of gaming.

for the record, i played the game maxxed out on an athlon xp and radeon x800.
brblx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 12:53 PM   #12
RyanPaulShaffer
Diamond Member
 
RyanPaulShaffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,445
Default What do i need to play WoW?

Quote:
Originally posted by: brblx
insert comment from random WoW player about how you need an i7 and gtx295 because performance in some areas is invariably shit and apparently blizzard has implemented the most poorly optimized shadows in the history of gaming.

for the record, i played the game maxxed out on an athlon xp and radeon x800.
Yes, a mid-range computer works fine in about 99% of the areas with settings set to max, but if you're in packed Dalaran or in a raid with the magic flying, the frame rate drops like a rock...



At least, those are the only times I experienced slowdown on my Core 2 Duo with 4GB of RAM and an 8800GT...
RyanPaulShaffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 03:43 PM   #13
CKent
Diamond Member
 
CKent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9,020
Default What do i need to play WoW?

Don't listen to the general consensus from people who don't play it. Unlike most games, WoW demands the fastest CPU you can possibly throw at it, overclocked if possible, and doesn't focus on GPU as much. Not that integrated graphics is an option, but a 4870 should be more than enough.

As for the processor, I have an x2 6000 and I bog pretty bad in dalaran and wg, down to as low as 15 fps average depending just how many players are on-screen. I haven't done much raiding yet in wolk, but in BC a year ago I was averaging 15-20 in 25man raids with an x2 4800 --- there's been an engine update since then though, and I probably wouldn't see that same performance now. I run it at 1680x1050, full settings except 20% shadows, no aa/af. GPU is a 512mb 4850. I'd go with at least a q9 series processor, or better yet an i7 / fast phenom. If it were only dalaran that bogged, I could handle it. But low fps in raids and wg is not cool. If you're the casual type who will never raid, you'll get excellent performance with far less under the hood, and when you do bog it won't be nearly as big a deal.
__________________
Be the first kid on your block, to blow up your block!
With the new Apple iSlam, anything is possible!
CKent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 08:14 PM   #14
lifeobry
Golden Member
 
lifeobry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,326
Default What do i need to play WoW?

I'd get the best computer you can. The game looks pretty great with everything cranked, don't want to turn down any settings.
lifeobry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 08:27 PM   #15
dguy6789
Diamond Member
 
dguy6789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 8,523
Default What do i need to play WoW?

I find it pretty strange. When Wow first came out, a bottom end Athlon 64 single core(1.8Ghz, 512k L2 cache) and a Radeon 9800 Pro and 1GB of ram could run the game at maximum settings flawlessly pretty much all of the time. Now the game needs a Geforce 8800 class card and 4GB of ram? The game doesn't even look 2x as good now as it did at launch, yet system requirements went up by 10 times?
dguy6789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 08:34 PM   #16
zerocool84
Lifer
 
zerocool84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 33,022
Default What do i need to play WoW?

Quote:
Originally posted by: CKent
Don't listen to the general consensus from people who don't play it. Unlike most games, WoW demands the fastest CPU you can possibly throw at it, overclocked if possible, and doesn't focus on GPU as much. Not that integrated graphics is an option, but a 4870 should be more than enough.

As for the processor, I have an x2 6000 and I bog pretty bad in dalaran and wg, down to as low as 15 fps average depending just how many players are on-screen. I haven't done much raiding yet in wolk, but in BC a year ago I was averaging 15-20 in 25man raids with an x2 4800 --- there's been an engine update since then though, and I probably wouldn't see that same performance now. I run it at 1680x1050, full settings except 20% shadows, no aa/af. GPU is a 512mb 4850. I'd go with at least a q9 series processor, or better yet an i7 / fast phenom. If it were only dalaran that bogged, I could handle it. But low fps in raids and wg is not cool. If you're the casual type who will never raid, you'll get excellent performance with far less under the hood, and when you do bog it won't be nearly as big a deal.
No one needs an i7 or the fastest processor to run WoW on the highest everything. The best price/performance processors right now are the Phenom II Tri-core. Of course your X2 6000 is going to chug. It's old.
zerocool84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 08:51 PM   #17
Superrock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 467
Default What do i need to play WoW?

time
Superrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 10:24 PM   #18
brblx
Diamond Member
 
brblx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: not-so-deep south
Posts: 5,505
Default What do i need to play WoW?

Quote:
Originally posted by: dguy6789
I find it pretty strange. When Wow first came out, a bottom end Athlon 64 single core(1.8Ghz, 512k L2 cache) and a Radeon 9800 Pro and 1GB of ram could run the game at maximum settings flawlessly pretty much all of the time. Now the game needs a Geforce 8800 class card and 4GB of ram? The game doesn't even look 2x as good now as it did at launch, yet system requirements went up by 10 times?
i don't get it, either. now that i think of it, i think what i had was a 64, not xp, but still. that, 1gb, and an x850 ran that game maxed at 1680 just fine. the only added feature that i know of it shadows, which i'm sure has some impact. but the slowdown in the high level areas seems to be more related to the limits of the game- it just shouldn't chug on any modern system, ever.
brblx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 11:07 PM   #19
Bateluer
Lifer
 
Bateluer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 27,495
Default What do i need to play WoW?

Quote:
Originally posted by: brblx
Quote:
Originally posted by: dguy6789
I find it pretty strange. When Wow first came out, a bottom end Athlon 64 single core(1.8Ghz, 512k L2 cache) and a Radeon 9800 Pro and 1GB of ram could run the game at maximum settings flawlessly pretty much all of the time. Now the game needs a Geforce 8800 class card and 4GB of ram? The game doesn't even look 2x as good now as it did at launch, yet system requirements went up by 10 times?
i don't get it, either. now that i think of it, i think what i had was a 64, not xp, but still. that, 1gb, and an x850 ran that game maxed at 1680 just fine. the only added feature that i know of it shadows, which i'm sure has some impact. but the slowdown in the high level areas seems to be more related to the limits of the game- it just shouldn't chug on any modern system, ever.
People are overestimating alot. WoW just isn't that intensive. A good IGP system will run it at decent details settings unless your in a raid or heavily populated area.
Bateluer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 11:13 PM   #20
Anubis
No Lifer
 
Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anger is a gift!
Posts: 74,710
Default What do i need to play WoW?

Quote:
Originally posted by: imaheadcase
Are you serious? Well if you have to ask. Any cheap video card will do. You can buy one from wal-mart, any dell computer, etc. WoW is not a graphically intense game..never was. Even some newer onboard motherboard video will do ok.
too bad video card has next to nothing to do with how smoothly wow will run

at 1680x1050 with a E8600 OCed to 4GHz and 4 gigs or ram running a GTX285 i sit at a max of 25 FPS in dal and i don't run all setting fully maxed

An I7 at the same rez running 6 gigs of ram and a 9800GTX gets ~80 FPS in dal with every setting fully maxed

yes wow is coded for shit, no it doesnt need the BEST CPU to run well however they sure help

Anubis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 12:05 AM   #21
Kadarin
Lifer
 
Kadarin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: /dev/random
Posts: 43,819
Default What do i need to play WoW?

Quote:
Originally posted by: KMFJD
a large supply of Cheeto's and Coke
And the willingness to give up anything even remotely close to a life.
__________________
Eject, Buckaroo! Eject!
Kadarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 02:20 AM   #22
Craig234
Lifer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 33,079
Default What do i need to play WoW?

You don't need this.

But it helps.
Craig234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 03:43 AM   #23
CKent
Diamond Member
 
CKent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9,020
Default What do i need to play WoW?

Quote:
Originally posted by: zerocool84
No one needs an i7 or the fastest processor to run WoW on the highest everything. The best price/performance processors right now are the Phenom II Tri-core. Of course your X2 6000 is going to chug. It's old.
It's not *that* old. People OCing i7s are only seeing 40-60 fps in dalaran on ultra. Anything slower and you might have to turn down shadows - who wants to play on below-max settings? It's not like WoW is an amazing looking game anyway, get as much image quality ouf of it as you can. And ofc if you raid or want lag-free wg you're looking at dalaran-like fps.
__________________
Be the first kid on your block, to blow up your block!
With the new Apple iSlam, anything is possible!
CKent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 08:58 AM   #24
BenSkywalker
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,955
Default What do i need to play WoW?

You need a balanced system to run WoW well. Some people will try and push a fast vid card, others a fast CPU. A fast CPU is more important overall, but with a slow vid card your framerate will still choke. Those charts demonstrate a GTX 260 is about 50% faster then a 4770 across the board(although that is largely due to nV being clearly superior in WoW across the board- the GTS250 does fairly well in the comparison). A 9800GT or better nV card paired with the fastest CPU you can throw at it would probably be a good way to go.

Quote:
WoW is not a graphically intense game..never was.
WoW at comparable settings is slower in Dal during peak time then Crysis. That isn't to say it is always like that, but it rather sucks when your framerate falls through the floor and you cause a raid to wipe because 'WoW doesn't need much hardware'

Quote:
the only added feature that i know of it shadows
Poly counts have been increased ~400% since launch, textures loads in some areas have been increased by ~800%, enormous amounts of new shaders have been added everywhere in the game(more obvious in newer regions) and the draw distance has been increased by ~200%, that is on top of the shadows. End impact on visuals is very clearly superior to the original, but like all older engines tweaking in new elements for an engine not built for it has a larger performance hit then one within its target range.

Quote:
at 1680x1050 with a E8600 OCed to 4GHz and 4 gigs or ram running a GTX285 i sit at a max of 25 FPS in dal and i don't run all setting fully maxed
With your vid card you should be able to crank everything up to max without hesitation except shadows(8xAA should actually be quite reasonable).
BenSkywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 10:46 AM   #25
nick1985
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 27,164
Default What do i need to play WoW?

I can tell you what you dont need.

1. A social life

2. A girlfriend
nick1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.