Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-06-2009, 02:13 PM   #1
amheck
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,702
Default AP vs range extender

What's the difference between an AP and a range extender? I have my WRT54GS in the back of the house on the 2nd floor, and wireless is spotty to non-existent in the front of the house on the first floor.

With the range extender, seems you just plug it into a wall. With the AP, this might be a little better since you can connect it via cat5/6 to the router? But both do essentially the same thing? Or am I confused?

Aaron
__________________
New 12/08 - Intel DX48BT2 | Intel E8400 @ 3.44Ghz with Thermaltake Max Orb cooler | 2x1Gb OCZ DDR3 | ATI 4870 | WD 1TB HDD | Thermaltake RX-850 | Coolermaster Stacker Case | Samsung 245BW

Abit IP35-E | Intel E6400@stock with Arctic Freezer Pro7 | 4 x 1gb cheap HP RAM | PNY 8800GTS 320MB | Western Digital 500GB SATA | Seasonic S12-500 | Asus DVD-RW | Antec P182 | Dell 2001FP

HTPC- HP Slimline S3220N with added ATI 4550

amheck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 02:55 PM   #2
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,423
Default AP vs range extender

Access Points get the feed of the signal from a Network Cable and transmit the signal to the Wireless Clients.

Extender/WDS (Repeater get the signal form another Access Point and Transmit it further.

Since the inexpensive Extenders (below few hundreds $$) have only Radio it have to Flip Flop between Receive and Transmit it loses half of the Network Speed/Bandwidth.

Wireless Modes - http://www.ezlan.net/Wireless_Modes.html

Otherwise.

The general approach that I take for Coverage issues is the following.

The best way is to lay few CAT6 cables to central locations in the house, install Access Points, or Cable/DSL Routers configured as an Access Points ( Using a Wireless Cable/DSL Router as a Switch with an Access Point -http://www.ezlan.net/router_AP.html ), and connect them to the Main Router.

You do not want/can not/hate/your client hate to lay Cables.

You start with One affordable Router that can Do WDS (the reason for the WDS support is in case you need to add more Wireless hardware).

If you are lucky and your environment is conducive to get covered with one Wireless Router you are done.

Routers that can do WDS as is are old by (Zyxel, SMC, Belkin, and some others have models that do WDS as is out of the Box ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/W...ss_Distribution_System ).

Linksys WRT54GL, and Asus, 520GU can do WDS when flashed with DD-WRT firmware ( http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Main_Page ).

Using a Laptop loaded with Netstumbler, do a Wireless survey in the house, http://www.netstumbler.com/downloads/

According to the Netstumbler's signal strength reading, identify spots that have strong signal. and spot with weak, or No signal.

Evaluate how you can cover the space and start placing WDS units.

Additional Wireless Routers in WDS Mode (Wireless Network - Configuration Modes. ) has to be placed in spots were the signal is good about Half way to the dead spots.

How many WDS units are needed? It depends on your specific environment (that is a good the reason to buying WDS units one at the time, try it, and decide on the Next step).

Otherwise.

Extending Distance - http://www.ezlan.net/Distance.html
Wireless Router as an AP - http://www.ezlan.net/router_AP.html
Wireless Modes - http://www.ezlan.net/Wireless_Modes.html
Wireless Bridging - http://www.ezlan.net/bridging.html
Hi Gain Antenna - http://www.ezlan.net/antennae.html
__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 12:41 PM   #3
amheck
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,702
Default AP vs range extender

Jack, thanks for the info. Lots of great stuff to keep me busy reading. My current setup is a LinkWRT54GS and I do have a WAP54G, and I think these two work well together (don't need WDS right?) but the WAP54G I bricked when doing a firmware update, and the WRT54GS running DD-WRT is having a lot of problem lately. I've having to reboot it several times a day.

I think most of the routers you recommend above are in the $50-$75 range. Do you have any recommendations for the next tier up, ie. maybe in the $150 give or take range? Is it worth just dealing with my problem with existing hardware until Draft-N is finialized and manufacturer's can start putting out some good N-hardware, and then maybe I don't need a separate Access point.

Either way, I'm curious what you recommend by spending a little more money (I assume this can potentialy buy you more performance?) for a router and possibly an AP to help me with my coverage in the front of the house.
__________________
New 12/08 - Intel DX48BT2 | Intel E8400 @ 3.44Ghz with Thermaltake Max Orb cooler | 2x1Gb OCZ DDR3 | ATI 4870 | WD 1TB HDD | Thermaltake RX-850 | Coolermaster Stacker Case | Samsung 245BW

Abit IP35-E | Intel E6400@stock with Arctic Freezer Pro7 | 4 x 1gb cheap HP RAM | PNY 8800GTS 320MB | Western Digital 500GB SATA | Seasonic S12-500 | Asus DVD-RW | Antec P182 | Dell 2001FP

HTPC- HP Slimline S3220N with added ATI 4550

amheck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.